We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent family base camp for Yosemite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6820 N Fresno St, Fresno, CA 93710   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An excellent family base camp for Yosemite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

With little chance for a last-minute booking in Yosemite Valley, we decided to stay in Fresno and make the drive to the National Park (about 2.5 hours) for a day trip. Based on TripAdvisor reviews, we chose the Homewood Suites by Hilton, Fresno, and were very pleased.

The property is well-kept, very clean and the front desk staff was wonderful. With my wife and two kids (age 14 and 9) along for the trip, the room was well-sized for our family and the kitchenette was a nice added touch. The master bed (a king) was comfortable, the sink and vanity well lit, and the shower was large with plenty of hot water flow.

As far as drawbacks... Our room (an "inside" room on the first floor) was quiet, but my wife was awakened more than once during the night by the air conditioner (a "window unit") cycling on and off. My kids also found the pull-out sofa bed very uncomfortable — maybe two queen beds would have been a better choice?

Room Tip: The pull-out sofa bed was very uncomfortable. Check to see if they have two queen beds if traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    88
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
93
50
20
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have lived in the Fresno/Clovis area since birth, but recently moved to the San Luis Obispo, CA area. So, we still have roots in the Valley, and were in town for a wedding last weekend and are usually pleased with Homewood Suites. Husband has stayed at this location for work, many times, and liked it. At first check in, on Saturday afternoon, one of the first thing I noticed was that the front desk girl, wasn't wearing a name tag, to me, I like when they do, so if they treat us really good or bad, I can give then due credit. Well "she" was a little frazzled, had a rush of groups coming in at once (a birthday party, basketball tournements, etc) she gave me a room and had to lug our luggage to the elevator, and walk clear around the building, to find our room had the maid's cleaning cart in it, and room was not at all ready for occupancy. I used the phone and called the front desk, and was asked to come down to the lobby for another room. We lugged our stuff back thru the hallways down the elevator, back to the front desk, where more of the groups were arriving and being helped while I waited what seemed like forever. She needed help at the front desk. "She" was VERY apologetic, and called to see what was up, it seemed all the cleaning staff was still at lunch. ALL TOGETHER? Finally someone did come help...an older couple take luggage to their room. Was given another room, and it was fine, very clean, view of the eastern parking lot. There are no views to speak of. Breakfast was a JOKE! We came down at 8:30am and seriously, nothing was left, and it was a mess.

Room Tip: If you want a little quieter location, ask for something away from Herndon Ave., that's one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I will keep this short and sweet as the hotel does nothing bad and also nothing exceptionally well.

Service was fantastic, Spa was warm and the room was large and comfortable.

Our room was a VERY long walk to the car park and the elevator was also a long way away. Nobody to help with our luggage and with 2 adults and 2 kids, made it very difficult to check in and check out due to it being a long walk to the elevator and car park.

Other than that, the stay was very good and the hotel was an excellent base for our family to visit China Peak for skiing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF BAY AREA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The suites offer all you need at a good price and quieter setting than most. Easy parking as well. Breakfast needs to be more varied. The billards are great with basketball and pool fun as well. Poolside rooms are very quiet

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

visiting my daughter going to school . homewood suites clean,comfortable,and good area.This was my second time staying at hotel. if you are driving there make sure you get real good directions.The hotel is hiding behind the marriot and signage not very visible from street. reception was very helpful printing me out directions to all different places.Nice to have coffee in lobby available all the time. easy to get to many different places. Hotel very comfortable would go back for sure

Room Tip: i like being close to elevator but you do hear it from inside the room dinging
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This suites hotel is a very nice place to stay if you're in Fresno for a few days. We've stayed here twice and found the staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. Everything you need is provided in the kitchenette if you want to fix your own meals, including a good-sized refrigerator (microwave, but no oven). You'll find something for everyone at breakfast each morning. We especially loved the egg soufflé! The hotel is located conveniently close to restaurants and a huge Kaiser Hospital. Downsides: We could slightly hear the voices of our neighbors through the bedroom wall. The first time we stayed here we were next to the exercise room which opens at 6:00 am. You can definitely hear the weights being lifted and replaced through the wall. It's also a little hard to find as its located behind the Marriott Suites. We found the heating/air conditioning difficult to regulate to a comfortable temperature. It was either too hot or too cold. We finally turned it off completely.

Room Tip: Avoid being placed next to the exercise room unless you're a very early riser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Andreas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were thoroughly pleased by our stay at Homewood Suites. This was our first time at one of these properties and were impressed with the room and amenities the property offered. We will certainly look for opportunities to stay at Homewood Suites in the future, especially if we are going to be spending several days somewhere since the suites include a kitchen and spacious rooms. The complimentary wifi service and breakfast are also pluses.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlMngr, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Dan B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel provided the amenities that fit your needs. We hope to serve you in the near future. Thank you Serina Najar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno

Address: 6820 N Fresno St, Fresno, CA 93710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fresno
#3 Family Hotel in Fresno
#4 Business Hotel in Fresno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites Fresno offers a variety of options including studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. Our suites are ideal for temporary housing as well as overnight accommodations. Each suite offers a range of home comforts including fully equipped kitchen with a full size refrigerator, flat panel televisions, complimentary high-speed Internet, and Serta Suite Dreams® Bedding. Additional hotel amenities include, fitness center, sports court with basketball, billiards room, pool with hot tub, and 24 hour Suite Shop®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Fresno Hotel Fresno
Homewood Fresno
Fresno Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.