We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandwiched between the freeway and the train tracks!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7191 W. Kathryn Ave, Fresno, CA 93722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
2 reviews
“Sandwiched between the freeway and the train tracks!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Awful. A block of rooms was reserved for the wedding we were attending in the area. Upon check-in, my parents room had just been painted and the paint had not dried, in addition to masking tape everywhere in the room. They were moved to a handicap room and could not hang their clothes anywhere. When we checked in, we were placed on a different floor away from the rest of the wedding guests. On the day of the wedding, we asked for the shuttle to take the group of us to the site and were told that while the shuttle was meant to transport guests, they had no driver. Yet as we were standing there waiting for a taxi, the shuttle pulled up with a driver and people. The pool was taped off, as well. Now to the best part, this hotel is LOUD. Do not stay here if you cannot endure being woke by the train blaring by every 15 minutes during the night.....the tracks are across the street! On the other side of the building is the freeway. Beyond all that, the room and breakfast was nice but you would do best finding someplace else to stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YuriBarajas, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear Christie Y,

I apologize for the inconvenience you and your family members experienced during your recent stay with us. I appreciate your time, I will take your comments as feed back and communicate it to all the staff members to avoid similar situations in the future.
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest Herndon property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
6
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My family of 4 (2 A, 2K - 11, 13) stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The first night we arrived around 9pm after a long day at Universal Hollywood and traveling. When we checked in, we received a 10% off coupon for Yukon Jacks right across the street. That's where we headed and had a wonderful, late dinner. After dinner (around 10:15pm), upon entering our room we walked into a sweltering hot room as the a/c was not turned on. Needless to say that an hour later when we plopped into bed, it was still very warm in the room.

The room was nice and large, king bed, pull out sofa, sitting chair, desk, desk chair, kitchenette area with sink, small fridge (no freezer), and micro. Disappointed that they did not have rollaways at all. The fan on the a/c unit only has one setting of high. So, it was very noisy in the room. So it's either loud traffic noise or loud fan.

The bathroom was a nice size and had built in cubbies in the wall for accessories which was nice. The bathroom door is a heavy door that closes automatically and there is no fan in the bathroom. We had to prop the door open with a shoe so that the bathroom would get air to it. I even put a tissue near the vent on the bathroom ceiling to see if that was working and it just fell.

The bathroom only had three towels even though I put the four of us on the reservation. I went to the front desk for an additional towel and an extra blanket since my son decided to sleep in the chair. I received a towel, but the only blanket they could offer is the one that they put on top of the bed near the end. I then asked for a flat sheet.

The morning breakfast was yummy with eggs, sausage, gravy, biscuits, bagels, yogurt, cereal, pancakes in a minute flat and beverages.

After breakfast we headed out for a long day of ziplining and exploring Yosemite. We again didn't arrive back to the hotel until around 9pm. Upon entering our room, it was again very hot and stuffy as the a/c got turned way up. Also, again there were only three towels in the room and the extra sheet was gone. I headed to the front desk where I was told they were out of towels and handed me two pool towels that I told were just the same. I looked at the young gentleman and said that the pool towels are not even close to bath towels. He replied, "That's why I gave you two." uuuugggghhhhhh!

Additional: Didn't use the pool, but is on the small side. The internet was good, but slow at times especially when pulling up maps. No in room safe. We arrived to the hotel late both nights, but they have an evening reception. Lots of shopping down the street.

Nice stop on way to explore, but wouldn't stay for any length of time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YuriBarajas, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
LoveVacations,

We appreciate your feed back regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience during your last visit. We hope to have you back during your future visits to Fresno/Yosemite area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We arrived at this property without a reservation after a dismal experience at a motel in Sequoia NP. Needless to say, we were tired, dusty, and in need of extreme comfort. We were not disappointed! Although without a reservation, Yuri at the Front Desk went the extra mile by finding we had unknown rewards points on file and actually held a room for us while corporate did its thing to secure us a free room! The property was clean, efficient, and everything we needed - quite a contrast to our experience the prior night! Thanks to the entire property for our return to civilization!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YuriBarajas, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Fresno Northwest-Herndon. We are pleased to hear that we provided an excellent service by going the extra mile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I travel to Fresno for work and this was the first time staying in this Holiday Inn Express. The staff is very pleasant, rooms are clean, great deal with breakfast included but the noise is miserable. I tried to drown out the sound with fan but that is also loud. If it wasn't for the noise I would give it a higher rating.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YuriBarajas, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Travelgal38,

