We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business dinner for a large group!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max's Bistro & Bar

Max's Bistro & Bar
1784 W Bullard Ave, Fresno, CA 93711-2328
559-439-6900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Max's Bistro & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,012 Restaurants in Fresno
Price range: $7 - $36
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great business dinner for a large group!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a large business group (maybe 20 people) and I must say that they took care of us very well. I started with a wonderful Maker's Mark Manhattan, followed by various appetizers ordered by our host. It included Crab Wontons, Calamari, Coconut Prawns, Seared Scallops, French Quarter Shrimp, and more. I ordered a Baked Goat Cheese Salad that was delicious. For my entree I had their specialty Filet Mignon, Gourmet Four Cheese Macaroni, Truffled Compound Butter, Sautéed Spinach, Black Truffle Demi. That was good but not as good as the appetizers (but still enjoyable). For dessert had their Peach Crisp which was delicious. We also had wine with dinner and coffee at the end. Very attentive staff that was attuned to our needs as well. A VERY enjoyable dining experience that was not rushed in Fresno.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very Good Local Neighborhood Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a very nice local restaurant at which to dine. There is a nice menu selection ranging from appetizers to fish, meat, pasta main dishes and finally to nice desserts. The service we had last night was excellent, right from the advance request we made for seating through the server Kaelie who was bright, cheery, there but not intrusive. The Mrs. had a Filet which she described as "slightly undercooked, but good," noting the spinach was "over-sauted a little." I had the Halibut special with nectarine corn Quinoa which I thought was a very good dish I would order again. The deserts - mint and chip ice cream and blueberry tart - were worth saving room for as an end to a good local dinner. Note: there was a security guard posted in the parking lot keeping an eye on the cars when we dined which was comforting given the prior review regarding auto break-ins. We will likely return again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Bit of Food Heaven in Fresno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Max's Bistro is located in a strip mall and is easy to find. I have eaten there 6 times in 3 business trips to Fresno. This restaurant hits the mark in all areas.

1. Food - a great selection of California/American/Mediterranean dishes with daily specials. It is noteworthy that Fresno sits in the middle of California agriculture and everything they serve is locally sourced and therefore fresh. Preparations are perfect and the meal is just a joy. Over a 2 visit span I had a lightly grilled tuna with grated jicama, black beans and a wonderful sauce and a Whitefish burger with veggies and again a wonderful sauce. Their breads are baked by the owner in a bakery he owns and they serve a delicious spiced olive oil for dipping. Don't miss getting an appetizer - try the sweet potato fries with another great sauce!
2. Wine - the wine list is diverse enough to appeal to any taste and will match any food serving. Some great name brands - Joel Gott, Morgan; and plenty of local varieties to try.
3. Atmosphere - Beautiful setting with great ambiance. Bustling but quiet enough to have good conversations.
4. Service - Timely, welcoming and attentive. One is made to feel welcomed at Max's Bistro. On my second visit last week, I took dinner at the bar and spent some time talking wines and food with the owner. A very pleasant gentleman and just typical of why Max's Bistro is a "Must Eat There" if you are ever in Fresno.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable afternoon dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Later Friday afternoon leisurely lunch...seated right away, without reservations. Enjoyed a modestly priced bottle of wine from NSW. Bread and olive oil was delicious. I had crab cakes with homemade tartar sauce that were wonderfully prepared. DH had a crab & shrimp melt which he very much enjoyed. Atmosphere was European Bistro music was pleasant, not ear-splitting! Service was cordial, attentive and prompt. Will definitely being going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Favorite restaurant in Fresno. When asked to pick where to eat, I always pick here. The bread and strawberry salad are the best.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Max's Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max's Bistro & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.