We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meux Home Museum

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Meux Home Museum
Tulare and R Street, Fresno, CA
559-233-8007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 46 things to do in Fresno
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum was once the home of a Civil War-era surgeon.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I've been to the Meux Home a few times and I always find it fascinating. I see something new everytime that I didn't notice on the previous tours. If you are interested in seeing historical collections, then you'll enjoy the home. The best time to come is during the Christmas season. The home is completely decorated and you'll see what life was like in the Victorian era.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Went for a special dinner and we were treated to a tour of the home - the guides were in period dress and knew all about the home, the people who lived there and the history - fascinating. Want to go back again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great add-on to Fresno trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Since we had a little extra time, we decided to take the tour of this Victorian mansion. Well worth the $5 admission for the fun, informative look at early Fresno history.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Collecton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This museum has a great collection of dishes and furnishings from early California. The home has been well taken care of and preserves some early Fresno, California history.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I really liked the tour of the house. I wouldn't take young children because there are a lot of small things that might break and they might get bored. If you like old houses and seeing how people lived way back when, then this is a tour you must take.

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meux Home Museum also viewed

 

Been to Meux Home Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meux Home Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.