We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fresno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fresno to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fresno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 East Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93710   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last night May 16th and woke up the next morning with bed bug bites all over my neck and arms. Disgusting. I proceeded to tell the clerk while checking out and not even an apology. The only response is we will check it out. Which I'm 100% positive the kid will ignore my compliant. The room number was 346 and I can promise you I will never stay here again and will spread the word all over social networking and to my friends and family and coworkers in Fresno letting them know not to stay at this disgusting hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate and are thankful for the concern and awareness of our travelers which would enable us to eliminate a problem immediately should it arise. First and foremost it should be noted that this isolated incident has been taken very seriously by the staff and management of the Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, and our guest’s concern and experience is very important to us. Our hotel hygiene and cleanliness is our top priority. As a result we follow Marriott’s very strict standards of cleanliness that either meet or exceed public health department regulations, including pest control.

In this instance the room was immediately taken off-line and inspected by an outside pest control expert who documented they did not find any pest issues with the room. It was not until management was 100% certain that the room was suitable for occupancy that it was returned to inventory. As an experienced and conscientious hospitality professional this incident is both frustrating and alarming, as we host thousands of guests each year, consistently providing exemplary service and comfort.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort you experienced and we will continue to immediately act on even the slightest concern of any of our guests in this serious matter. We take every step including staff training and implementing professional preventative programs to insure our guests’ comfort.

Thank you again for the feedback.

Sincerely,

Julee May
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
16
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The staff is very friendly. All the amenities of a Courtyard are present. Free WI FI, lobby computers, Starbucks coffee and complimentary paper in the morning. This location has been recently upgraded with new paint and carpet and great beds. I get to Fresno several times a year and have found this to be the best value in town.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the pool was a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience while staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Fresno. We have respect for every guest’s experience and are happy to hear you enjoyed all the amenities at the hotel. The hotel was recently renovated and we at the property agree the new look is "great".

Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you on your next trip to the Fresno area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

There aren't a lot of places to stay in Fresno. Came here on business. Even though the address is on Shaw, it is a bit hard to find and actually is tucked way behind Shaw street. But once you find the place the place is not too bad.

Check in was super easy. The room is clean...looks like it was redone since it has a fresh look to the place. Free wi-fi internet. the hotel is close to a nice shopping area with nice stores and restaurants.

Staff was super nice. I had forgotten to pack my phone charger and realized it was missing when I got home. I called them immediately and they said they have it and I received it next day via Fedex.

I would have wished the housekeeping staff honored my wish to not be disturb. I placed the "do not disturb" sign right outside the door and the housekeeping staff still knocked and asked if anyone was in the room.

But other than that, the place is great and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience while staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Fresno. We did just complete a rooms renovation and I agree the rooms do have a "fresh look."

Your compliments are most appreciated and we hope to see you on your next trip to Fresno.

All the best,

Julee May
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Registering at the front desk is easy, and the staff is friendly and competent. There is good Wi-Fi
all around the hotel and in the rooms. Having a small snack bar in the lobby is a plus, and the room itself was very clean, functional, without any surprises.

I stayed for one night, and didn't use, or probably even see, all that the hotel has to offer. the price was good, and this is a very good choice for business or family stays. My room had a large flatscreen TV, coffee maker, etc. Everything was copacetic.

The location can make the hotel hard to find if you are unfamiliar with the area, but it is very close to a large shopping area with various restaurants, Starbucks, etc., etc.

In short--if you are in Fresno--go for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us Courtyard by Marriott Fresno. Your review is much appreciated and I hope you were able to "Eat, Drink and Connect" in our Bistro. Many thanks for your kind comments regarding the Front Desk.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on your next trip to Fresno.

Julee May
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice Hotel right on Shaw Ave. It is not located on Shaw itself but rather far away from the street and there are no signs on the road telling you where they are located. I drove right by it the first time.

Nice Marriott, has free parking and free internet (there's also another internet service available for $4.95 -- not certain of the difference between the two)

Basic CY, nothing extraordinary. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I do agree the hotel is located in an odd area and is difficult to locate if you do not know the area. Our goal is to secure signage on the main entrance road.

I do hope you enjoyed your stay with and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fresno.

Julee May
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed overnight 1 night. While we were visiting the area for business. Close to many restaurants. Back off the main road so it is quite. Typical of all the courtyard marriotts now they've all been remodeled. Very helpful, friendly service. We just walked in without a reservation. Given good restaurant recommendations. Would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of our services and location. We are fortunate to be close to many restaurants. Your compliments to our staff are most gratifying.
Please consider us again when traveling to Fresno for business or pleasure, we are at your service.

All the best,

Julee May
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Completely average. Perhaps when renovations are completed it will be more up to par. Convenient to highway and all parts of town. But the rooms just lacked a "clean" feeling. They looked clean on a superficial basis, but they didn't feel clean. We were not in the room much and busy with family or we would have gone some where else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
First, thank you for your business and your loyalty. I can understand your concern with the condition on the hotel. We too are very happy to be renovated. We hope you are able to visit us again and enjoy our newly renovated rooms. Thank you again for the feedback.

Julee May
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fresno

Address: 140 East Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93710
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fresno 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fresno Hotel Fresno
Courtyard Fresno
Fresno Marriott
Fresno Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.