We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable Holiday Inn Express” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7115 N. Howard St., Fresno, CA 93720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable Holiday Inn Express”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

My partner and I went to Fresno last weekend to visit family and needed a reasonably priced hotel to crash at for a couple of nights. I have had several positive experiences this year with various Holiday Inn Hotels so we elected to stay at this property in Fresno.

The hotel itself is new, and therefore very clean and modern. The rooms are spacious and contain all of the 'typical' amenities you find at Holiday Inn Express hotels (coffee/tee pot, mini-refrigerators, flat screen TVs, free wi-fi, etc.). The bathroom was also a nice size (no bathtub and just a shower) and we were upgraded to a 'King Suite' so we had a 'sitting area' and coffee table. The bed was comfortable and the room temperature perfect.

The hotel offered a nice warm/cold breakfast included in the price, a small (very small!!) exercise room, and small pool (with a jacuzzi). The hotel is located just off of the 41 freeway in an office park. Parking is plentiful, but there is not much else around it. I think there was one or two chain restaurants a couple of blocks away. Also, one side of the hotel faces the freeway. Our room did not, and we did not notice any freeway noise. But if noise does bother you I would suggest you request a room that does not face the freeway.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and it was a very positive experience. The value we received for what we paid was far above what one typically receives from other hotel chains.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    52
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
46
31
9
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed one night while attending the WBA Marching Band Championships at Fresno City College. The hotel was about 5 miles from the college but worth the drive. Close to several restaurants. Rooms were bigger than expected and very clean. The included breakfast was much more than the traditional continental.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Stayed at the Holiday Inn on a stopover between Yosemite and Kings Canyon NPs. Booked online in advance so got a good rate, but experiences of HI Expresses in the UK haven't always been that great. But this is an excellent hotel - really convenient for the freeway (in fact our room was about 20ft from it but couldn't hear a thing!), the room was enormous with a really comfy bed, and everything was clean and tidy as it should be. Guys at the front desk were really helpful and gave us a good recommendation for dinner.

Breakfast quality was a bit hit and miss and plastic cutlery?! There were quite a few chain hotels in the area, but you couldn't do any better than this. It is nowhere near downtown Fresno though.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

If you've read any of my reviews, you know I'm prone to criticising oversights by hoteliers. Not here at the Holiday Inn Express Fresno. We stayed at the La Quinta beside this HI Express two years ago - not sure if this hotel was there then, but if it was we missed a trick! This is a fantastic hotel.

We payed the extra for an 'executive' room which was on the ground floor just off the reception. It was large, well-appointed and had all the features one would need (including wash-hand-basin in the WC! - as opposed to outside the WC, a sign the hotel is in need of refurbishment!)

There's a wonderful 'tuck-shop' available off-reception. The receptionist was kind enough to get me a half-pint of milk to treat my heartburn and even gave us free cookies which were available for all in reception.

The WiFi here is good too - not super-fast but this hotel also has a great business centre and a feature to print from your room to the printer in the business centre for free.

Breakfast is quick, clean and quite filling. The cinnamon rolls are delicious. The scrambled egg is tasteless but edible. The coffee is great though.

Beds here are comfortable. Only glitch on the whole stay was the two AC units outside our window. We didn't want to pester the receptionist so late with a request to move, but the following morning I checked and it's only this room on the ground floor at the front of the property that has these two AC units. It's no biggie.

Overall this is the 10th straight hotel we've stayed in recently. It's perfect for Yosemite as it's on the northern side of Fresno. It's just about the best hotel I've stayed in in years! Even some Vegas hotels should check out the HI Express Fresno for some tips!

I really cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Holiday Inn express in Fresno has clean and big room with a microwave. All areas are clean. Front desk is helpful. Location is safe. Breaksfast is pretty good with hot and cold entrees. Its all worth it for the price we paid. Its also 1.5 to 2 hours away from Yosemite. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Hotel was nice and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a room on the east side, away from the freeway, thinking that would be quieter but then the a/c unit kept us up all night. In August, you have to have the a/c on so we had no choice. Also, we could hear the people above us walk around until 1 a.m. For the second night, we bought ear plugs and that helped. The pool was small but clean. Breakfast was fine and everything was constantly being wiped and re-stocked. Would stay here again, but.... will be sure to bring ear plugs for the a/c unit!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is one of the nicest motels we've ever stayed in. The front desk help was clean and friendly. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was great and the breakfast area was clean and well maintained. We have an aversion to paying a lot of money for a dirty motel room, which many are, and this place was *clean*.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41

Address: 7115 N. Howard St., Fresno, CA 93720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fresno
#6 Family Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno-River Park is conveniently located near the River Park shopping center. Just around the corner from restaurants such as the PF Chang's, Ruth's Chris, Famous Dave's, Slate's and more. We are minutes away from the Big Fresno Fair, SaveMart Center, the Grizzly Stadium, Fresno State University, Old Town Clovis and downtown Fresno. Easy on and off highway access. Hotel features include free high-speed Internet access, print on demand, free hot breakfast, a business & fitness center, guest laundry facility, and pay-per-view. Our prime location in Fresno will put you near famous attractions like Yosemite National Park, Sequoia National Park, Millerton and Bass Lake and casinos. Close to our Holiday Inn Express - Fresno, is also Children's Hospital, Kaiser Permanente, St. Agnes, Wells Fargo Corporate, and more. Visit Fresno, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Riverpark hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
Holiday Inn Express Fresno
Holiday Inn Fresno
Fresno Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.