We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowza!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antonio's Mexican Restaurant

Antonio's Mexican Restaurant
7959 N Blackstone Ave, Fresno, CA 93720
(559) 446-1802
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #344 of 1,024 Restaurants in Fresno
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Wowza!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I wish there was a sixth star. The service, food and drinks were top notch. In fact, top notch is an insult. It's seriously that good. I feel guilty giving other restaurants 5 stars after eating at Antonio's. They have fantastic margaritas, and wonderful chips and salsa. I had the San Francisco Fish Tacos and they were a delight as well. Even their beans were exceptional. I was full and still had to clean my plate. The price was really reasonable too. On top of that, my waitress was wonderful and attentive. She had things coming before I even had the chance to ask. She also knew the menu inside and out. Antonio's has a cool outdoor patio area, fun bar and good restaurant style seating too. I've been eating mexican food in California from LA to Fresno and Antonio's is my favorite, hands down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“My favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

There are lots of Mexican restaurants in town, but when we lived in the area this was always my favorite. Now after many years and coming back for a visit, even though the location changed the food is still some of the best I have eaten. Their chips are freshly made and nicely seasoned and their sauce and salsa is excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California, United States
1 review
“Visiting From Out of Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Three of us went to Antonio's after a long day in the Wine Country and we all thought it was among the best ever Mexican Restaurants and I have been to a LOT of Mexican Restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overall Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

While visiting the area, we dined with friends who made a reservation at this place for about 15 of us to have dinner. We arrived early, but they were able to accommodate us after a short wait. Our server, Nicole, was a sweetheart. I run a restaurant back home, and I wish I had ten Nicole's working on my staff. The folks we were dining with were a tough crowd. Some were quite demanding and a bit rude. They asked a whole lot of questions for which Nicole had an answer every time. She remained patient and professional. All of the food looked great. I ordered the Carnitas Dinner. Not the best carnitas I have ever had, but they were still good. My son ordered the Old Fashion Enchiladas and they came out just like he ordered them, with no pico. That would have been a deal breaker. He loved them! My Dos XX Lager was on special for $2.50. Can't beat that. I also had a Grape LIT made with no tequila, which was made right. I was expecting my cocktail to look similar to the one pictured on their drink menu, but there was no garnish or pretty glass. It didn't matter too much though. It tasted great. Overall everything was very good and Nicole did an EXCELLENT job. Not many servers would have remained as patient and professional as she did given the group she had to handle.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite Mexican food in Fresno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We love this place. When we don't know were to go we end up here. We love the enchiladas and tacos. Good place to bring kids.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Antonio's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antonio's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.