We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Fresno” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fresno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fresno to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fresno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 East Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93710   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Pasco, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Fresno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice Hotel right on Shaw Ave. It is not located on Shaw itself but rather far away from the street and there are no signs on the road telling you where they are located. I drove right by it the first time.

Nice Marriott, has free parking and free internet (there's also another internet service available for $4.95 -- not certain of the difference between the two)

Basic CY, nothing extraordinary. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I do agree the hotel is located in an odd area and is difficult to locate if you do not know the area. Our goal is to secure signage on the main entrance road.

I do hope you enjoyed your stay with and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fresno.

Julee May
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
18
12
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I just stayed overnight 1 night. While we were visiting the area for business. Close to many restaurants. Back off the main road so it is quite. Typical of all the courtyard marriotts now they've all been remodeled. Very helpful, friendly service. We just walked in without a reservation. Given good restaurant recommendations. Would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of our services and location. We are fortunate to be close to many restaurants. Your compliments to our staff are most gratifying.
Please consider us again when traveling to Fresno for business or pleasure, we are at your service.

All the best,

Julee May
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Completely average. Perhaps when renovations are completed it will be more up to par. Convenient to highway and all parts of town. But the rooms just lacked a "clean" feeling. They looked clean on a superficial basis, but they didn't feel clean. We were not in the room much and busy with family or we would have gone some where else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
First, thank you for your business and your loyalty. I can understand your concern with the condition on the hotel. We too are very happy to be renovated. We hope you are able to visit us again and enjoy our newly renovated rooms. Thank you again for the feedback.

Julee May
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and the location is convenient. It's a good value. The wireless internet was easy to access. There's also a Starbucks right next door! We'd stay here again in the future, and bring our children with us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking time to share your experience while staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Fresno. Your compliments are most appreciated and we hope to see you on your next trip to Fresno.

Julee May
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel had everything I needed,Very comfortable Beds, good internet, nice pool, exercise room. Most of all it was clean.
Con was it is hard to find if you are on Shaw it is best to just call them for directions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Many thanks for taking time to share your experience while staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Fresno. Your compliments are most appreciated and we hope to see you on your next visit to our area.

Julee May
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was so excited for an anniversary getaway with my husband that I got cross-eyed while booking our hotels. I didn't know this until we walked into the Marriott and heard "I don't show you as checking in till tomorrow." Oops, I booked the wrong night.
The staff got us checked in and advised me on exactly what to say to the online booking site I'd used to get a refund I thought I'd lost the opportunity to make in time. They even spoke with the site to confirm everything was fine.
Unfortunately we got a room on the second floor facing the freeway. So we had the freeway noise and footsteps above. The floors are designed to move, so when my husband walked around the room, I felt the floor move and wondered if the folks on the first floor heard the same clomping around we were hearing on the floor above us.
The mattress was foam and not too hot, so we appreciated not getting bounced around on a soft, spring mattress.
Fast internet connection.
Skipped breakfast to eat our a favorite spot nearby. Took a peak in the breakfast room - it does look small and not so much variety.
We are grateful for being able to get a room a night early and for the front staffs' help in getting a refund for the incorrect night I'd booked.

Room Tip: If you desire a quiet room, ask for top floor not facing highway (face west, not east)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were disappointed that breakfast wasn't included. We had a choice of hotels that did offer breakfast, and mistakenly didn't check the fine print of the Courtyard before booking. In this day and time, when I pay more than $100 for a room, I want breakfast included. The room we were initially given reeked of smoke, but they did move us without issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fresno

Address: 140 East Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93710
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fresno 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, EasyToBook, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fresno Hotel Fresno
Courtyard Fresno
Fresno Marriott
Fresno Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fresno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.