We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Attentive and Helpful Staff PLUS Clean Rooms,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccadilly Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Piccadilly Inn Express to your Saves list
Piccadilly Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5113 East McKinley Avenue, Fresno, CA 93727   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly, Attentive and Helpful Staff PLUS Clean Rooms,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

When we foolishly took a room at another hotel that turned out to be a dumpster, we were pleasantly surprised to find space at this hotel at the last minute.

The rooms were super clean, the staff was very attentive and friendly, guiding us to restaurants and taking care of us when the electricity went out in part of our room. We left too early to have breakfast, so I cannot review it.

Thanks again for a nice place to stay at a reasonable rate!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    19
    8
    1
See reviews for
17
16
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

A nice hotel overall, continental breakfast was a plus. I liked the location and it's proximity to restaurants and other amenities. My only complaint is that the wifi just refused to work, but otherwise I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Since I had a chance to stay anywhere, I though for fun I would try the priceline name a price and take what I got. Well thats been done and I can move on. The hotel is literally next to the airport and was definitely dated (circa 1972 I'd say). The room was spacious and on the second floor (no elevators either). 3 days into my stay I was woken at 5 in the morning by a knock on my door. Not knowing who would be on the outside, I phoned downstairs to tell them about my caller. I was told that it was someone delivering requested toilet paper. Since I had not ordered anything I told them and they apologized for the disturbance. The next evening I went to the front desk and told them that this seemed odd. The desk clerk told me that it was not their doing but would have been the housekeeping staff. When I checked out I found that I had lost my computer charger. I called the hotel to see if I had left it in the room. Once again I was told that the housekeeping would be alerted. I have yet to hear back from the hotel. Needless to say I am not holding my breath. My advice to travelers is pick your own hotel and use trip advisor beforehand to make sure you are not staying at the Bates Motel.

Room Tip: Choose something elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Nice large room, friendly guy at check in desk, blazing free WiFi speed, fridge, microwave, coffee machine.
Lots and lots of premium television channels, although our room had an old 27" CRT.
Very good at 59$+tax for a double room with 2x comfortable Queen size beds.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hi Folks,
I travel regularly to Fresno, The Piccadilly Express is my go-to motel. It is older but the new owners have taken great strides in updating the rooms and facilities. Make no mistake, this is NOT a resort location with lots to do. It's what I call a safe, travel motel.
Rooms are clean, parking lot is well lit and the key cards to the rooms have been upgraded. You need to use your key to access the hallways-nice!
They have flat screen TV's and free, FAST Wifi at the in-room desks.
Morning breakfast has the waffle machine with coffee, juice, instant oatmeal and a revolving cereal tower. Toaster for muffins bagels, scones and the like.
I like to stay in 136 or 205. Those beds has been upgraded from the normal planks you get in most value rooms. Some of the rooms have upgraded toilets and I LOVE the double shower heads in the walk in shower. There is no tub. Towels have been upgraded to big fluffy ones.
Friendly, helpful staff (they know me after all these years).
Even though this is very close to the airport, their is very little jet noise.
Make sure you ask for the AAA or AARP rate. Hope this helps!

Room Tip: 136, 202 or 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Went to the Fresno area for a few days on business and decided to try this hotel because of reviews, the price and location. I was very happy. Nice room, comfortable bed, fridge and micro, coffee, etc. I had a downstairs room right off the lobby and except for a couple of guests, it was quiet. I also ate in the restaurant and the meal was very good but the service was very slow. Very slow and the place was almost empty. For the price, the room I had could not be beat. The desk staff was very friendly. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Exterior of hotel looks nice at first glance...pretty lawns, newer paint, etc. Then you notice all the cigarette butts. Interior / room was disgusting. 1) black mold in shower (swiped a tissue across it and it showed streaks of mold); 2) carpet was filthy; 3) cigarette burn in bedsheet. Room looks like it was built in the 70s and never updated. Old bathroom fixtures, PRINCESS(!) phone in bathroom next to toilet (eek!). Tiny flat screen TV that, even from just sitting on the bed, it was too small. I am not sure why anyone would rate this hotel as anything but poor. One of the worst I've ever stayed at, and I would *never* stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccadilly Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadilly Inn Express

Address: 5113 East McKinley Avenue, Fresno, CA 93727
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
#15 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Piccadilly Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly the best value for money accommodation you can find near Fresno Airport. Our customer service is the best in class. We take pride in offering our customer clean rooms and a quiet comfortable stay and a healthy breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Piccadilly Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel By Piccadilly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccadilly Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.