We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Welcome Inn to your Saves list
Welcome Inn
777 N Parkway Dr, Fresno, CA 93728   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
CA
1 review
“A good place to stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

Location is good right off the freeway. The hotel was clean and priced reasonably. The staff was friendly and courteous. Recommend this to other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    2
    0
    15
See reviews for
2
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sacramento, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

if you are looking for value pricing with clean comfortable rooms then welcome inn would be my advise for fresno. its not holiday inn but if you are a frequent traver like my self to the area then this property do offer good value for your dollars.

reason why i keep going back is bcz they provide microwave and fridge at low rates and also provide wireless internet. staff is also very friendly and courteous.

  • Liked — Location on hwy99
  • Disliked — properties next to the hotel can use improvments
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

hotel is located on highway 99 , great location to access both Yosemite and Sequoia parks. its not the greatest neighbourhood but the hotel accomadations are above avg for the price of $39.99. most of the hotels are in 60 plus range in fresno area. i would def stay again.

  • Liked — afforadable room rates
  • Disliked — neighbourhood
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

Not only did the room stink of cigarette smoke, but in the middle of the night I recieved a phone call on the room line. "What are you doing tonight?" asked the man on the other end. "Trying to sleep" I told him. He then asked me if I wanted to have some "fun." I asked him who the hell he was and he hung up.

I would think that this was a simple wrong room number but the man was clearly talking to someone he didn't know, and yet was not surprised at all to hear that I was male. Obviously there are some low-lives keeping track of who checks into which room - perhaps even the owners themselves, that's my theory at least. I did see numerous prostitutes on the street outside, but I hardly expected to have someone try to entice me into joining.

As for the argument that "you shouldn't complain for 35 dollars" - I travelled across the country for three months, only staying in the lowest priced places, and never had anything even remotely resembling this situation happen. There is a motel in Portland that was 25 dollars, with faster internet and clean rooms (and of course, no creepy phone calls).

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

This is the worst hotel I ever stayed in. Old, dirty and ----ing. None of my family memeber would take a shower in the "colorful" bathroom. Avoid this one.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

Being on a road trip to the Californian National Parks, we needed to have a stopover in Fresno, as all accomodations in the park areas were full. All we wanted was a simple, clean room and the Welcome Inn's own description is 'nice clean rooms'.

We were a little skeptical about the low price, but the only existing review on Tripadvisor stated that the reviewer indeed found a clean and simple room. Since most other places in Fresno were full, we went for the Welcome Inn.

The place is located in a shabby area of Fresno. It is run down and dirty. We did not take a shower, despite a 105 degree day outside, because of mold in the bathroom. The bathtub, the carpet and the chairs looked dirty, the wallpaper was torn at the bottom, one of the beds was more like a hammock and there was an ashtray in the non-smoking room - well, we did not look too closely at the other details, as we just wanted to get some sleep without dreaming about ugly details of the room.

The TV set did not work and there was no remote control - we were told that "this is the one thing we do not have, remotes..." The only positive note was that the internet worked fine.

We probably got what we paid for, but if you want a nice and clean place, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davis, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2006

This wasn't the Hilton, but for $35.00 I got a clean room, alot of TV channels and good free high speed internet. I'll defintely return again

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Inn

Address: 777 N Parkway Dr, Fresno, CA 93728
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Welcome Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.