We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Fresno Central

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Fresno Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Days Inn Fresno Central
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 North Parkway Drive, Fresno, CA 93728   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    19
    7
    12
See reviews for
17
9
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood, California, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Bed was supper soft, nice pillows. there's a Denny's in the parking lot area.Two things got to me. First is there is a list of what things cost by the coffee pot. I was so worried I was going to get charged for something that I hardly used anything. I was taking the towels down for my shower and found a black hair had been folded into it. When I told the check out girl she really didn't seem to care about it. the breakfast was a joke. I was afraid how long the eggos and bread had been in the bread box that I went to the Denny's

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inyokern
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I basically had the same experience as Jes T but we called an exterminator who was nice enought to come to our room and write a report for free. We filed a complaint with the city's health department but Fresno swept it under the rug with the bugs! Several people we talked to in Fresno told us that Parkway Drive is known as the "Red Light District". One of the street walkers just happened to be renting a room for an hour when we were checking out so we know this is true.
I tried contacting Wyndham hotels, the ones who own the Days Inn franchise, and they told us not to contact them again that the hotel was franchised and not their responsibility. These owners have no intention of cleaning up their hotel so please take this into consideration before booking a room.
Our room number was 104 and the person in the room next to us also had bed bugs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

BEDBUGS.

are you looking for a quick and inexpensive way to pick up some bed bugs? this place might be your best bet. stay in room 216. by the end of your first night, you'll have red itchy spots on your arms, back, and legs. you won't really think much of them, but after your second night, you'll even have some red spots on your face and neck. fortunately, the wi-fi is free, so you'll be able to google "what do bed bugs look like" inside the comfort of your room. after scanning some great resources on the internet, you'll throw the linens off the mattress to discover a few little dead bugs with a red-color abdomen clinging to the folds in the mattress. after a bit more research, you'll realize that bedbugs are very hard to find, so the fact that you found some indicates there are plenty more that you didn't find. you'll collect a few of these guys in a small clear baggie and bring them up to the front desk. you'll show the concierge the red spots now covering your arms and back, present the little baggie, and ask them what they suggest your options might be. the concierge will go back and get amy, a woman in her mid forties with dark brown hair and a thick chinese accent. she will look at you with distrust and ask why didn't you tell them about the bites earlier. you'll say that you thought they were mosquito bites and didn't really think much of them. amy will then tell you that she sometimes gets spots on her face when she eats fish, you are probably just allergic to something. she will try to show you the computer monitor that confirms that other guests have stayed in that room with no problems. you will tell her that you are pretty sure these red, itchy marks all over your body are from the dead insects in the little baggie. she will look at the baggie and say that her eyes are not very good, so, she cannot be sure if this is a bug or not. then, she will ask accusingly: "what do you want? you check out now?" you'll look at your watch and it will be 9pm. you'll say you will need to wash all of your clothes and dry them at high heat. she will say go to mr. suds coin laundry on olive, just a mile up the road in the tower district. then she'll neatly stack five dollars worth of quarters on the counter for you. isn't she sweet? luckily, you have a smart phone and discover that mr. suds, like every other coin operated laundry facility in fresno, is closed at 9pm on a wednesday. you ask amy if she another idea? she says no. how about hotels in the area? wouldn't they have laundry facilities? ahh! amy just remembers that they are a hotel and they have a laundry facility! so she turns to jason, a shorter man of chinese descent who speaks very little english but smiles a lot, to bring me to the laundry room to wash all of my clothes. then you'll say that you want a refund for the two nights that you stayed in room 216 with the bed bugs, but that you'll pay for the one night you'll stay in 205, because that seems like a fair compromise. amy will say yes, that's a fair compromise.

fastforward 12 hours. now you're standing in the atrium of the days inn, when another female employee hands you your final bill. you realize, not in total shock, that those two nights are not taken off your grand total. you politely ask if amy is around. the woman who is standing behind the desk politely says no, and you believe her, because she does seem genuinely there trying to help you. you say that this bill is wrong, and then explain the whole story, but realize this is going nowhere. so you sign the bill, and leave your number for amy or allan, the owner and manager of this fine establishment to call you back.

