We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comments on Red Roof Inn” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4141 N Blackstone Ave, Fresno, CA 93726 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
1 review
“Comments on Red Roof Inn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this establishment on September 7 and 8, 2014. The following lists are the problems I had in the room:

1. Bedroom - the light in the corner had only one light bulb working, but flickering as though it was about to go out. The television had bad reception and shut off itself. When I turned it back on, a blue box appeared that said you needed to go into the menu section and change the timer. How can one go in the menu and change the timer when there is no button on the remote control to press that lets you scroll up or down. The phone on the nightstand was broken.

2. Bathroom - It took forever to get at least warm water in the showerhead. I can't imagine how much longer it would have taken to get hot water to bathe. On the shower wall, there is a device that dispenses shampoo and shower gel. I lifted the cover and saw that the shampoo was completely empty and the shower gel was almost empty.

3. Breakfast - Why is breakfast over at 9 am? Couldn't breakfast end at about 10:00 am or 10:30 am?

4. The floor plan shows there is a room that has an ice machine and a vending machine. My room was located near the ice machine, but there was only the ice machine and no vending
machine.

Room Tip: When booking your room, request the room to be away from the ice machine. The ice machine is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    8
    16
    25
See reviews for
19
21
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The sheets had cigarette burn marks and several of the lightbulbs were burnt out. The neighborhood is sketchy and the security guard wears a flak jacket.

To give you a sense of the place: there's a rotary phone in the bathroom. Need I say more?

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stinks like a Vegas hotel. Poor upkeep. Front desk clerk at check in was not helpful in directing us to our room. Sent us to the wrong building and wrong floor. Very uninformed staff. I will make sure to pass on this place the next time we are in Fresno.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

In reference to the above review that claims the hotel is dirty and drug infested. Both claims are false. The new manager Eric along with ALL of his staff have turned tis place around. His front desk employees all are proactive in making sure only guests of the hotel are on property. Of course a group of drug addicts are going to slip through the cracks once in a while, but I have personally seen the staff take appropriate measures when the druggies are caught. Under Eric's new managing I can not express enough how excellent the landscaping is. Also all the employees from housekeeping to front desk are very helpful. Pablo, Robert, Sultan, and Eric have all went above and beyond in proving excellent guest service to my family and I. Last but not least the night security is very cordial and diligent.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Mr. or Ms. jarllgibson (Mr. Gibson)

Thank you so very much for your review. Encouragement like yours helps us to keep making the effort to improve the property. We are fully committed to providing our guests with the best experience possible.

Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

ugh. filth. the only positive i could find was the room size. 2 queens it doesnt feel claustrophobic with 5 ppl in the room. the bathroom fixtures were moldy and outdated, i recommend shower shoes whem u showet. the toilet wouldnt flush half the time. the walls were stained with who knows what bodily fluid.i sanitized ever surface & febreezed tje curtains/beds before we.settled in
.. i refused to walk on the carpet without shoes/slippers. breakfast/ snack center advertised. when asked about it, i was told they lost their license to provide such a thing. its interesting that the 'remodeled' rooms are a bit pricier than the rest. your 61.01 could be better spent in an safer updated eatablishment near fresno state

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Matt R.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Fresno-Yosemite Gateway Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the many cleanliness issues you experienced and the lack of breakfast at our property.

I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.

Very truly yours,
Fred Reed
Area Support Manager

Red Roof Inn - Fresno-Yosemite Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I must say im impressed by all the changes ive noticed taking place at The Red Roof over the past couple of months.I admit several months ago i came into fresno as i often do for my business and always stay at RedRoof.At this time i realized things seemed to be going down hill (the reason im not sure) but what i do know is recently i stayed at The Red Roof and noticed a signifacant change fot the better.The grounds looked awesome clean,manicured you can definitly see they've had some landscaping done. My room was clean and staff was awesome, the pool area was clean and very relaxing. All i have to say is maybe The Red Roof has a new crew on deck and i give them 2 thumbs up on all the improvments..Keep up the good work.. sincerly ms randolph "exterior design consultant"

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear randirandolph

I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Fresno-Yosemite Gateway Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Fred Reed
Area Support Manager
Red Roof Inn - Fresno-Yosemite Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed in a room for ten hours that had no working a.c. while being told by manager Eric that he had no other complaints so we must be imagining it!We had already changed rooms twice! Finally the night manager, aAndrew changed our room! We have staued many times there and it gets worse ebery time! We were never offered anything for our trauma! It had been 108 degrees that day! The hookers and druggies werent as bad as the rooms!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear dewingme

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Fresno-Yosemite Gateway Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience with our Air Conditioning problem.

We are making many changes to improve our guest experience, and we also have setbacks. I have lived through the Fresno heat and know that we must have good A/C just to make it bearable. We would truly Love another chance to earn your business.

I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.

Very truly yours,
Fred Reed
Area Support Manager

Red Roof Inn - Fresno-Yosemite Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway

Address: 4141 N Blackstone Ave, Fresno, CA 93726 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Red Roof Inn, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Water Tree Hotel Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;