We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's in a name?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fresno Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fresno Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Fresno Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2233 Ventura Street, Fresno, CA 93721 (Formerly Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Fresno)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Business and Leisure Pkgs
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What's in a name?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly, the name has changed - it was a Radisson but now Fresno Hotel and soon to be a DoubleTree. That was terribly confusing as we took a shuttle to the Radisson which is now some blocks away from where our reservations were! Had a third party not made the reservation, we would have simply stayed at the Radisson! Everyone at both hotels was helpful, though, and understood that it is a problem, albeit temporary. The interior space is undergoing a renovation, but the bones of the place make a beautiful atrium inside. The room was pretty comfy, though trains run late and early not too far away. The hot tub is not terribly hot, but the pool is warmer than you might expect (though not as warm as the hot tub). We ate at the restaurant. The food was good as was the service; the price was not bad. The best reason to stay there is if/when you have an event at the Convention Center. It is a quick walk to the venue on that account. But the price was pretty steep, especially because of renovation noise and dust.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Please accept our apologies for the confusion upon check-in. It has been a whirlwind this year changing from Radisson to independent... and after the first of the year, we will finally accomplish our goal of becoming a part of the Hilton Family of hotels: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fresno Convention Center. We are located just across the street from the Convention Center, as you noted, with very easy access. We are putting the final touches on our renovation and look forward to welcoming you to our new hotel in early 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
5
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is in central Fresno and we were there Nov. 28 for one night. The lobby area was not the impressive entrance I had hoped to greet my family as the waterfall was turned off and half the lobby was under construction/renovation Last year it was a Radisson and this year it is under renovation to be a Double Tree with the hopeful transition done by January 1, 2015. The entire 5th floor was also being redone. Last year it was impressive. This year it was a nice place to sleep, but the ambiance was missing. The hotel is built around and encloses the lobby and open to the ceiling eight stories high and when the waterfall is operational the place had an incredible ambiance. The parking lot was bombarded with huge bird droppings overnight and every car seemed to have been hit multiple times.

No refrigerator or microwave was in our room. If you plan to have need of ice or the vending machine ask to be located close to them by the elevators. We were on the opposite corner and it was a very long walk around the perimeter just for some ice. The single sink in the bathroom was located such that if you're with family and you're using the sink someone could easily open the door and smash your toes...wear shoes as there was no lock on the bathroom door. The bathroom sink-stopper was not positioned well or conveniently for opening and closing as it was very tight up against the wall. Plenty of hot water though.

There is a very nice dining area and the lounge area should be nice again after renovations. I'd ask if everything is done and ready before going there; it was nice but under construction and therefore lacking what I had anticipated.

