We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Village Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Village Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Village Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3110 North Blackstone Avenue, Fresno, CA 93703   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The first night we stayed here the neighbors were noisy and it was difficult to sleep for most of the night. We then stayed here shortly thereafter on our way home from a trip and told the manager about the previous issue. He was very concerned and gave us a 70% discount on our stay and the best room available. Everyone was very accommodating, the rooms were clean, and the breakfast had a wide selection including cereals, bacon, eggs, different juices, etc. Our group very much enjoyed our stay here and would come back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gambit423, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Village Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are happy to hear that your group enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next trip to Fresno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    89
    65
    23
    9
See reviews for
62
83
9
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Habra
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My family has stayed here for many years. Over the last few months the breakfast has improved and there is help in the breakfast area to keep everything cleaned up. The rooms are a nice size and the staff is always willing to place us in an area we like. Unfortunately, the towels are rough and need to be upgraded to a better quality. This area of Fresno seems to be declining and I did not feel as safe as I usually do and it seemed a lot noisier than in previoious visits.

Room Tip: I would choose a room in Building A which is close to the front, near the breakfast area and office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gambit423, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Village Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are working hard on improving our full hot breakfast. We will review our towel supplier and monitor the quality of existing towels. As for the area, we see statistically much less crime than other hotels in Fresno due to our single entrance and exit. In addition to this exit, we have 40 cctv cameras and a night security that patrols the property from 9pm to 5am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night, en route to Yosemite. Did not really use the facilities, as we arrived in the evening. I thought the room was rather spacious, and the beds were pretty comfortable (2 double beds), but I must say it's probably time to perhaps do something about the decor.

Breakfast was limitied, though the waffle machine was a welcome sight.

As for the neighbourhood, I think it's the general Fresno environment, which gives a rather unsafe outlook at the location of the hotel. But I did not get any trouble and we left the next morning.

Overall, not a fantastic hotel, but one which is suffice and comfortable for a night lay over.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gambit423, Manager at BEST WESTERN Village Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do our best to provide a safe, clean room with excellent customer service. We also take our guest's safety and security very seriously and currently employ 3 security guards to ensure this. We will also be updated our decor shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night after visiting Yosemite for the day. Room was clean and comfortable but in need of modernisation.

Breakfast was basic and only OK.

Good location for an onward trip to Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gambit423, Manager at BEST WESTERN Village Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We realize that there are many improvements to be made and we take your feedback seriously. I hope that you'll give us another try when you are in town and I can offer you a special return rate. Please contact the hotel directly and ask for the General Manager. I will more than happy to assist you.

Regards,

K.Y.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I think the current owners have really tried to renovate this hotel, but in spite of new carpeting, paint, and bathroom fixtures, this place is really on the edge. The cosmetic changes can't change the fact that the hotel is very old and located in a creepy type of neighborhood. It looks like they have cut corners to stay afloat with kleenex in a thin paper container, plastic cups so thin they crumble when taking them out of the wrapping paper, etc. The check-in clerk was great and helpful, but the hotel is at best a make-do place if you are spending one night in Fresno. There is a large shopping center several miles north and there we found several chain restaurants. It was almost a crime to pay $105 for the night. It was more like a $60 a night place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gambit423, Manager at BEST WESTERN Village Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your constructive feedback. We do our best to provide the absolute best in customer service and I am glad that your review reflects that. I will also speak to the owner's about the quality of the amenities. I hope that you will give us another chance to show that we take your feedback to heart.

Warm Regards,
K.Y.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownsmills, nj
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

First of all i had no problems with the nieghborhood. next door did play some loud 70's music. i couldn't hear it from my room which backed up to that area. the hotel has 3 bldg's to it. my room was clean and comfortable. refrigerator and coffee maker was in the bathroom. fair amount of tv stations to watch. the pool was chilly. it is april. hot tub could have been a little hotter. theres a restaurant and fast food place next door. not far to travel to everything. the hotel grounds were clean. flowers were in bloom and smelled good. the breakfeast was not bad. eggs, sausage. biscuits and gravey, yogarts and some fruit,cerals. yes you could spend at a restaurant and have better. it saved me some money. breakfeast area is a little small if a lot of people show up. that only happend once and we were eating out that day anyway. the people at the desk were very helpful and cheery. we were in town to see some friends. everything was nice. maybe not perfect for most. for the money i would stay there again.

Room Tip: stay on 2nd floor. just more quiet. less traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gambit423, Manager at BEST WESTERN Village Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We have always enjoyed our stays at BW motels. While not typically luxurious, they are usually clean and comfortable for an overnight stay. We travel many nights a year and have stayed at dozens of BW properties. This property however was an exception. First of all it is in a very marginal neighborhood, one bad enough that we were extremely concerned about our car. The room was adequate, but old and dated and not nearly as nice or clean as other BW's we have stayed at. Breakfast was nothing special and we passed on it deciding to stop down the road a bit.a. I would have avoided staying at this property again as it was a big disappointment, but the worst part of the situation was when the charges posted to our Visa. We were on vacation in So.CA., and it was about 4 weeks after our stay when we got got a chance to view our Visa bill. To our astonishment we were billed well over $200 for our one night stay, which was to be about $80! Calling BW (which we have always had wonderful service from) gave little comfort in that they told us the property had a week to respond to why we were overcharged. During that time we received no communication from the property. Finally I called to property directly and asked that the manager call me back. When he called back he acted as though he had no idea what I was talking about and I was told that they would have to go back through the previous months receipts which were essentially a stack of papers. The next day the manager called me back and told me that they billed was correct, arguing that we had stayed 2 nights, not one. Interestingly enough, the previous night we stayed at a lovely BW in Anderson, CA (BW Anderson Inn-very nice) and the night after we were in Fresno we were in Moreno Valley at the gorgeous BW property there (an OUTSTANDING PROPERTY we would highly recommend!!!), so it would have been impossible for us to be in both locations at the same time. After hearing this, the manager did some additional research and called me back to tell me that they did make a mistake on the number of nights we stayed, but because a pet was seen in our room that he had added $40 which is the pet fee. WE DID NOT HAVE A PET TRAVELING WITH US. I asked the manager what made him think we had a pet in the room and he told me that his cleaning crew remembered seeing it. This is a motel that accepts animals. I honestly believe this this hotel was attempting to slip a 2-night fee on our Visa hoping that we wouldn't catch it, and the pet thing was a last ditch effort to get even with us for calling them on it. I would never recommend this property even if we hadn't had the dispute over the bill, but if you are stuck and must stay at this property I encourage you to pay in cash and then carefully check your credit card to make sure some "extra fee" has not been surreptitiously added to your card. This fiasco has guaranteed that if we ever find ourselves in need of lodging in Fresno we will opt for sleeping in our car if we are unable to find something more suitable than the Best Western Village Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Village Inn

Address: 3110 North Blackstone Avenue, Fresno, CA 93703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Fresno, California hotel, at the gateway to Yosemite, and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling. The BEST WESTERN Village Inn is conveniently located in central Fresno with easy access to a variety of local area attractions and businesses including the Savemart Center and Grizzly Stadium. This Fresno hotel is located across from the Manchester Shopping Mall situated halfway between Yosemite and Kings Canyon/Sequoia National Parks. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television, free local calls and a refrigerator. Other hotel amenities include an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and complimentary full breakfast. A friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. Make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Village Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Groupon and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Village Hotel Fresno
Best Western Fresno
Fresno Best Western
Best Western Village Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.