We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Star Restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sal's Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sal's Mexican Restaurant
7476 N Fresno St, Fresno, CA 93720
559.438.3030
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 941 Restaurants in Fresno
Cuisines: Mexican, American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“1 Star Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I ate here after it received glowing reviews from hotel staff where I was staying. I cannot imagine why. The food was the level of a burger bar not a quality restaurant. The meal came to $9 so I got what I paid for, but it was definitely not a high quality authentic Mexican restaurant. Service was excellent and the price of the meal was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
On the road again
Level Contributor
566 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Awesome Food- Awesome Staff Since 1942 WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Friendly Staff, really wonderful home cooked food at reasonable prices. Passing through on a music and radio tour and could not believe how good the food was and how inexpensive. Attentive and friendly staff, giant margaritas. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Chili Con Carne is Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When I visit Fresno and have time for lunch I always stop at Sal's Mexican Restaurant for the Chili con Carne. It is large chunks of slow braised beef in a delicious red sauce. The beef is beyond fork tender and melts in the mouth. The spice on the sauce has just the right kick. Lastly, the spot on the plate where the red sauce and beans meet is pure magic. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Lunch service is fast as well. Sal's is a great place. Try the short-ribs too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Favorite Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate here last night and were pleased as always. We eat here at least once per week and the food is awesome. Normally when the portions are large a place is compensating for poor quality. Not Sal's. the quality is what keeps us coming back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The meals are very tasty and large. The service is friendly and quick. And the prices are very reasonable. The inside is cozy and comfortable the patio is cold, no decor, plastic chairs.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sal's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sal's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.