We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great service, needs a little TLC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7115 N. Howard St., Fresno, CA 93720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value, great service, needs a little TLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here to visit family in the area and have stayed at this property on a few occasions for business. The breakfast is pretty much the same as other HIE hotels but must admit that I really enjoy their signature cinnamon rolls.

The room was adequate and the price was a very good value. The bathroom was spacious, but the shower needed a good application of mildew remover in the corners. Also, in leiu of a sofa, the room was furnished with an easy chair and ottoman which made sitting with someone else while watching televsion at the end of the day a bit difficult.

The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of towels. Getting to the pool was confusing as the signage led you down a hallway with no other directions. Turned out that you needed to exit the hotel from the stairway to reach the outdoor pool. Exercise room consisted of a few machines, but it was very clean with enough room to move about.

There's a FRESH TOMATOES restaurant and a CHILIS nearby, close enough to walk to, which was convenient. Freeway access and a nearby large shopping center makes this a very good location. High points to a very helpful staff who provided directions and recommendations to eateries, services and nearby National Parks. The AC worked fine though a bit noisy as is typical with in-room units.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take pride in our great customer service, our delicous breakfast, and the excellent condition of our rooms. We cant wait to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    57
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
54
39
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
186 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel was pretty easy to find: just off the freeway, one block behind Herndon Ave..
We were checked-in by a very friendly staff and also received a room upgrade to a suite (as a Platinum member) - that's always highly appreciated. The king suite was very spacious, quiet and clean. The suite also included a fridge (which was pretty quiet by the way). Our bathroom was spacious as well.
A Chili's restaurant is just a short walk away - it's always convenient to have a good restaurant in walking distance (so both of us can enjoy a drink or two).
Breakfast was good (standard holiday inn: delicious cinnamon rolls), although items were replaced a bit slow - but not an issue we couldn't get along with.
You can't go wrong with this one !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take pride in our great customer service, our delicous breakfast, and the excellent condition of our rooms. We cant wait to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are in this area
On the eve we came in Patrick at the front desk was very helpful and friendly
made the stay even better
great breakfast and breakfast area
would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you got a chance to meet our Front Office Manager, Patrick. We are very proud of our staff and it is great to hear that they continue to "WOW" our guests. Keep coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We decided to stay in Fresno as the base for visting Yosemite National Park and chose this Holiday Inn after reviewing a number of Fresno options. It turned out to be a good choice that met our needs for a couple of nights stay.

Upon arrival the check in process was quick and efficient. My status as a PriorityClub member was recognised too. Unfortunately the hotel couldn't place the two rooms I'd booked close together and we ended up on different floors, but in the end that didn't matter.

The rooms were basic, but were clean and functional. My only minor complaint about the room facilities would be the noisy extraction fan in the bathroom which turned on when the bathroom light was switched on.

The hotel has a common room where a free breakfast is provided daily. Whilst this was a feature of a number of hotels we stayed at in the USA, this was by far the best. There was a great selection ranging from cereal, danishes, pancakes and yoghurt to a hot selection of bacon and scrambled eggs. Juice and coffee was also provided. There was ample space to sit and enjoy breakfast too.

The hotel also has a fitness room, but it was made up of only about 3 pieces of equipment including a treadmill which seemed in need of a service.

There is a shopping centre with a number of fast food outlets about a five minute drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to serve as a base for guests travelling to both Yosemite and Kings Canyon/Sequoia national parks. It was our pleasure to host you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a couple of reasons for staying in Fresno, firstly it is a good geographic location after a day travelling through Yosemite, and secondly, in October the Big Fresno Fair is on.
After reading numerous scary reviews of Downtown Fresno we decided to stay a few miles out and chose this H.I.E. Check in was quick and hassle free. It is up to the usual standard you would expect from Holiday Inn.
Large room, very comfortable bed and despite being right next to the highway very quiet. Breakfast is served in a smallish room and offers the usual items you would expect - Fruit, cereals, bagels, scrambled eggs,bacon, juices and coffee, but most importantly ......FROOT LOOPS and CINNAMON ROLLS

We wanted to go to Riverpark (Bars, Restaurants, movie theater and shops) and the guy on reception told us it was a safe area to walk in, which was cool as I didn't want to drive anymore that day, it was only a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Very easy access from the highway and free parking.
Can't fault it and safer than being in Downtown. Didn't feel threatened or insecure even when walking back from Riverpark at 11.00PM.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Wow, is what we try to accomplish with all of our guests. It is important that our facility and our staff provides a safe and hospitable experience for all of our guest each and every time. I want to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, in
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Recent stay at this facility. Staff are consistently kind and helpful. Would not hesitate to stay again. We especially like the Holiday Inn Express brand primarily because they have many new facilities. In fact, this hotel claims to be Fresno's newest hotel. I would suggest that this is not true. Beds were slightly worn. Walls in bath have multiple patches.
Prior to booking this hotel, I cancelled a nearby similar hotel and paid approx $25 more per night. In the end, I doubt the difference in cost was worth it.

Again, I recommend staying here, but would consider competitors in the area as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the even # rooms which do not face Highway 41
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are very happy that you found that our service staff was kind and helpful. I am reviewing the room you stayed in and am taking steps to refresh or product for you and all of our guests in the future. We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you when you travel to Fresno. Again, Thanks for bringing your thoughts to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family (wife + 2 toddlers) arrived at the hotel around 10 pm after a long, tiring drive from LA. We were greeted warmly by Elisa immediately after arriving and she helped us to get our room in a quick and effficient manner.

We bought our dinner on the way to the hotel and somehow forgot to get the utensils. I asked Elisa if she could help us to get them and quite amazingly she had some forks ready at the front office desk and she quickly got us the plates from the dining room. A truly well appreciated service.

Other than that, the room looks great, clean, looks new, wide bathroom. The only improvement needed is that the small fridge does not seem to be cool enough even after i cranked the lever to the max, but it's not really that big of deal anyway.

Great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
On behalf of my staff and myself, It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us. We hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you for your comment..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fresno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41

Address: 7115 N. Howard St., Fresno, CA 93720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fresno
#4 Family Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno-River Park is conveniently located near the River Park shopping center. Just around the corner from restaurants such as the PF Chang's, Ruth's Chris, Famous Dave's, Slate's and more. We are minutes away from the Big Fresno Fair, SaveMart Center, the Grizzly Stadium, Fresno State University, Old Town Clovis and downtown Fresno. Easy on and off highway access. Hotel features include free high-speed Internet access, print on demand, free hot breakfast, a business & fitness center, guest laundry facility, and pay-per-view. Our prime location in Fresno will put you near famous attractions like Yosemite National Park, Sequoia National Park, Millerton and Bass Lake and casinos. Close to our Holiday Inn Express - Fresno, is also Children's Hospital, Kaiser Permanente, St. Agnes, Wells Fargo Corporate, and more. Visit Fresno, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Riverpark hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
Holiday Inn Express Fresno
Holiday Inn Fresno
Fresno Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.