We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Corona

Casa Corona
1724 W Bullard Ave, Fresno, CA 93711-2328
559-435-5152
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #300 of 1,014 Restaurants in Fresno
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
CALIFORNIA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

good margaritas, appetizers were good. sampler plate and quesadillas (chicken) were enjoyed. the HH prices are very reasonable. service was ok. have had better at other Mexican places in Fresno. server was busy, but very friendly and helpful. chips and salsa are good but are on the skimpy side compared to TOLEDOS or Plaza Ventana. Will visit again thought for sure.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

For the first time in a long long time I had mexican food at a Fresno restaurant that was not Taco Bell grade food. In other words the food at Casa de Corona is great. They actually use spices in their sauces. They don't use the same bland sauce on everything. Each dish has it's own sauce and it's own flavors. Great flavors!!!
Not only does the food taste great you also get large portions making it a great value for the money.
Service was a little spoty but it is a new restaurant. Had to ask for chips and salsa.
Will be going back soon and often.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sorry to say owners are retiring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Our favorite Mexican Restaurant owners have retired and closed El Toro Tambien. New Owners and new name. I can't speak for the new place because I haven't eaten there yet. Adios El Toro Tambien.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really Low Budget Mexican Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The food here is one notch above a TV dinner. And that is stretching it! It is NOT authentic at all. I would never go back, even if it was free.

  • Visited July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Again, Tambien”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We have been to El Toro Tambien many times. For some of the best Mexican food in Fresno, any occasion. We also bring our visitors to Fresno to ETT, never been disappointed.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Corona also viewed

 

Been to Casa Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Corona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.