We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99 to your Saves list
Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5021 North Barcus Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We choose to stay here as a midpoint from Yosemite to San Francisco, and because it was near an underground garden in Fresno that we planned to visit. Note how most recent reviews for this hotel are the only reviews for those users. Any guesses as to why that is? My guess is because the hotel staff is writing them using fake accounts. Digging a little deeper, users with multiple reviews tend to rate this place poorly. I wish I would have caught that before staying here, but it was cheap and that is the only positive I can point out in this review. A couple of things of note.

- We booked a non smoking room, and it had an ash tray. Hmmmm? Since the room smelled like a chemical factory, I concluded that it was probably sprayed down and made a non smoking room for our stay.

- Sheets had a stain on them. It was easy to spot too and should have been easily caught.

- Discovered that there were no towels in the morning. Called and asked for some towels and told we had to walk to the office to get them. Considering where our room was located, this was a haul around the detached hotel, down some stairs and across the parking lot. I don't mind walking, but I expect clean towels to be in the hotel room I paid for, especially when only staying for one night.

- Many folks staying at this hotel seemed down on their luck. Hung around at night with the doors open. Make of that what you will.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    22
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
14
17
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've been traveling now for the last 8 years for work and I stayed in a lot of hotels in 15 different states and motel 6 has one of the best staff members I've ever dealt with in where is very long time. Especially staff members Joseph & Kenneth. The both had showed me the best customer service. They where always helpful and where there every time I needed them. They truly showed the true meaning of customer service. if I ever come back to Fresno California I would definitely come here just up just to see those two guys again.. yep the only thing I recommend for this hotel is if they do a breakfast all other Motel 6 is I stay in and other hotels around here have breakfast so I do recommend they do a breakfast other than that great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila G, Manager at Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for the positive review. It was a pleasure reading how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our #1 priority here at Motel 6 to provide all of our guests with the best customer service. Your positive comments will be shared with the staff. Thanks again for the positive review and we hope to see you in the near future.

Thanks again for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The front desk was great free coffee wifi and smiles,from management to maitnace .....I know the next time I'm in Fresno and need a good room I'm stopping here to motel 6 on shaw & 99!the room I was in was remodeled a really really nice

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila G, Manager at Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for the positive review. It was a pleasure reading how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our #1 priority here at Motel 6 to provide a safe, quiet, clean, and affordable place for our guest to stay at during their lodging needs.

Thank you again for your comment, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I love the customer service that Joseph gives me every time I come and get a room. The rooms always clean. It is in a great location and near eating places. The rooms are nice a big. I always get good sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila G, Manager at Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for you great comments. We greatly appreciate you positive review. We are glad you are able to get sleep and enjoy your stay with us here at the motel 6. It is a top priority of ours to make sure all guests receive the best customer service. Your positive comments will be shared with the staff.


Thanks again for the positive review hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This motel 6 needs to me recommended to all. When I checked in the rooms were great, but the service was even greater Joseph was nothing but excellent he helped in every way from luggage carrying to responding to requests in a matter if minutes thanks Joseph we will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila G, General Manager at Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
The staff and I really appreciate your comments about the rooms, location, and staff. The staff here at the Motel 6 make it a priority to make sure our guests leave happy. It was a pleasure having you stay here with us at the Motel 6 we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again for your positive comments. We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

My stay was absolutely perfect. I was welcomed by Joseph when I showed up to check in. I booked a standard king which was facing the freeway and he notified me that he can upgrade me for free so I wouldn't have to walk so far. He was very polite and also assisted me very well with connecting to the WIFI.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila G, General Manager at Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. The staff and I really enjoy hearing you enjoyed your stay. Here at the Motel 6 we strive on making sure our guests enjoy their stay. We really appreciate your positive comments.

Thanks again for the positive review. We really hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed at motel 6 on Saturday 25th nice clean accommodations, close to freeway which I like, and the front desk person his name was Joseph, I very professional and courteous, i recommend this motel 6. Thanks norm w.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila G, General Manager at Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your positive review.

The staff and I really appreciate your comments about the rooms, location, and staff friendliness. The staff here at the Motel 6 make it a priority to make sure each and every guest have a great stay. It was a pleasure having you stay here with us at the Motel 6 we are glad you enjoyed yourself and our staff.

Thank you again for your positive comments. We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99

Address: 5021 North Barcus Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms with refrigerators & microwaves, outdoor pool. Courteous and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave And Hwy 99 Hotel Fresno
Fresno Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Fresno Shaw Ave and Hwy 99, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.