I would like to thank you for the positive feed back from your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fresno Northwest property. We value your time and hopefully next time you are in Fresno we can accommodate your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fresno Northwest property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Although when I first came in I was not acknowledged with my points or being a Platinum member. I know that is kind of shallow, but I've put my time in with Holiday Inn for a reason. With that being said, that is about the only negative thing I can say with the exception of not really quite getting my room as cool as I'm used to. (I'm from back East).
The pool was nice (hot tub didn' t work) Room was always clean and nice, staff was nice. Bed was comfy and room was spacious. This hotel is located in a very nice part of town SO close to Walmart, shopping malls and great places to eat.
Even though there were tons of baseball kids a few days. I could not tell there were kids in the hotel. Nice and quiet. Enjoyable 3 day stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed at this hotel on our way to Yosemite. It was just one night and we'd driven all day. It got the job done, but we won't stay at this property again.

The good: Very clean room. We had a 1 BR "suite." (I've never had a suite without more than one room, I'd call this a normal king room with a kitchenette.) The pool was small but adequate for everyone to cool off. Breakfast was standard for a HI Express. Staff was very courteous and professional.

The bad:
1. The room was small for a "suite." There should have been a wall/door separating the BR and the living area/kitchenette. So I think the room was mislabeled. I've stayed in standard rooms in this chain that were the same size or larger. A "suite" should have 2 rooms.
2. The road noise was terrible, it kept 3 of us up off and on. I've stayed at other hotels in this chain this close to a major highway and not had any road noise, this is a design failure for the hotel and a fatal one. I imagine it's OK on the other side of the hotel, but if your room is facing the highway you better have ear plugs or like the "calming" sound of jake braking semis.
3. Several things just didn't make sense or didn't work. For instance, the climate control was not connected to the window A/C unit... so it was kind of useless. The bathroom had no fan so it never aired out after a shower. There was a kitchenette but no table in the room to sit at, just a couch with a coffee table.

Over all, I would have been fine if I were solo for a business trip. But I expected more from this hotel and left disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a room that isn't facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YuriBarajas, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear MClanea,

I would like to thank you your recent feed back regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest.
I apologize for any inconvenience experienced during your stay. I appreciate your feedback and hope to have back in your future trips to Fresno/Yosemite area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

No reservations, but stopped to see if we, 3 adults, could stay. Yes, very good accommodations. Friendly from the front door to the dining to housekeeping to check out to grounds keeper. Well priced, $$$. Rooms were nice and cool. Beds were nice and soft, good sleep. Showers were good, hot water. All areas were very clean and kept. Breakfast was a hot meal, plenty of fruit and good. Pool was good, and in a well lit area. Good secure area also. we would stay here again and very much recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YuriBarajas, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello Darmar01,

On behalf of the staff of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fresno Northwest, I will like to thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that we met your expectations and we look forward to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon

Address: 7191 W. Kathryn Ave, Fresno, CA 93722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Fresno-Herndon Northwest.The hotel is conveniently located off HWY-99, just minutes away from Fresno Airport, the Fresno City Center, and the Convention Center. We are in the heart of the central valley close to Madera, Chowchilla, and Tulare. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business: high-speed Internet, a specialized work area in your room and a complimentary business center. And you re just minutes away from Riverpark Shopping , dining, entertainment and all the adventures that Fresno has to offer. No matter what brings you to the Fresno area, your room at our hotel is your personal retreat. We offer comfort with luxury bedding, plush towels, modern decor and 32 flat screen HDTV with plenty of premium cable, sports and movie channels. Stay fit at our complimentary fitness center or enjoy the California sun at our outdoor pool.Enjoy our hot, complimentary breakfast with possibly world s most delicious cinnamon rolls! Businesses and organizations near the hotel include California State University, Costco, Foster Farms, and Mor Furniture. Nearby attractions include Island Water Park, Table Mountain Casino and Yosemite National Park and many more!! Our friendly staff welcomes you to experience the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.