We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Piccadilly Inn Shaw

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Piccadilly Inn Shaw to your Saves list
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2305 W. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Lake Tahoe
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Old and tired”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This motel is in need of a serious upgrade. Both times I've stayed here in the past few months for work, I found the rooms old and tired. The hvac system is noisy. One stay the television didn't work and the other there was a dead spider in my bed. It realy seemed like no one had occupied the rooms I was in for quite awhile. Forget the onsite restaurant; it's overpriced and quality is low. Many other sleeping options on Shaw that are better kept. I guess you can't expect much for the price point. But I'd definately pick somewhere else to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stays with us. We are currently renovating our rooms at this time. All rooms have new 32 or 37 Flat screen TV’s, offering 32 channels including HBO, granite in the bathrooms and sleeping rooms and updated bedding. Oliver’s Pub is also going thru some new changes, including new Dinner menu, happy hour offerings and extended hours of operation. We have informed our housekeeping staff about the spider in the bed and additional training will be done so that others will not experience what you did. If you are back in Fresno area, I ask that you give us another opportunity to show you what changes have been to the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    66
    48
    11
    15
See reviews for
46
34
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Felton, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel had large rooms, nice pool and grounds area and a very nice expanded continental breakfast. We were very happy with our choice to stay here. The desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant and bar had good food but the service was a little slow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently renovating the rooms, with Flat Screen TV’s, 32 cable channels including HBO. I am glad your meal in Oliver’s was good, and we do apologize that service was slow. We are making many changes to Oliver’s Pub as well, including new dinner menu and happy hour offerings. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We travel to Fresno between two and five times a year and have for the past seven years. Each time we make a visit we stay at the Picadilly in Shaw. Our family is pleased with the clean, friendly accommodations and enjoy the waffles and breakfast to boot! While the Picadilly Inn Shaw may not be the newest hotels you will be hard pressed to find another hotel in Fresno that has the dedication to customer satisfaction and amenities for the price. A definite winner.

Room Tip: The suites in the golf coursed named rooms are perfect for extended stays with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us. We are about to begin some upgrades to our sleeping rooms, we hope that next time you visit Fresno, you stay with us again and check out our all our new changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Piccadilly Inn Shaw a few times now and each visit I have been very happy with the value for money. The rooms are always clean, well maintained, and are quite spacious. I will definately stay here again! The hotel also serves a complimentary continental breakfast in the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your sleeping room meet your expectations. Our Breakfast is served daily in Oliver's Pub and we are always looking for ways to improve, I am glad you were able to enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were in need of a last minute hotel on New Years and were pleasantly surprised with the quick accomadations available for our stay @ Piccadilly Inn Hotel on West Shaw in Fresno, Ca. The accessibility to near by freeways were a plus, the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms were a Bonus!

Room Tip: Definitely 3Star or Above Quality..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I am glad we were able to help you Ring in the New Year. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We have some new upgrades happening soon and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here overnight for a family get together in Fresno. Pros: the location is good , plenty of free parking, there is a complimentary breakfast.the room was clean and good size and the bed was comfortable. We paid $89 for a dbl room with 2 queen beds on a Sat night.
Cons: The rooms are decorated in 80's decor, mauve and burgundy everywhere, shiny brass, old 20 in TVs. Cultured marble sinks in the bathroom and shower are likely from the 70's.
The complimentary breakfast is held in their bar area which is cozy with a fireplace. However, they ran out of biscuits and coffee creamer. The biscuits were substituted with sausage which was good but quickly was gobbled up by the high number of guests eating breakfast. it was odd that all of the plates were china with real silverware but the coffee cups were styrofoam.

Room Tip: Avoid any room facing the parking lot or street; the rooms facing the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for recent visit to the Piccadilly Inn Shaw and your valuable feedback. I am glad to hear your room was comfortable and the breakfast met your needs. The Piccadilly Inn Shaw has changed ownership and with this comes great changes. Some of the many changes include new flat screen TV’s, additional TV channel options, bathroom’s countertops will have new granite and also updating of our bedding. This has begun and should all be complete by Spring 2013. If you find yourself back in Fresno, please give us an opportunity to show you all our changes.

Thank you,
Paula Flores
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is an older hotel that has not been updated since the 1980's. Though it was very clean and the rooms were very spacious. The front staff was nice. Though I checked in late in the evening, and he gave me the room number and some vague directions to the room, and it was pretty dark walking to the room. Breakfast and WIFI were included.

I reserved the room online. After I checked the price I called the hotel to see if they would match it, which the would not. This was a fine hotel for the price I paid. But, if I had paid any more I would have thought I had overpaid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear your room met your needs. We are under new ownership and are currently updating our rooms, which includes new bedding, TV’s, granite and also additional TV channels. I am very sorry to hear that my staff was not able to match your rate. We always do our best to honor price match requests, as long as the availability. If you are ever back in Fresno in the next couple months, please give us an opportunity to show you all our new changes.

Thank you,
Paula Flores
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccadilly Inn Shaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadilly Inn Shaw

Address: 2305 W. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccadilly Inn Shaw 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Piccadilly Inn Shaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Inn Shaw Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Shaw
Piccadilly Shaw Fresno
Piccadilly Inn Shaw Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccadilly Inn Shaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.