We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccadilly Inn Express

Save Saved
You added Piccadilly Inn Express to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Piccadilly Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5113 East McKinley Avenue, Fresno, CA 93727   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good for the price. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Nice large room, friendly guy at check in desk, blazing free WiFi speed, fridge, microwave, coffee machine.
Lots and lots of premium television channels, although our room had an old 27" CRT.
Very good at 59$+tax for a double room with 2x comfortable Queen size beds.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
16
12
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hi Folks,
I travel regularly to Fresno, The Piccadilly Express is my go-to motel. It is older but the new owners have taken great strides in updating the rooms and facilities. Make no mistake, this is NOT a resort location with lots to do. It's what I call a safe, travel motel.
Rooms are clean, parking lot is well lit and the key cards to the rooms have been upgraded. You need to use your key to access the hallways-nice!
They have flat screen TV's and free, FAST Wifi at the in-room desks.
Morning breakfast has the waffle machine with coffee, juice, instant oatmeal and a revolving cereal tower. Toaster for muffins bagels, scones and the like.
I like to stay in 136 or 205. Those beds has been upgraded from the normal planks you get in most value rooms. Some of the rooms have upgraded toilets and I LOVE the double shower heads in the walk in shower. There is no tub. Towels have been upgraded to big fluffy ones.
Friendly, helpful staff (they know me after all these years).
Even though this is very close to the airport, their is very little jet noise.
Make sure you ask for the AAA or AARP rate. Hope this helps!

Room Tip: 136, 202 or 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Went to the Fresno area for a few days on business and decided to try this hotel because of reviews, the price and location. I was very happy. Nice room, comfortable bed, fridge and micro, coffee, etc. I had a downstairs room right off the lobby and except for a couple of guests, it was quiet. I also ate in the restaurant and the meal was very good but the service was very slow. Very slow and the place was almost empty. For the price, the room I had could not be beat. The desk staff was very friendly. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Exterior of hotel looks nice at first glance...pretty lawns, newer paint, etc. Then you notice all the cigarette butts. Interior / room was disgusting. 1) black mold in shower (swiped a tissue across it and it showed streaks of mold); 2) carpet was filthy; 3) cigarette burn in bedsheet. Room looks like it was built in the 70s and never updated. Old bathroom fixtures, PRINCESS(!) phone in bathroom next to toilet (eek!). Tiny flat screen TV that, even from just sitting on the bed, it was too small. I am not sure why anyone would rate this hotel as anything but poor. One of the worst I've ever stayed at, and I would *never* stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Piccadilly Inn Express has potential. Its location near the airport is convenient to travelers and central to all Fresno. Its design provides an extra level of safety, with card key entrance to the enclosed halls in addition to the rooms. The free breakfast is nice, with all manor of breakfast rolls, English muffins, bagels, yogurt, DIY waffles, juice, and tea. And its staff are amazingly friendly and accommodating. But there are too many issues that prevent it from an A-Okay "3". First, the rooms need major updating. This is NOT for aesthetic purposes. It it for cleanliness. Upon our arrival, we entered a room that smelled like the human sweat of previous inhabitants. We isolated our issue to the comforter and blanket. After notifying the front desk the next morning, the comforter and blanket were switched out and the room smelled clean. Special shout-out to our awesome housekeeper Carmen for doing a stellar job. It is not her fault that she has old linens to work with. Second, some of the outlet plates are loose and need to be tightened. It causes devices to not charge properly and the lights to flicker. Since outlets are limited in the rooms, it is imperative that those available are usable. Finally, the soap provided in the shower is the antiseptic hospital kind. If the place smells institutional, it's because anyone that uses this soap will end up smelling that way! We resolved this by requesting a bar of soap from our friends that live in town. All of these are little things that will ultimately make a huge difference for hotel guests, once corrected. For my part, I'll likely opt for the Piccadilly Inn Shaw next time we visit our friends. It is the hotel I meant to book when I booked this on Expedia. It's more expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Very convenient to the airport.. Clean and we'll kept.. Recommend for travelers flying in or out.. Reasonably priced and adequately appointed.. The facility was in good shape , the staff was pleasant and the free continental breakfast and coffee provided a great touch to finish off a long trip..

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This has been my goto motel whenever I travel to Fresno. Clean, comfortable and safe rooms, big shower heads and free waffle breakfast! Friendly staff has always been helpful.
This is an older property but the continue to do it right with modern updates to the lobby, Free fast WiFi, flat screen tv's and a new key system.
Ask for that AAA discount, you will be glad you did!

Room Tip: No fitness or sit down restaurant but lots of choices close by. All rooms are quiet even being clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Piccadilly Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadilly Inn Express

Address: 5113 East McKinley Avenue, Fresno, CA 93727
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Piccadilly Inn Express 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly the best value for money accommodation you can find near Fresno Airport. Our customer service is the best in class. We take pride in offering our customer clean rooms and a quiet comfortable stay and a healthy breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Piccadilly Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel By Piccadilly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccadilly Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.