We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Fresno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Fresno to your Saves list
Motel 6 Fresno
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5021 North Barcus Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not that bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was a bit concerned as reviews were bad then all off a sudden tons is good ones even mentioning staff names. Seemed fake. $54 with no charge upgrade to lower king room w/ fridge microwave. Shower needs a good cleaning drapery rod broken in middle so curtains sagged. No extra charge for dog which was nice. Other hotel wanted $100 deposit. Duct tape on floor between carpet and bathroom floor tile was really ghetto. Quiet location easy to get too great location food and gas nearby. All in all I'd stay again as all I need was a bed for the night while driving to socal.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    9
    12
    8
See reviews for
19
17
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The room was most definitely not worth the $70 I spent for the night. Granted, I did not expect 5-star accommodations but there were a number of blatant issues: 1) the shared headboard was detached from the wall and part of it was hanging down, 2) both sets of lights above the beds did not work, 3) there were large bulges/bumps which could be felt underneath the carpet, and 4) the bed pillows were very small, almost like they were meant to be throw-pillows.
I chose this motel based on posted pictures and reviews but I found that the photos are not accurate representations of the rooms, at least not the one we were assigned. I did not report these issues to the staff since we were only staying one night and were leaving early in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed for a trip to Yosemite and Kings Canyon.

-ve
Our room needed serious maintenance - AC temp knob was missing, door hinge was loose making it difficult to open/close the door, shower head pores were clogged leading to a very poor shower experience, the bedsheet had many stains and both bedside lamps were unplugged. Worse of all the CO alarm battery went bad at around 2AM and the alarm started squeaking erratically, we had to get a replacement battery to quieten it.

Room condition was below avg - stained carpets, stained sink, a tiny bathroom, curved screen TV and a bed where one person turning slightly would cause the entire bed to shake.

The motel has a pool but its small, just for kids to play, not for swimming.

+ve
Front desk folks were prompt and courteous. Our request for a quiet room was honored. Front desk person was promptly able to get a 9V battery to quiet the CO alarm at 3AM.
Wifi was secure and worked ok.
McDonald, Subway and a few other eating places are very close by.

Overall it beats me how this place gets 4stars on TripAdvisor. If you have to stay in the area try the next door Ramada. For ~$20 more you get a better room with a decent bed, a bigger bath, larger flat screen TV, included breakfast and free popcorn all day.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We choose to stay here as a midpoint from Yosemite to San Francisco, and because it was near an underground garden in Fresno that we planned to visit. Note how most recent reviews for this hotel are the only reviews for those users. Any guesses as to why that is? My guess is because the hotel staff is writing them using fake accounts. Digging a little deeper, users with multiple reviews tend to rate this place poorly. I wish I would have caught that before staying here, but it was cheap and that is the only positive I can point out in this review. A couple of things of note.

- We booked a non smoking room, and it had an ash tray. Hmmmm? Since the room smelled like a chemical factory, I concluded that it was probably sprayed down and made a non smoking room for our stay.

- Sheets had a stain on them. It was easy to spot too and should have been easily caught.

- Discovered that there were no towels in the morning. Called and asked for some towels and told we had to walk to the office to get them. Considering where our room was located, this was a haul around the detached hotel, down some stairs and across the parking lot. I don't mind walking, but I expect clean towels to be in the hotel room I paid for, especially when only staying for one night.

- Many folks staying at this hotel seemed down on their luck. Hung around at night with the doors open. Make of that what you will.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've been traveling now for the last 8 years for work and I stayed in a lot of hotels in 15 different states and motel 6 has one of the best staff members I've ever dealt with in where is very long time. Especially staff members Joseph & Kenneth. The both had showed me the best customer service. They where always helpful and where there every time I needed them. They truly showed the true meaning of customer service. if I ever come back to Fresno California I would definitely come here just up just to see those two guys again.. yep the only thing I recommend for this hotel is if they do a breakfast all other Motel 6 is I stay in and other hotels around here have breakfast so I do recommend they do a breakfast other than that great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila G, Manager at Motel 6 Fresno, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for the positive review. It was a pleasure reading how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our #1 priority here at Motel 6 to provide all of our guests with the best customer service. Your positive comments will be shared with the staff. Thanks again for the positive review and we hope to see you in the near future.

Thanks again for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The front desk was great free coffee wifi and smiles,from management to maitnace .....I know the next time I'm in Fresno and need a good room I'm stopping here to motel 6 on shaw & 99!the room I was in was remodeled a really really nice

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila G, Manager at Motel 6 Fresno, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for the positive review. It was a pleasure reading how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our #1 priority here at Motel 6 to provide a safe, quiet, clean, and affordable place for our guest to stay at during their lodging needs.

Thank you again for your comment, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I love the customer service that Joseph gives me every time I come and get a room. The rooms always clean. It is in a great location and near eating places. The rooms are nice a big. I always get good sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila G, Manager at Motel 6 Fresno, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for you great comments. We greatly appreciate you positive review. We are glad you are able to get sleep and enjoy your stay with us here at the motel 6. It is a top priority of ours to make sure all guests receive the best customer service. Your positive comments will be shared with the staff.


Thanks again for the positive review hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Motel 6 Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Fresno

Address: 5021 North Barcus Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Fresno 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms with refrigerators & microwaves, outdoor pool. Courteous and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Motel-6, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave And Hwy 99 Hotel Fresno
Fresno Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Fresno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.