We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No elevator, stressed staff -avoid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5090 E. Clinton, Fresno, CA 93727   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No elevator, stressed staff -avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a disappointment. Next time I go on business, I'll read Tripadvisor first-even for a Holiday Inn! I picked this as it was nearest the next morning appointment. Wish I'd arrived earlier so I could have just moved on and stayed anywhere else. No elevator- millions spent on a pool no one was in, and no elevator , consierge, or bell staff? After a 6 hour drive, the idea of lugging a 40 lb suitcase and laptop to the back, second floor, in heels, was daunting to say the least The desk clerk did grudgingly offer when I asked for bell service(after sighing, and without looking up from where he was busy busy busy), that when he got free, he'd carry it up for me. But having waited 30 minutes to check in, and seeing 10 more in line to check in, I wouldn't have seen my luggage before I'd need to check out. So, off on the death march. Then hike back to the lobby for a tired hamburger amid unhappy clientele, served by 1 wait staff running her legs off. No friendly greeting here. Out of 9 hotels on this trip, mostly Holiday Inns and Crowne Plazas, this was the only one I simply hated.

Room Tip: ask where the nearest comfort suites are
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjramirez, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. Our management and staff work very hard to make guests stay great ones and clearly we fell short during y our stay. Due to the limited information provided for your contact information I would invite you to please contact me directly so that I can get some details about the dates of your stay. When we don’t deliver we expect the opportunity to make things right. We will make mistakes but we pride ourselves on growing and learning from those and taking all feedback to improve. Please feel free to contact me directly at 559-455-2501 or sramirez@fresnoairpoirthi.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you,

Sam Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    42
    42
    19
    21
See reviews for
41
25
19
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Yes this is why we rather stay at the IHG Fresno Airport location: Comfy rooms, indoor pool, full service dinning, full bar service but mist of all the great staff that anticipate all your needs. Look for Mr. Richard, Ms. Violet and Ms. June for all your hospitality needs. They all ROCK!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjramirez, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. As we’ve said before, we believe our staff is what makes our hotel special. I am so glad and frankly proud that our staff has had such a great impression on you during your stay. I will personally make sure each employee you mentioned is congratulated on this review. Thank you for being our guest!

Thank you,

Sam Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

It is what it is. There is all you need here for a basic facility. Staff are friendly and efficient, rooms are well equipped, the beds are comfortable and there are tea and coffee making facilities and basic toiletries. Plenty of free onsite parking.

I would caution against arriving late, hungry and tired as the bar area is functional and frankly scruffy. We were prepared to try it as the menu seemed fine but it became apparent that either this is a place frequented by young locals or that the hotel is happy to accept group bookings of young men. We did sit down, and would have been perfectly happy with a loud and lively atmosphere but the language being used was disgraceful and we left without ordering. I appreciate this was not the fault of the hotel, and the revenue lost from us was a pittance compared with the enormous volume of beer they must have sold that evening.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjramirez, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and our staff! I am sorry that your experience in our lounge was not what you would have liked. We are a very diverse hotel with many groups of people that come from youth soccer groups to older veterans groups. We do expect all our guests to treat each other respectfully and apologize if that did not happen here. WE thank you for being our guest and hope that the next time you visit Fresno you will again choose to stay with us.

Thank you,

Sam Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It may not be the most up to date Holiday Inn in the world, but it certainly has the best staff. My wife & I had 2 stays at this location after we had a car accident on holiday & after I was in hospital in Fresno for 2 extended stays. On both occasions, the hotel staff did every possible thing that they could do for us to make our stay a pleasant one. Nothing was too much trouble. The provision of the 5 mile radius free shuttle service helped us enormously & the flexibility of the staff was always wonderful. The hotel has a lovely tree lined atrium inside, which was a pleasure to walk through during my convalescence. The rooms were more than adequate. Room service & cleanliness were great & the food was fine. Overall, a very, very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We chose the rooms at the back of the hotel i.e. away from the pool. If kids are playing or if an ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjramirez, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for completing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We work very hard to make sure each guests experience is a great one and that starts with having the right staff to deliver on that promise. We believe we have some of the best in the business and so glad you agree! Thank you so much for choosing us and being our guest. We hope the next time you visit the Fresno area you will again visit our hotel. Also, you may receive a survey from Holiday Inn regarding your visit, these are very important to us as well and sure hope you can rate us a 9 or 10!

Thank you,

Sam Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great hotel if you want to be close to the airport. You can walk across the street and you're there. Easier than loading your stuff into the shuttle (unless you travel with a LOT of stuff). The place is nice enough - bar, indoor pool, decent rooms. But one shocker - they don't have an elevator to the second floor. The front desk clerk will carry your bags, so have a tip ready. And though one flight is not a big deal, there is only one nice staircase at the back of this long building. So you end up taking the yucky stairs in the corners which do not seem intended for guests. Why hotels get all fancy in front only to leave the staircases as exposed dirty concrete and steel I just don't know.

Room Tip: Avoid the hassle of the stairs since there is no elevator and ask for a room in the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjramirez, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and our incredible staff. You are correct that we do not currently have an elevator however our staff is always happy to assist. We will be sure to check the staircases you mentioned as what you describe is not usual. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope the next time your travels bring you to Fresno you will again be our guest!

Thank you,

Sam Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It's close to the airport, but it's not noisy. The rooms are a good size. There is plenty of safe parking. The staff is helpful. Check in was quick, Arielle and Cori helped with that. Emily and Keneshia cleaned my room and did a great job. I also love the pool because it's big enough to swim laps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It was late at night and we were traveling back to Vegas from Yosemite with our kids. We needed a hotel so booked two rooms through Hotwire. Immediately after checking in I hear my 20 year old daughter say "ummm mom, what is this bug?" It was a cockroach..and not just one but many of them in the bathroom, on the curtains and on the wall. Trying not to be sick we called the front desk. It was 12:30 a.m. The desk clerk moved us buildings to two new rooms and gave us a coupon for breakfast. The new building was fine--dated, but fine, so we slept but not well at all--couldn't get the image of the cockroaches out of our heads.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjramirez, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for what you experienced, this is extremely unusual and not acceptable by any means. Please contact me directly at sramirez@fresnoairporthi.com or 559-455-2501 so that we can further discuss your issue.

Thank you,

Sam Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport

Address: 5090 E. Clinton, Fresno, CA 93727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a new connection to the heart of Central California. The Holiday Inn Fresno Airport Hotel is less than five minutes from check-in and baggage claim at Fresno - Yosemite International Airport. We are the preferred destination of business travelers and vacationers seeking friendly non-stop service. Treat yourself to our uncommon courtesy and superbly appointed accommodations including free high speed Internet access. Splash into one of our two pools (indoor & outdoor), work out in our fitness center, or simply relax among friends in the inviting atmosphere of the Skyline Cafe or King Tut's Lounge. We are minutes away from great area attractions like Fresno State University, Save Mart Center, Fresno Grizzlies Stadium, the Selland Arena and Fresno Convention Center. Venture less than an hour outside our doors and enjoy Las Vegas quality gaming at Chukchansi, Table Mountain or the Palace Casinos and the breathtaking scenery of Yosemite and Sequioa National Parks. San Francisco, Wine Country or the surf and sand at Pismo Beach are all less than 3 hours away. Your 'constant caring friends' await you at the Holiday Inn Fresno Airport Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport Hotel Fresno
Fresno Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fresno-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.