We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dodgy area and poor cleanliness” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Fresno

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Fresno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn Fresno
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6730 North Blackstone, Fresno, CA 93710   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #55 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dodgy area and poor cleanliness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

When we arrived here on our West Coast USA trip we immediately noticed the number of taxi's ferrying "clients" in and out of the rooms. This was not a good start but when we got to the room and opened the door a 98f wave of really bad smells hit us & nearly knocked us out. The room was not clean & my wife refused to get under the bed linen. the TV was old & didn't work properly and the air conditioning was a joke. It took 3 hours to get from 98f to 90f on the thermostat, which made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. Will NOT be making a return visit here.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    7
    10
    8
See reviews for
11
8
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Six of us arrived early evening following a 9 hour drive - the 2 rooms we'd booked stank to high heaven. It had been a very hot day and management had not seen fit to turn the air-conditioning on. It was the following morning before the temperature was something resembling an acceptable level.

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My mom and i were between homes and needed a hotel to stay at for the week until our new home was ready. We stayed at the Rodeway Inn on Blackstone Ave, and from the second we walked in the door there were tiny little bugs coming out from everywhere, even the clock and phone. We didnt know what they were at first and it was late so we decided to just watch some tv & fall asleep. Within an hour, there were giant bugs coming from the matress and climbing on the wall. Of the thousands of bugs, i managed to catch a few with a ziplock bag and then i put them into a little container i had with me. Then we went to the office and the guy did give us a better room since we didnt want to leave beacause it was so late. The next morning my mom and me had bites all over us. I googled bed bugs and sure enough, thats what the bugs were. DONT stay at this motel, unless you love it when your skin crawls and you love being bitten by diseased bigs that lay their eggs into your luggage and you end up having your own home infested. Worst motel ever, its absolutely disgusting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Can't say enough positive things about the management. Hotel just received some new shower builtins and they were a nice feature. The hotel is trying to spruce up the rooms by including new air conditioning units that are a little tricky. Sometimes the cleaning ladies turn off the new conditioning units and the wall temperature meter doesn't work. Solution: plug in the air conditioner and the temperature unit works again. I will say that the rooms needed new paint jobs as there was debris on the walls of both rooms that I stayed in. A little paint in the right spot would make each room seem brighter and cleaner. Hookers patrolled the street in front of this hotel. They would walk up and down the boulevard waiting for men to come by in their cars and pick them up. However, the hotel is guarded on all sides by an iron gate that does not let in a lot of riff-raff. Try and get a room inside the courtyard as many trucks pass by at night and rumble past just off the property. The closer you are to the freeway the worse the sound becomes. Price of the hotel is definitely a value.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the 99 highway or you will not get any sleep at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

I stayed 2 weeks in Oct and 2 weeks in Dec. What a great rate, used AARP. The Manager Ms.D and staff were very sharp and friendly, they are a Great crew, they were always smiling. Room was spotless when I arrived and they serviced my room daily. There was pleanty of water pressure and hot water and they provide the shampoo. Wifi worked every day, some better than others-but hey it's wifi not broadband. I didn't try the breakfasts but I got a USA Today everyday for free. I didn't see any homless people and security was great, cameras all over the property. Close to RiverPark shopping center and food services. Try Popolos Pizza across the street, they're great. They do have rooms with and without microwaves, coffee makers and fridges. Oh and they have a laundry room, bring your quarters.
The most fun was watching Steve Joyce on Undercover Boss while I was staying at one of his properties. That was a kick.
And a note to the property-Thanks everyone for the great service!e

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

First the positive. This establishment seems to have paid some attention to complaints about poor customer service. My friend and I checked in with a nice young man who was friendly and very accommodating. He also tried very hard to connect my laptop with the wireless connection to no avail.
We were told we would be given a 'handicap' room which I learned was just another description for a bigger bathroom with a lot of bars on the walls.
The room was very small especially for 2 people and even more so when those 2 people are women with a lot of stuff!
The tiny desk could only function as a luggage older because even if there were 2 of the folding style holders, there wouldn't be enough room for 2 suitcases. The single chair also became a storage area.
There was no hairdryer
No microwave
No fridge
No coffeemaker
The wireless connection didn't work the first night and was very slow and unpredictable when it did come up. If you need a good connection you probably won't get one here.
On both nights we had to ask for extra towels. The towel rack was only half full on the second night and inadequately stocked the first night.
The hotel is located in a very noisy area. Please keep this in mind. It shares the parking lot with a couple of fast food places that stay open late as well as some other businesses. It is flanked by a very busy city street.
On Friday night in particular the hotel was very noisy on the inside and outside with a lot of yelling, talking loudly and door slamming. Especially after the bars closed. Some of this was in the hotel lot, some coming from the fast food joints.
I have stayed at other hotels with much better amenities for the same price. If you are not a light sleeper and just need a pillow to put your head on, this is for you.
If you are looking to feel rested when you have to get up early and face a long day - you should reconsider.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed the nite of Oct 24, when we found no fridge or coffee maker, returned to
office to be told that would be another 10 dollars!!, which we paid and moved to another
room...noapolgy for inconveniece. The breakfast is the most basic we have ever seen.
Upon check out, no have a good day, thank you for staying with us...just sign here.
The front desk clerk needs to find what Customer Service is all about...how
about a smile!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



o

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Fresno

Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Fresno Hotel
Rodeway Inn Fresno Hotel Fresno
Fresno Rodeway Inn
Address: 6730 North Blackstone, Fresno, CA 93710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Fresno 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Fresno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.