We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid and Reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Joe's Famous Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tahoe Joe's Famous Steakhouse
7006 N Cedar Ave, Fresno, CA 93720-3300
559-299-9740
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 1,011 restaurants in Fresno
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Solid and Reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Solid service and reliable food. The steak is great and the happy hour deals are worth a visit. The drinks are over priced outside of happy hour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    12
    18
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Solid Steakhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I wanted to hold off on giving this review until I had visited this restaurant a few times to be able to give a qualified assesment of the place. My first time at Tahoe Joe's, I was very underwhelmed by the food. To be fair, I got the Whiskey Peppercorn Chicken and not a slab of meat. The Chicken was horrible. It was overdone, and the Whiskey Peppercorn sauce was too salty for my taste.

However, on subsequent visits, I have gotten the Prime Rib (twice) and the Herb Roasted half Chicken (once). When I got the 1/2 roasted chicken and rib dinner, the waitress highly recommended it saying it was amongst the best she's ever had. Trust me, that dish and the chicken dish mentioned above LEFT alot to be desired. However the Prime Rib at Tahoe Joe's is great. Enjoyed getting it with the Baked Potato and all the fix-ins. The dinner rolls meh.

Another great thing about Tahoe Joe is their Lemonade. It is amazing, and it comes in a large jar. Please do yourself a favor and order it (Or an Arnold Palmer if you don't like it too sweet). Also do yourself a favor, stick to the Meats (and Clam Chowder as your soup) at this restaurant. The chicken dinners were not great, but this is why Tahoe Joe's is a steakhouse and NOT a Diner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great steaks, chops and seafood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Both locations have really fun dining rooms with mountain motif decorations. Huge portions. Best Rib Eye and Pork Chops I have ever eaten.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Really like TJ's and eat there often, their family dinners are a real bargain and they dont skimp on the portions.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
“Excellent Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I really enjoy the steak and baked potato. I also love their salad with croutons. The service and atmosphere are excellent. It is my favorite restaurant when I have a date night with my wife.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Joe's Famous Steakhouse also viewed

Been to Tahoe Joe's Famous Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Joe's Famous Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.