We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you a seafood lover?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pismo's Coastal Grill

Pismo's Coastal Grill
7937 N Blackstone Ave, Fresno, CA 93720-4310
559-439-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,012 Restaurants in Fresno
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Blackstone & Nees
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Are you a seafood lover?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurant in Fresno, CA. The food is fantastic and fresh and the menu options change depending on the season. I love the mixed Louie salad, the crab cocktail and the shrimp kabob to name a few. Plenty of choices to satisfy your eating style. I love the tuna steak and the many different side choices. The heirloom tomato with pesto is amazing and only available in the summer. Desserts are well presented and a bit above average. I tend to eat so much between appetizers and entree that I have no room left for dessert. The pineapple upside down caramel cake is high on my list. I'm not a big bread fanatic but their garlic-herbed buttered sourdough is outstanding. The atmosphere is great and the place could be very busy so plan ahead.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    55
    12
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
1 review
“awful awful awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

we were excited to try pismo's/ entered the place and atmosphere was great. very busy but seated quickly. we ordered the scallops and crab cakes - and were shocked to see for $24 you get two scallops and two quarter sized crab cakes. no salad - no soup no bread.
side was an artichoke that was so greasy when it was lifted the plate was covered in oil/butter. so we left extremely disappointed. there are so many awsome restrauants in fresno we will defnitely never return to this place- we left hungry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent and Consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We can always count on Pismo's for very good meals and drinks. Reasonably priced for the quality of the food. It is always packed - make a reservation!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“good portion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I like the portions scallops and fish there. Prices are not high but it is very dark inside and plus the seating areas are very close to the table they can make that better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold,CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We go to this restaurant frequently as a couple, with family when the come to visit or with friends. We have never ordered an item we did not enjoy. The
bloody Mary's are delicious. The eggs Benedict are worth the extra calories. Many times we will just go for drinks and appetizers. Our favorites - Grilled Artichokes and Poke Tower.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pismo's Coastal Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pismo's Coastal Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pismo's Coastal Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.