We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2660 South 2nd St, Fresno, CA 93706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

it's nice place to stay here, quite clean and near the city. but side entrance can not be open by the door key car(that is too bad), you have to walk a circle to get to entrance. Don't choose the first floor near the swimming pool, you could see by the pool swimmers.

Room Tip: Two Queen Beds, Don't near swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Lambertlee,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We’re glad to know that you are pleased with the cleanliness of our hotel. Your concerns regarding the side entrance have been forwarded to the appropriate departments in order for necessary actions to be made. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more pleasurable, please do not hesitate to ask the manager on duty. Thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again when you return to Fresno.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
7
Solo
0
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Let's start with the good. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and the free internet and breakfast are a plus.

What kills this hotel is its hard beds and location. The mattress was very firm and uncomfortable. The hotel is not located in the nicest of areas (putting it nicely) and is on top of highway 99 making it very noisy. These two mean a poor nights sleep.

I want to stress that rating is not low because of any fault of the staff, but I was unable to sleep when staying here and therefore cannot give it a higher rating.

New mattresses and a lot of sound-proofing would jump this hotel up quite a bit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the highway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Baseball4evr101,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the beds prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were truly pleased to see your positive comments for the staff as well as the high scores for Cleanliness, Rooms, and Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I consider myself fairly tech-savvy for a geezer, but I was flummoxed by the remote control for the HVAC! Despite some cryptic instructions (it might be good to have a Rosetta Stone decrypter), the only thing I was able to do was turn off the AC. Fortunately, it was cool enough outside that we didn't need any air. But controlling the comfort of the room should not be that complicated!
Other than that, the room was nice enough. It was clean and well-maintained. It's convenient to the freeway (CA 99) and there are several fast food joints, including In-n-Out right next door, within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear bassn386,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was with us. I appreciate the favorable comments about the room accommodations and great hotel location. However, please accept my apologies for the challenges you experienced with the air conditioning unit and heating system. We appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address this issue with our the appropriate department for necessary improvements.

Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. I hope if you get back to the area, you will consider staying at our hotel again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We visited Sequoia/King's Canyon National Park and needed a place for the night.
We were 5 guys with lots of luggage. This hotel had everything we needed.
Not too far away from King's Canyon and a huge two queen bed suite with a pullout couch at a very reasonable rate.
The staff was very friendly at check-in (check-in was pretty quick). Our suite was huge with lots of space for us and our stuff. It was equipped with two flat screen tvs, fridge and microwave. Everything was clean. The a/c was not too loud, but this unit was not able to cool down the whole suite - they should add a second unit to this suite.
The wifi was very fast and reliable. Breakfast was ok (standard HI express).
There are a couple fast food joints in walking distance (you can't go wrong with In-and-Out Burger if you want tasty fast food).
Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here last week for a family reunion. I did not expect much however upon checking in and seeing the property I was very surprised how nice it was. The rooms were very nice and modern with granite bathrooms with amenities my wife liked. When traveling to Fresno we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel was in a bad area with panhandlers all around. The bed was horrible. Felt like a hill in the middle and uncomfortable. Called for a replacement alarm clock on Monday night and Friday morning check out I still hadnt gotten one even though I asked every day. Saw morning shift desk clerk giving what appeared to be her boyfriend free food and coffee every morning. Just a bad stay and I will make sure my company never stays there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardeep M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you choosing our location for your stay in Fresno. We also thank you for your time to provide feedback and review of your stay. We are extremely sorry to hear about your experience. We do take service and professionalism of our staff very seriously here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We will definitely use your feedback to further improve our service. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for several days for business in August. The hotel was very nice, friendly and accomodating staff, nice rooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, and a nice pool away from the freeway. Unfortunately, there were no restaurants within walking distance unless you want fast food (KFC, In-n-Out, McDonald's) and the traffic during the lunch rush was absurd. It took almost 20 minutes to get from the hotel to the freeway which is less than 1/4 mile away. Most restaurants to drive to are more than 10 minutes by car and if you take city streets you have to drive through a very poor area of town where hundreds of homless are located. I felt unsafe if I left the immediate hotel area. Luckily the hotel is located right off of the freeway which is convienant if you are just traveling through and the breakfast is more than adequate. The meeting space is also very small and when the air conditioner in the meeting room is on, it is very loud and difficult to communicate.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from the freeway are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear FrankKiv,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and facilities of the hotel. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to our location. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South

Address: 2660 South 2nd St, Fresno, CA 93706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Fresno-Jensen Ave.The hotel is conveniently located off HWY-99 just minutes away from Fresno Airport, the Fresno City Center, and the Convention Center. We are in the heart of the central valley close to Selma, Sanger, Hanford, and Tulare. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business: high-speed Internet, a specialized work area in your room and a complimentary business center. And you re just minutes away from world class shopping, dining, entertainment and all the adventures that Fresno has to offer. No matter what brings you to the Fresno area, your room at our hotel is your personal retreat. We offer comfort with luxury bedding, plush towels, modern decor and 32 flat screen HDTV with plenty of premium cable, sports and movie channels. Stay fit at our complimentary fitness center or enjoy the California sun at our outdoor pool.Enjoy our hot, complimentary breakfast with possibly world s most delicious cinnamon rolls! Businesses and organizations near the hotel include California State University, Pepsi, Foster Farms, and Pelco. Nearby attractions include Fresno Sports Complex, Save Mart Center, Tachi Palace Casino and Kings Canyon National Park and many more!! Our friendly staff welcomes you to experience the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fresno South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.