but they don't! so the next day you drive back to the establishment. amy is indeed behind the counter, but after a few exchanges, you realize this is a losing battle. she is angry, accusing, and doesn't really look at you when she talks. and then you realized that you never got anything in writing! it's her word against yours. amy probably knows this, and tells you, while you are in mid sentence, that she has work to do, and abruptly closes the door to her office. you stand there in shock.

as you walk back to your rental ford focus parked in the lot, the only peace you feel is that when you drive away from this place, you drive away free from the parasitic insects that feed on human blood. but allan and amy will wake up tomorrow, next week, and even next month, surrounded by it.

in conclusion, choose another hotel. there are many of them.

as of writing this review, i have yet to receive any reimbursement from this days inn, which is privately owned, or the national days inn customer care, which has advised me that days inn is solely the franchiser of the days inn trademarks and service marks and is not involved in the day-to-day operations or management of this facility.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Had no internet access at the time so gambled on this place. We tried further down the road first but the amount of street walkers in front of the motels put us off. Seemed to be none in front of this Days Inn.

Got two rooms (220 & 221) - price average, but both sparkling clean and spacious. Breakfast was average but more than edible. I only wish they had some signs showing the way to the breakfast room, as we got pretty lost trying to find out around the back of the hotel.

We had dinner at Dennys next door and got the 10% discount. On reading previous messages (after we had checked in) about streetwalkers renting rooms etc, I went and asked the receptionist (who was totally helpful) about them without mentioning TripAdvisor - she said they no longer rented rooms to the 'ladies' and the ladies generally stayed down by the cheaper motels down the road, which we had noticed.

The grounds here deserve a mention - immaculate and beautifully kept - bonus points to the gardening crew here.

We had a non-smoking room but you could tell it used to be a smoker's room, still had a mild smoke smell, but easily bearable, especially when compared to some hotels we've stayed at.

Sleep-wise was ok, comfy mattresses but of course some idiot decided to idle his V8 outside at 6am...what is it with these people?

One major hassle for me was the internet access - sporadic at best, and mostly frustrating.I read old reviews which said the same thing! I mentioned this on checkout and the manager said they were aware of it and were working on it. I work in IT and it should not take months to work out such an issue. Be aware internet access here is dodgy, slow and disconnects often.

Overall I'd say give it a shot - especially if you don't mind seeing prostitutes down the road, or walking past now and then. After reading old reviews perhaps management here has done some work on certain aspects of this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stopped here late night rather unexpectedly due to a sick family member. I generally like the Days Inn chain for inexpensive, but clean option. While the staff left something to be desired, the rooms were pretty much as pictured. Very roomy, comfortable beds. Microwave and fridge in the room. I was happily surprised to see a large vanity counter outside the bathroom, a plus when traveling with a family.
We didn't get up early enough to be able to participate into breakfast, so I can't comment on that. We didn't swim in the pool, but it was surprisingly large with a great pool area around it. Even though it was cool outside, the kids were anxious to go in! There's a Denny's across the parking lot.
The couple of downsides...(1) there was more noise than I'd like....there was an altercation at Denny's, which shares the parking lot at 3am and then it sounded like there was a skateboard going back and forth in front of the rooms (which I think was the housekeeping cart), (2) housekeeping knocked on our door at 7am and again at 9...I'll take the blame for part of that because I didn't see the privacy tag, but 7am and then again 2 hours later?! They obviously didn't check the front desk during that time. And (3) as I said the desk staff was fairly rude.
Price was really great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Fresno Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Fresno Central

Also Known As:
Days Inn - Fresno Hotel
Days Inn - Fresno Hotel Fresno
Days Inn Fresno
Fresno Days Inn
Address: 1101 North Parkway Drive, Fresno, CA 93728
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Fresno Central 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Days Inn Fresno Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Fresno Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.