We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salsa fabuloso!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sal's Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sal's Mexican Restaurant
7476 N Fresno St, Fresno, CA 93720
559.438.3030
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 1,014 Restaurants in Fresno
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Salsa fabuloso!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Unpretentious and authentic Mexican restaurant in a strip mall near Kaiser in N Fresno.
The wait staff was very accomodating of a solo diner, and the meal lived up to the reviews!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you want the best Mexican food you have ever eaten then you just have to go to Sal's in Fresno, or the original Sal's in Selma California. Ask ten people on the street in Fresno where is the best place to eat Mexican in town and nine will say Sal's. I had my first fancy burrito forty years ago in Selma and have never stop craving Karl's cooking!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Don't miss this great restaurant with several locations in the valley.
Awesome service and food. Portions are huge. Authentic mexican food and great margueritas. Great location off highway 41.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Superb Mexican restaurant in North Fresno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

For a nice Mexican lunch or dinner stop in North Fresno, this is the place. The shrimp enchiladas and the chile verde burrito are our favorites. We start with house margaritas, yum! Chips and salsa arrive at the table almost as soon as you do. Prices are low, value high, service excellent.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“My favorite in Fresno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is my very favorite Mexican restaurant in Fresno. I've lived here for 40 years and have eaten at quite a few Mexican restaurants here and around California. This is by far my favorite. I particularly enjoy the salsa which comes with chips before the meal. The selection is very good, and I have never had a bad or disappointing meal here.
I highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sal's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sal's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.