We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, horrible location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com IHG
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2660 South 2nd St, Fresno, CA 93706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #27 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel, horrible location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for several days for business in August. The hotel was very nice, friendly and accomodating staff, nice rooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, and a nice pool away from the freeway. Unfortunately, there were no restaurants within walking distance unless you want fast food (KFC, In-n-Out, McDonald's) and the traffic during the lunch rush was absurd. It took almost 20 minutes to get from the hotel to the freeway which is less than 1/4 mile away. Most restaurants to drive to are more than 10 minutes by car and if you take city streets you have to drive through a very poor area of town where hundreds of homless are located. I felt unsafe if I left the immediate hotel area. Luckily the hotel is located right off of the freeway which is convienant if you are just traveling through and the breakfast is more than adequate. The meeting space is also very small and when the air conditioner in the meeting room is on, it is very loud and difficult to communicate.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from the freeway are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear FrankKiv,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and facilities of the hotel. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to our location. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

After getting lost in the Sequoia National Park and no hotel room available within 20 mile radius it was a sigh of relief that this place had a room available. Friendly front desk staff checked us in at midnight room on 4th floor with clean double beds. Can hear traffic noise in the morning since it's near the highway. It's average standards but I have no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear canyanyday,

We want to thank you for choosing our hotel and for leaving a feedback.

It was real pleasure to learn that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. Your opinion, as every single guest, is very important to us and serves us as an advise, reward and motivation for the future. We would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your comments which allow us to confirm that our efforts for the well-being of our guests have been met.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us. It is only with both positive and negative feedback that we can strive to improve our service to our guests and I do hope that you give us again the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on South 2nd Street in Fresno, CA. Although the staff was very friendly and helpful, they could not make up for the location, the hard uncomfortable beds & sadly lacking breakfast. The rooms are badly insulated so you heard every sound from other rooms making it hard to sleep, as if the hard beds weren't bad enough.They did allow us to check in early & check out early which we appreciated . We decided we couldn't stand another night there. We would not go back.

Room Tip: Don't stay there if you want a comfortable night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Takealeap,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We're sorry for the issues you had with your room accommodations and our breakfast selections fell below your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Good place for business travelers. Right on Hwy 99. Called ahead to get a quiet side room. Confirmed low floor choice, but the agent said wasn't sure, she would talk with the manager. Upon check in, first floor on the quiet side. Nice property, travelling on business, but did notice families having breakfast. Recommend using for passing through as, but not for a long term stay. Upgrading the TV service, so my room had less than 1/2 the channels working. Which staff wasn't aware of.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Could not sleep the whole night. Even with earplugs. Clean. Not in a good neighborhood. Friendly staff. The noise from the highway was terrible. You can't control the speed of the air conditioning and is set to the highest level. It sounds like an airplane. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear PT6,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We pride ourselves in making sure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay and it is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this expectation. I am sincerely sorry that your guest experience was less than satisfactory due to the noise challenges you encountered. We have shared your comments with our managers so that we can improve our handling of this type of situation in the future.

Once again, we apologize for your stay and we hope that you will give us another try on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were looking for a downtown hotel so we would have easy access to a bicycle event which started at the downtown ballpark. We needed two nights and Hotwire showed very reasonable rates for downtown hotels so we took a chance. Wrong. This hotel was two miles plus from downtown but it was within the extreme limits of hotwire's downtown area map. Anyway, the rate was very good and the hotel was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was friendly. Very near several fast food places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Nice hotel, clean updated rooms, staff was very friendly, good (free) breakfast. Microwave and fridge in the room, perfect for travelling with family. Easy access, plenty of food options nearby. Will come back when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fresno South
Address: 2660 South 2nd St, Fresno, CA 93706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Fresno-Jensen Ave.The hotel is conveniently located off HWY-99 just minutes away from Fresno Airport, the Fresno City Center, and the Convention Center. We are in the heart of the central valley close to Selma, Sanger, Hanford, and Tulare. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business: high-speed Internet, a specialized work area in your room and a complimentary business center. And you re just minutes away from world class shopping, dining, entertainment and all the adventures that Fresno has to offer. No matter what brings you to the Fresno area, your room at our hotel is your personal retreat. We offer comfort with luxury bedding, plush towels, modern decor and 32 flat screen HDTV with plenty of premium cable, sports and movie channels. Stay fit at our complimentary fitness center or enjoy the California sun at our outdoor pool.Enjoy our hot, complimentary breakfast with possibly world s most delicious cinnamon rolls! Businesses and organizations near the hotel include California State University, Pepsi, Foster Farms, and Pelco. Nearby attractions include Fresno Sports Complex, Save Mart Center, Tachi Palace Casino and Kings Canyon National Park and many more!! Our friendly staff welcomes you to experience the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.