We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meux Home Museum

Meux Home Museum
Tulare and R Street, Fresno, CA
559-233-8007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 38 things to do in Fresno
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum was once the home of a Civil War-era surgeon.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I've been to the Meux Home a few times and I always find it fascinating. I see something new everytime that I didn't notice on the previous tours. If you are interested in seeing historical collections, then you'll enjoy the home. The best time to come is during the Christmas season. The home is completely decorated and you'll see what life was like in the Victorian era.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Went for a special dinner and we were treated to a tour of the home - the guides were in period dress and knew all about the home, the people who lived there and the history - fascinating. Want to go back again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HpyTrvlrFresno_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great add-on to Fresno trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Since we had a little extra time, we decided to take the tour of this Victorian mansion. Well worth the $5 admission for the fun, informative look at early Fresno history.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jumbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Collecton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This museum has a great collection of dishes and furnishings from early California. The home has been well taken care of and preserves some early Fresno, California history.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I really liked the tour of the house. I wouldn't take young children because there are a lot of small things that might break and they might get bored. If you like old houses and seeing how people lived way back when, then this is a tour you must take.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
5 Thank thebabaganoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meux Home Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing