We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Piccadilly Inn Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Piccadilly Inn Express to your Saves list
Piccadilly Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5113 East McKinley Avenue, Fresno, CA 93727   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yuck.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Exterior of hotel looks nice at first glance...pretty lawns, newer paint, etc. Then you notice all the cigarette butts. Interior / room was disgusting. 1) black mold in shower (swiped a tissue across it and it showed streaks of mold); 2) carpet was filthy; 3) cigarette burn in bedsheet. Room looks like it was built in the 70s and never updated. Old bathroom fixtures, PRINCESS(!) phone in bathroom next to toilet (eek!). Tiny flat screen TV that, even from just sitting on the bed, it was too small. I am not sure why anyone would rate this hotel as anything but poor. One of the worst I've ever stayed at, and I would *never* stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank X Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Piccadilly Inn Express has potential. Its location near the airport is convenient to travelers and central to all Fresno. Its design provides an extra level of safety, with card key entrance to the enclosed halls in addition to the rooms. The free breakfast is nice, with all manor of breakfast rolls, English muffins, bagels, yogurt, DIY waffles, juice, and tea. And its staff are amazingly friendly and accommodating. But there are too many issues that prevent it from an A-Okay "3". First, the rooms need major updating. This is NOT for aesthetic purposes. It it for cleanliness. Upon our arrival, we entered a room that smelled like the human sweat of previous inhabitants. We isolated our issue to the comforter and blanket. After notifying the front desk the next morning, the comforter and blanket were switched out and the room smelled clean. Special shout-out to our awesome housekeeper Carmen for doing a stellar job. It is not her fault that she has old linens to work with. Second, some of the outlet plates are loose and need to be tightened. It causes devices to not charge properly and the lights to flicker. Since outlets are limited in the rooms, it is imperative that those available are usable. Finally, the soap provided in the shower is the antiseptic hospital kind. If the place smells institutional, it's because anyone that uses this soap will end up smelling that way! We resolved this by requesting a bar of soap from our friends that live in town. All of these are little things that will ultimately make a huge difference for hotel guests, once corrected. For my part, I'll likely opt for the Piccadilly Inn Shaw next time we visit our friends. It is the hotel I meant to book when I booked this on Expedia. It's more expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Very convenient to the airport.. Clean and we'll kept.. Recommend for travelers flying in or out.. Reasonably priced and adequately appointed.. The facility was in good shape , the staff was pleasant and the free continental breakfast and coffee provided a great touch to finish off a long trip..

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This has been my goto motel whenever I travel to Fresno. Clean, comfortable and safe rooms, big shower heads and free waffle breakfast! Friendly staff has always been helpful.
This is an older property but the continue to do it right with modern updates to the lobby, Free fast WiFi, flat screen tv's and a new key system.
Ask for that AAA discount, you will be glad you did!

Room Tip: No fitness or sit down restaurant but lots of choices close by. All rooms are quiet even being clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Convenient Yes! Near parks Yes! Cleanliness somewhat! If you're a neat freak or germ - a - phob like myself. This in Not the hotel for your needs! Seedy neighborhood (explains the great security). .. decent continental breakfast...but they ask that you reuse your towels. In California, at least find a better option!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jj_rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We and our friends stayed here 3 nights in July. This location, near Fresno airport, was a perfect spot from which to make day trips to the 3 nearby parks, Yosemite, Kings Canyon, and Sequoia.

There are many restaurants in easy driving distance and a nice one at the Piccadilly next door.
The Piccadilly Express has a nice pool area which we used to cool off each evening after our Park adventures.

We have used this hotel several times and will do so again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were leaving on an early morning flight and so wanted to be close to the airport. Plus, we wanted to be able to leave our car for 2 weeks. We were very pleased with this choice!
The room was a good size with 2 double beds. Room also included a microwave, coffee maker, and a mini-fridge. Also, a hair blower. TV was an older model, but it worked well and the remote had a sleep timer on it!
If you're expecting some sample toiletries you'll be outta luck. Instead, you push a button to get either soap, lotion, or shampoo.
The front desk gave us a wake-up call at the time we requested. A complimentary cab was waiting for us at 4:20 am. The clerk even went into the breakfast area and got us scones and English muffins to take to the airport. The ride was less than 5 minutes. Here's hoping the return trip to pick up our vehicle goes as smoothly! We do plan to stay here again when we use Fresno airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgaribay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Airport
Piccadilly Inn Airport
#21 of 65 in Fresno
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
6.8 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#12 of 65 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
0.4 mi away
Ramada Fresno Airport
Ramada Fresno Airport
#33 of 65 in Fresno
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
6.0 mi away
San Joaquin Suite Hotel
San Joaquin Suite Hotel
#26 of 65 in Fresno
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccadilly Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadilly Inn Express

Address: 5113 East McKinley Avenue, Fresno, CA 93727
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Piccadilly Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly the best value for money accommodation you can find near Fresno Airport. Our customer service is the best in class. We take pride in offering our customer clean rooms and a quiet comfortable stay and a healthy breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Piccadilly Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel By Piccadilly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing