We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest place we've stayed in Fresno--worth the extra $$” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6820 N Fresno St, Fresno, CA 93710   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 65 hotels in Fresno
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nicest place we've stayed in Fresno--worth the extra $$”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Several years ago in Fresno there were no good places to stay at all. The good news is that in the last few years on the north side of town they've built several newer hotels -- a mariott townplace suites, a la quinta, and others.

We stayed three nights at the Hilton Homewood Suites on Fir in mid April, and it we had a great stay. Travelled with wife and three small kids.

We had a king suite -- which had a separate bedroom from the living area.

The room was quiet, clean, modern and comfortable. Hotel and grounds were clean and meticulous. I could critique the bed -- it was slightly hard.

The best thing: Ceilings are high. This little detail made the room feel considerably larger than it actually is (it's actually just a tiny apartment).

The breakfast was pretty good for a free hotel breakfast. Pool was NOT heated, so you probably can't use it except in the summer time.

But we'll stay here again, next time we visit fresno with family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlMngr, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Superfluouschap,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback and comments. We hope you will come back and visit us the next time you need a hotel in Fresno.

Warm regards,

Serina Najar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    70
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
70
37
20
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The rooms at Homewood Suirtes are far and a way the nicest in N Fresno. Ceiling fan above the bed a nice touch for hot Fresno nights. They even had a complimentary bag of popcorn to put inthe microwave. Fully equiped kitchen with all stuff you would need to cook inthe room. the furniture, linens, bath and electronics are all excellent. the breakfast is generous, but variety is small and the tater tots are to be avoided.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlMngr, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel. We are overjoyed by your comments on how clean your room was and how friendly our staff was. We truely appreciate all your feedback and will definately share your comments with our staff. We hope to see you on your next visit to Fresno.

Warmest regards,

Serina Najar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the road again
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nice to have some room to spread out. Never stayed in one of these hotels before and the studio open suite style has a spacious feeling. They need to do a better job of shampooing carpets but overall the hotel was a 4.

Room Tip: Ask for studio open plan style seems more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlMngr, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our rooms were spacious enough for you to spread out. We will be sure to watch our carpets even more closely as we shampoo on a regular basis. We hope you will come back and visit us the next time you need a hotel in Fresno.

Warm regards,

Serina Najar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Except for the long walk to the elevator and to the ice machine this Homewood was excellent as usual! We LOVE staying at Homewoods and have stayed at many of them! Homewoods are the BEST of the Hilton Family for quality, service and point value! Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

With little chance for a last-minute booking in Yosemite Valley, we decided to stay in Fresno and make the drive to the National Park (about 2.5 hours) for a day trip. Based on TripAdvisor reviews, we chose the Homewood Suites by Hilton, Fresno, and were very pleased.

The property is well-kept, very clean and the front desk staff was wonderful. With my wife and two kids (age 14 and 9) along for the trip, the room was well-sized for our family and the kitchenette was a nice added touch. The master bed (a king) was comfortable, the sink and vanity well lit, and the shower was large with plenty of hot water flow.

As far as drawbacks... Our room (an "inside" room on the first floor) was quiet, but my wife was awakened more than once during the night by the air conditioner (a "window unit") cycling on and off. My kids also found the pull-out sofa bed very uncomfortable — maybe two queen beds would have been a better choice?

Room Tip: The pull-out sofa bed was very uncomfortable. Check to see if they have two queen beds if traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have lived in the Fresno/Clovis area since birth, but recently moved to the San Luis Obispo, CA area. So, we still have roots in the Valley, and were in town for a wedding last weekend and are usually pleased with Homewood Suites. Husband has stayed at this location for work, many times, and liked it. At first check in, on Saturday afternoon, one of the first thing I noticed was that the front desk girl, wasn't wearing a name tag, to me, I like when they do, so if they treat us really good or bad, I can give then due credit. Well "she" was a little frazzled, had a rush of groups coming in at once (a birthday party, basketball tournements, etc) she gave me a room and had to lug our luggage to the elevator, and walk clear around the building, to find our room had the maid's cleaning cart in it, and room was not at all ready for occupancy. I used the phone and called the front desk, and was asked to come down to the lobby for another room. We lugged our stuff back thru the hallways down the elevator, back to the front desk, where more of the groups were arriving and being helped while I waited what seemed like forever. She needed help at the front desk. "She" was VERY apologetic, and called to see what was up, it seemed all the cleaning staff was still at lunch. ALL TOGETHER? Finally someone did come help...an older couple take luggage to their room. Was given another room, and it was fine, very clean, view of the eastern parking lot. There are no views to speak of. Breakfast was a JOKE! We came down at 8:30am and seriously, nothing was left, and it was a mess.

Room Tip: If you want a little quieter location, ask for something away from Herndon Ave., that's one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I will keep this short and sweet as the hotel does nothing bad and also nothing exceptionally well.

Service was fantastic, Spa was warm and the room was large and comfortable.

Our room was a VERY long walk to the car park and the elevator was also a long way away. Nobody to help with our luggage and with 2 adults and 2 kids, made it very difficult to check in and check out due to it being a long walk to the elevator and car park.

Other than that, the stay was very good and the hotel was an excellent base for our family to visit China Peak for skiing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno

Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Fresno Hotel Fresno
Homewood Suites Fresno Hotel
Homewood Suites Fresno
Homewood Fresno
Fresno Homewood
Fresno Homewood Suites
Address: 6820 N Fresno St, Fresno, CA 93710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fresno
#2 Business Hotel in Fresno
#8 Family Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites Fresno offers a variety of options including studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. Our suites are ideal for temporary housing as well as overnight accommodations. Each suite offers a range of home comforts including fully equipped kitchen with a full size refrigerator, flat panel televisions, complimentary high-speed Internet, and Serta Suite Dreams® Bedding. Additional hotel amenities include, fitness center, sports court with basketball, billiards room, pool with hot tub, and 24 hour Suite Shop®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.