We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pismo's Coastal Grill

Pismo's Coastal Grill
7937 N Blackstone Ave, Fresno, CA 93720-4310
559-439-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,014 Restaurants in Fresno
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Blackstone & Nees
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good all round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Fun place with bustling seafood shack ambiance and décor. Nice wine list, good service and very well prepared food which all tasted good. Would definitely go back when I am in town again to sample more of the varied and interesting menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    62
    18
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"The Most Unsatisfying Meal I've had In A Long Time"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I don't understand all the above-average reviews because Pismo's is not an above-average restaurant. Okay-- I have to remind myself this ain't San Francisco-- Fresno-Clovis restaurant patrons aren't the most sophisticated. My sister and I ate at the restaurant tonight and I can't see ever going back unless and wasting my money on boring food unless someone else drags me to this place on their dime. We both ordered the same meal: started with the red clam chowder and had the crab cakes with sautéed spinach and au gratin potatoes, and added a side of the polenta. Both our meals had to be sent back because it was clear that the three, scallop size crab cakes were not fully cooked. My sister chomped into a couple of pieces of shell with her second crab cake order. The food at Pismo's is nothing to crow about (I decided to come here after reading the "rave" reviews on a couple of sites). Even though the Pismo's is locally owned, the fare tasted like mass produced chain-restaurant food-- very bland and unmemorable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Have the Nut Encrusted Halibut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had the nut encrusted halibut and the scalloped potatoes--out of this world--delightful. Our server, Rusty, was hands down the best server...friendly and helpful. If you get a chance to ask for him--do so, you won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Good food & space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My family met for dinner at this restaurant on the advice of a friend. We'd made a reservation and were glad we had when so many people had to wait for a table. The restaurant is located in a shopping plaza so there is plenty of parking space for diners. We were seated in a booth that was made for up to six persons. I mention this in the review because there was actually ample space for our group in this booth. In too many restaurants seating is maximized for the benefit of the proprietor and not the comfort of the diners. The service we received throughout the meal was prompt and friendly.

The dinners we ordered were everything from fish and chips to sea bass and swordfish. One guest had a beef course but regardless, all entres were excellently prepared and delicious. The portions were of a reasonable size - not too much extra and enough to satisfy everyone's hunger. I had the swordfish and it was prepared perfectly for me. My wife had salmon and she was equally pleased with her dinner.

The only negative came from my wife who didn't like the ice tea, which she said was made from a mix and not from fresh-brewed tea.

This is an excellent restaurant for people interested in a seafood dinner and who aren't prepared to drive the 150 miles from Fresno to the Pacific Ocean for a meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Seafood, Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fantastic seafood and great salads as well. Service was very efficient and attentive. The booths are very small and uncomfortable however, but we did enjoy our evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pismo's Coastal Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pismo's Coastal Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pismo's Coastal Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.