We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koi Fish and beautiful flowers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shinzen Japanese Garden

Shinzen Japanese Garden
114 West Audubon Drive, Fresno, CA 93720
(559) 840-1264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 38 things to do in Fresno
Attraction details
Fresno, Ca
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Koi Fish and beautiful flowers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I love this place. I have been here for weddings, and I took my Mother out there one Christmas Day. She got a kick out of feeding the Koi fish.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank dbrgdmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Madera, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Tucked in the corner of Woodward Park is this gem. Springtime is spectacular when the trees are blooming. There is a family of Peacocks that live here and they are really a kick.

Helpful?
2 Thank LesJ831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We went in July, so maybe it's just that there was nothing in bloom, & nothing really unusual in the landscaping. It was peaceful & there were a lot of ducks (too many really). We also saw a couple of peacocks. It looked like Woodward Park would be a nice place to spend the day with your family, but I would definitely not make a special trip just to see the garden. There is a $5.00 parking fee to get into the park itself (free if you're a senior) and a charge to get into the park. It's not a lot, but still I wouldn't pay just to go to the garden.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank goldenruler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Beautiful, we got to see tons of baby geese. All the kids there were excited about getting to see the big fish, geese, peacocks, and one turtle. Not a huge garden, but a fun way to spend a couple hours. Next time we will definitely bring a frisbee.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AshleyErinGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worth a vist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

well worth a visit. Beautifully landscaped, full of lovely Asian plants.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinzen Japanese Garden also viewed

 

Been to Shinzen Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing