We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Piccadilly Inn Shaw

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Piccadilly Inn Shaw to your Saves list
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2305 W. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“ok place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

stayed at the place for one night for business.
It's really more of a golf hotel, not a business place, to be fair. The wifi didn't really work and the room was a bit on the old/dated side, though it was clean and quiet.

Room Tip: the hotel is spread out into various bungalows... some of them are quite a hike from the hotel lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    66
    48
    11
    16
See reviews for
47
34
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This hotel was undoubtedly built before property prices escalated. Located on the north side of Fresno, about 2 miles east of Highway 99, it is situated on about 7 acres. There are multiple one and two-story buildings spread out in a garden setting. Rooms are spacious. There is a dressing area as well as a large bathroom. Lighting is good. Windows open for fresh air. The room had a desk with 2 chairs, sofa-chair, coffee maker, iron, hair dryer and full length mirror.
There was an analog t.v. The climate control unit was extremely noisy, so much so that I had to turn it off to sleep. Absent was a refrigerator and microwave, though there was ample space for these items in the room.

The room was clean and well maintained, though the decor was decidedly 1960's.

Breakfast is included in the room rate, but the selection is very basic. The hotel has a restaurant, but it was closed on Sundays when I stayed there. There is an Italian restaurant across the street and some fast food restaurants about a block away.

There is plenty of free parking.

Staff was friendly and accommodating.

Tip: Some rooms at the front of the hotel face Shaw, which is very busy. Rooms toward the center and rear of the hotel have no traffic noise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

The Piccadilly Inn Shaw was a wonderful hotel, in a great area. There were about a dozen rooms in many stand alone buildings around the property and a two story building housing probably 3-4 dozen rooms. The rooms were fantastic! They charge to use the lobby computer????? Free happy hour in the afternoon-early evening was ok if you like spicy chicken, I don't. They also had fruit and cheese. Drinks were half off. Breakfast was nothing special. The scrambled eggs had no flavor and were solid. Juice, coffee, toast and sweet rolls. I've had better. Next time will go out for breakfast. But for the hotel we will certainly stay there again. We did get a great price on the weekend we stayed there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We chose this place after carefully reviewing on Tripadvisor and other sources places to stay in Fresno. We thought we had chosen the most appealing place to stay but were disappointed. As we were driving back to Canada, it served as an okay stopover for one night.
Check-in was pleasant, friendly and quick.
The place has a pool, vending machines, laundry facilities, on-site restaurant and the “free” continental breakfast included bagels, eggs, muffins, bananas, juice and decent coffee The breakfast was hot, well stocked and area regularly monitored by staff.
Our king room was in the Eastbrook wing which was perfect for the pool, laundry and close to Olivers the on-site pub which we did not try out. We noted the loudly clanging gate of the laundry right next to the pool so it may be a good idea to avoid the Westbrook wing rooms which are opposite or next to this area.
The room was dated, spacious and on the ground floor just along from the pool which we noted needs tile work but was clean. The room had a table and two office type chairs, separate vanity and storage area outside of the bathroom.
Unfortunately, while the room itself was clean, the screen on the window desperately needed a good vacuuming and possible replacement (has it ever been vacuumed?). In addition, I woke in the night to hear dripping which we realized in the morning had been from the noisy air conditioner which we had turned off in order to sleep.
We noted a couple of shady looking folks in and around the inn and the fact that some guy let out a huge loud burp down the hallway from our room convinced us that next time we will skip Fresno and try Madeira, about 15mins drive away which has a Marriott Springhill Suites.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the clanging gate of the laundry area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

It's not that the Piccadilly is a bad hotel, far from it; the rooms are spacious, the pool large and well kept. Upon our initial checkin we were given a room at the back of the property that smelled of smoke; when I contacted the office they moved us immediately meeting us at the new room with keys. So the service was polite and responsive, however, the property itself feels a little long in the tooth when compared to newer properties in the same price range.I might stay again, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011 via mobile

AC issues, Water issues, lots of excuses. Asked to have management call me, never happened. I guess her list of call backs is that long.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I used to have a job that took me all over California, and I got to know Fresno fairly well. I've stayed at the Piccadilly Inn before, but this was in the early 1990's. I read the recent reviews on Trip Advisor and just want to confirm that the Piccadilly is still the comfortable place in which I used to stay. As the reviews stated, it isn't the newest place with all of the amenities, but that didn't matter to me. It was centrally located,very clean, extremely quiet and the room was just as comfortable as I remembered from my earlier stays. It's also a bargain rate for what you get. Most of all, though, the people who work at the Piccadilly were extremely friendly and eager to make your stay a comfortable one. I might have to return to Fresno again in the next month or so, and I'm ready to make the same reservation at the Piccadilly on West Shaw.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room off of the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccadilly Inn Shaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadilly Inn Shaw

Address: 2305 W. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccadilly Inn Shaw 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Piccadilly Inn Shaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Inn Shaw Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Shaw
Piccadilly Shaw Fresno
Piccadilly Inn Shaw Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccadilly Inn Shaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.