We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet business hotel without any frills or fuss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fresno

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fresno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Fresno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 East Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93710   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #20 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quiet business hotel without any frills or fuss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The checkin and checkout process is hassle free. The rooms are decent.
Breakfast (simple menu, for purchase) is efficient. Staff are quite good.
Decent restaurants nearby. Lot of strip malls nearby, in case you have a spouse who wants to shop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
12
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Really great location for visiting Yosemite, Sequoia and Kings Canyon. Excellent new hotel with pool in nice courtyard. Walking distance to nice family style restaurant that reminded me of times when I was a kid or, the other way, a new shopping mall. Hotel's own restaurant is pricey, especially for drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the Courtyard by Marriott Fresno. We enjoy hosting the many travelers that come through our doors on their way to visit the many National Parks in our area.

We're happy you were able to get good nights rest and enjoy the area surrounding the hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fresno!

Julee May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Fort Worth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at this location on a recent trip to Yosemite the night before heading to the park. Check-in was a breeze. The Front Desk staff was very helpful, proficient, and polite. The room was quiet and comfortable and there were plenty of restaurants in the area to choose from. (I walked to one not too far way and got a very good meal)

I checked out prior to 6am, and they had not started serving breakfast at that time. However, the staff did round up a very much needed cup of coffee for me that was greatly appreciated.

The room was a little pricey. I suppose because of the proximity to Yosemite. But all, it all I enjoyed my stay and I would definitely return to this Courtyard by Marriott for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the Courtyard by Marriott Fresno. I’ll be sure to share your positive comments with our Front Desk staff and I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Yosemite is a beautiful park to visit and we hope to see you on your next trip. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to having you as our guest the next time you’re in Fresno!

Julee May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nothing to complain about except the eating options
You land in a Starbuck-like restaurant which serves good food but overall we much prefer a real in house restaurant.
So much that in the morning we skipped breakfast to enjoy it in a proper restaurant.
Apart from this nothing to complain about - the grade reflects this despite an enjoyable lobby, room and pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Courtyard Fresno. We value all feedback from our guests whether it is complimentary or recommendations for improvement.

I am sorry you did not enjoy the Bistro atmosphere or offering. I am happy you were able to enjoy the lobby and pool area. If you are in our area again I do hope we have the pleasure to serve you once more.

Julee May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Mark this hotel down one star since it does not have complementary breakfast. Most others around this price range usually do have. Instead there is a little Bistro in the lobby area for meals purchase.

As for finding hotel, it is on the west side of freeway 41, a little side street just off of Shaw ave, there is a Heros comic store just at the outside of this side road, can be easily missed the first time. The location of the side street is sandwiched between busy freeway 41 and Blackstone ave and actually is quite secluded since no through traffic there and therefore the stay is very quiet.

Nearby major intersection of Blackstone ave and Shaw ave provided easy access to all sorts of store, restaurants, malls, gas etc so quite ideal location.

Front desk is professional and courteous. On this visit, however, housekeeping did what is normally required but totally ignored all the bathroom leftover emptied shampoo/conditioner bottles that were left on the bathtub edge.

Wifi is very good. There is no safe or microwave in the room. A little refrigerator is provided. Bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are always happy to receive responses that provides us with information to better serve our guests. I have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping Manager so he can address the issue you described.

Please accept my apologies for not exceeding your expectations. We know you have many options when travelling and do hope to see you on your next trip to Fresno.



Julee May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

1. I'm traveling for work so I call to say my flight will be coming in late so please hold my reserved room. I get in after 10 California but 12 midnight for me. I'm so tired. They gave my reserved room away and I get what's left......handicapped. the young lady says she's full
Well if I came in off the street asking for a room and u said that you only had handicapped left , then no big deal......BUT I RESERVED THIS ROOM TWO WEEKS AGO.
I am very disappointed in Marriott.

2. It has this old air conditioner that's so loud it was hard to sleep.

3. The elevator was so hot.
4. The section of my room by the bathroom smelled bad

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Fresno for your recent stay. We realize that you have many options in Fresno and truly appreciate your business. Further, we value the time you took to share your comments with us. We’re sorry to hear of your disappointment with your room selection, upkeep and air conditioning.

Please accept our most sincere apology for the less than normal Marriott service and quality that our Guests have come to expect. Please know that your experience was the exception and not what we strive to deliver.

Again thanks for taking the time to “tell it like it was” for it is through comments such as yours that we are able to continuously work to exceed our guests’ expectations. We hope you’ll again give us the privilege to accommodate you on your next visit to Fresno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed there on our way back from Yosemite. This is a very modern Courtyard Hotel. There is a Bistro which serves a decent choice of meals/breakfast. We had a spacious and comfortable room (including a nice bathroom). Everything was clean and the staff very helpful. There is a very nice and large swimming pool in the courtyard (nice for kids too).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Courtyard Fresno. I will be sure to share your comments about our welcoming staff and clean facilities with our team. Our management strives to ensure the comfort of our guests and places great value on your feedback. I'm happy you enjoyed the outdoor area, especially the pool.

Thanks agian, we appreciate your business and hope you’ll give us the privilege to accommodate you on your next visit to Fresno!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fresno

Address: 140 East Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fresno 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fresno Hotel Fresno
Courtyard Fresno
Fresno Marriott
Fresno Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.