We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been a while since I've been to a HI i could rate very good/excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7191 W. Kathryn Ave, Fresno, CA 93722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #17 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Been a while since I've been to a HI i could rate very good/excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Rooms were large and nice. Bed was very comfy more then normal HI. I had no train noise issue at all. The front desk staff was very attentive and they cooked multiple batches of cookies unlike many of these hotels that cook one and done.

Fresh coffee all night also made me happy.

Only gripe is not weights in the fitness room. More and more of the HI are getting awayd from any machines cause the put their workout areas in tiny rooms. Wish they would spring for a set of powerblock dumbbells. I run out side but would love to do some weights.

Shower only room which is also a negative to me. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I had room 200 and had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
5
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night for a wedding. I will NEVER stay at this hotel. The hotel is located between Highway 99 and the train tracks. It is common to prefer a room away from the highway and they fullfilled the request. I was warned by another review that the trains would not be an issue but the trains ran throughout the night starting at 11pm. I hardly slept! I could hear the trains and feel the rumble from them passing by. I had my family so I could not request a room change. The next time we stay in Fresno I will book a place near Highway 41.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Cristina831,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that your stay was disturbed by ambient noise surrounding the hotel. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

A little out of town but very clean and right on the freeway.

Room Tip: Quick breakfast and the food was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton,NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is an excellent facility, Great helpful staff. Good location for visiting the National Parks.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed here early this month for one night due to the proximity of a wedding that I was attending. This is a newer hotel built off highway 99 just north of Fresno. Check-In here was great and as a Priority Club member I was offered a "thank you bag" filled with a few small candy bars, a bottle of water, and microwave pop-corn. My room was bright, clean, and pretty standard for a HIE. Bathroom was well appointed and very clean. The water pressure was great in the shower, almost too intense! My room ad a large flat-panel TV, mini-fridge, and microwave with plenty of storage. The iron was new and worked great, but the ironing board seemed cheap and flimsy compared to similar hotels. I had a west-facing room that looked out onto highway 99. Not the best view, but there was absolutely NO freeway noise. This was great compared to many road-side hotels I have stayed in.

The breakfast area was clean and well appointed, with a great attendant. However, the food was bland and seemed boring compared to the last HI i stayed at. It was the same fare, but was not very satisfying. However, there is a Stabucks across the parking lot and several restaurant nearby.

I used the business center to print out my boarding passes and it was great. They had a brand new HP computer with large screen and laser printer available free of charge to guests.

Check out was great, with my bill left under the door the night before. Overall, this is a great hotel.

I did not use the pool or fitness areas.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east avoid the highway view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san fran
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

nice place, new, north Fresno on the main rd to Sacramento. Nice place to stop if you are here at the end of the day. The valley from Bakersfield to Fresno is disgusting. Its almost like the top layers of Dante hell....smog filled valley devoted solely for agriculture and nothing else. It really
feels and looks weird. I feel sorry for anyone who has to live in this valley. But this hotel is
a nice diversion from this sorry landscape.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

This is a very nice, relatively new Holiday Inn Express. All of the fixtures are still nice, and my bed was more comfortable than most HIEs. Breakfast was the usual, but it was hot and well stocked. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Address: 7191 W. Kathryn Ave, Fresno, CA 93722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Fresno-Herndon Northwest.The hotel is conveniently located off HWY-99, just minutes away from Fresno Airport, the Fresno City Center, and the Convention Center. We are in the heart of the central valley close to Madera, Chowchilla, and Tulare. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business: high-speed Internet, a specialized work area in your room and a complimentary business center. And you re just minutes away from Riverpark Shopping , dining, entertainment and all the adventures that Fresno has to offer. No matter what brings you to the Fresno area, your room at our hotel is your personal retreat. We offer comfort with luxury bedding, plush towels, modern decor and 32 flat screen HDTV with plenty of premium cable, sports and movie channels. Stay fit at our complimentary fitness center or enjoy the California sun at our outdoor pool.Enjoy our hot, complimentary breakfast with possibly world s most delicious cinnamon rolls! Businesses and organizations near the hotel include California State University, Costco, Foster Farms, and Mor Furniture. Nearby attractions include Island Water Park, Table Mountain Casino and Yosemite National Park and many more!! Our friendly staff welcomes you to experience the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.