We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yard House

Yard House
90 El Camino, Fresno, CA 93720
559-261-2165
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 927 Restaurants in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Yard House is an upscale-casual eatery known for great food, classic rock music and 130 taps of imported, craft and specialty ales & lagers. Whether you’re in the mood for a grilled burger and a pint of your favorite ale, or seared ahi and a chilled martini, Yard House has something for everyone. Yard House is the perfect place to unwind and take a break - meet old friends for happy hour, or make new ones, celebrate a special occasion, or gather your family for dinner.
Clovis, California, United States
1 review
“Mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Haibut was so firm, I had to use a steak knife. Worst I've ever had. Service was chaotic. Atmosphere was nice but I wont waste my time or money again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hi Nancy H - Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We're very sorry to hear that your Halibut was the worst you've ever had. Please contact us at yhguest@yardhouse.com so that we can learn more about your overall experience and hopefully turn things around. Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Travelguybh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't order the halibut, thier lost. There is a problem here.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Service is slow and drinks came late. Don't order any fish.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Hi Travelguybh - We're sorry to hear about your experience with the daily fish. Would you please contact us at yhguest@yardhouse.com so we can learn more about your visit? Thank you and we hope to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Love, Love, Love it! However, like any new restaurant in Fresno, they're trying reeaallly hard :o) but I do not mind. The food = excellent (not oober cheap), the beer = Love *have no words*, the atmosphere = local watering hole with good music, dim lighting and tv screens. Sports Cafe WATCH OUT!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't Drink? DON'T GO!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Walked in to a crowded lobby. There were two of us and we were taken to a table to be seated immediatly. (LOTS of people were waiting too!) The hostess seemed very immature and could care less that the table she took us to WAS DIRTY with food spreckled across it. I did not even want to sit down, the hostess did not even notice. After I said something (outloud) she FLICKED the pieces of food off the table in front of us!! UNBELIEVABLE!!

It smelled REALLY bad like beer. I know it serves beer, but should the place smell that bad? We sat, and then stood, and then walked out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hi kpmdjm32 - Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We regret to hear that your visit was ruined from the beginning and would like to opportunity to hopefully turn things around. Would you please contact us at yhguest@yardhouse.com to tell us more about your visit? Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Vernon IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful menu and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

though the interior is a bit dark for our 50+ eyes, the place overall was excellent. The beer menu is endless, with many microbrewery selections and 2 options for "sampler platters". We had lunch 2 of the 4 days we were in Fresno, there and enjoyed every thing we ordered. I recommend the chopped salad, pork belly tacos and the sushi mi tuna appetizer. Would definitely make this my go-to place if I lived in that area. Service was excellent, as well.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yard House also viewed

 

Been to Yard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yard House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.