Room Tip: If you don't like to walk much ask to be located near the elevators. Also, that's where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate your very candid and detailed review. We do hope to have our conversion to DoubleTree occur sometime after the first of the year (2015) and we are so very excited about the upgrades and improvements to our hotel. We will be looking forward to welcoming our guests very soon with the warm DoubleTree by Hilton Cookie. Your patience while we put the final touches on our 'new' hotel is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If I paid less than $75 for the offering, I would be less disappointed. This hotel is overpriced given it's under construction - they put us in room where banging started at 7am on floor above us (on Friday morning after Thanksgiving). There's no one else in hotel right now - totally had options for where they could put us and they chose to inconvenience us by putting us directly below early morning construction work. Then maid service banged at door at 8am to clean room - no hotel ever has woken me up at 8am to clean my room (especially when the hotel is empty and their team isn't rushing to clean hundreds of rooms for a packed hours of guests). Bathroom wasn't spotless; bathtub had chipping and isn't clean around the metal bars and spouts. No microwave or fridge in room. No continental breakfast. Ice machine is far from room. Only one set of elevators for entire hotel -- plan to walk a lot if you stay in this hotel. Overall, this hotel is providing a level of service comparable or worse than budget motel, but not charging accordingly -- overpriced for what you get. Neighborhood is ghost town and sketchy at night too. It's a different scene during workweek @ daytime but at night and weekends, there is no one around except homeless and thugs. No hotel security visible at front near parking lot. Entry way to lobby smells like cigarette smoke. I would not rate this a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you're not going to be woken up at 7am with banging from construction in ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Please accept our sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your find value in your recent stay. We are finalizing our renovations in our journey to become a DoubleTree by Hilton just after the first of the year. Renovations, however, are not an excuse for anything but the best service. Our goal is not only to meet, but to exceed our guests' expectations; that we failed to do so during your visit, we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Upon checking into my room and preparing for bed I looked down and there in plain view next to my bed was a condom wrapper. I eventually shared that experience with the front desk, but they didn't seem to care. This place has allot of work to step up to the standards of a Double Tree, which they are planning to be in the near future. If you have transpiration do your self a favor and stay with a property who has some class and is free of condom wrappers.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
We hold ourselves to the highest level of standards and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. The issue you have brought to our attention is 100% unsatisfactory and we can assure you this is an isolated incident. It is our goal to provide a comfortable environment for our guests and we apologize for letting you down. This issue has been addressed with our management staff and corrective measures have been implemented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for two years in a row and have not been disappointed. We come here every November for a three day conference. The hotel staff are always accommodating and the bell men are very helpful. We be staying at this hotel every November. I would highly recomment this hotel.

Room Tip: All levels are great. There are 8 levels. We have stayed on level 3, two years ago and level 6 jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Thank you for continuing to choose Fresno Hotel and Conference Center when travelling to Fresno! We do appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Location: I opted for this hotel becuase it was walking distance to the business I was visting downtown. I'm glad I did. Downtown parking and driving was a little confusing with the one way streets. This way I could drive in, park, and never have to move my car.

Rooms: All entrances are indoor only. The rooms and bathrooms are larger than average, and clean. However, I subtracted a point because I could smell a trace of smoke in my room. I think if smoking is allwed in some rooms, the smoke is going to travel to the non-smoking rooms. The only way to prevent that is to make the hotel entirely non-smoking, which they should do.

About the hotel: It's in the process of conversion to a Double Tree and is in rennovation. Unlike other reviewers, I did not hear much noise from the rennovation during my stay there. Since it's becoming a Double Tree, they are advertising it all over the hotel with a picture of a large chocolat chip cookie that all DoubleTree guests get. Unfortunately, you don't get a cookie until the conversion is official, so you have to look at picture of cookies and not get any. The building is one square, with the rooms surrounding a giant atrium, bar and restaurant on the first floor, and visible all the way to the top floor. It is visually appealing, and I felt very safe there. The website advertises a Starbucks on the first floor, which is misleading. It's not a real Starbucks; just a counter where you can buy Starbucks coffee.

Service: The staff was very pleasant.

Gym: The gym was being rennovated while I was there. It was nice to begin with, but they were putting in a new floor.

Restaurant: Very affordable as far as hotel restaurants go, and the food quality was great. You could order a burger for dinner for around $9 or $10. You can also order Pizza Hut pizza from the bar or at the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback. We truly appreciate the comments as they help us continue to improve our services and amenities, especially as we transition to become a DoubleTree by Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I visited the United States recently on a group tour, and we visited Fresno, where we stayed at this hotel for a day. We stayed at this hotel which we found very nice and restful. We had a good stay. Staff were friendly too.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fresno Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresno Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2233 Ventura Street, Fresno, CA 93721 (Formerly Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Fresno)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fresno Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Fresno hotel located adjacent to the Fresno Convention & Entertainment Center with easy access to Highways 41 and 99. The Fresno Hotel and Conference Center is minutes from Fresno Yosemite International Airport, shopping areas, California State University Fresno and the Save Mart Center. Guest Services include: Free parking, airport shuttle and wifi as well as our unique atrium restaurant and lounge, a Pizza Hut outlet and the all new Java Stop - proudly serving Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fresno Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Conference Center Fresno
Radisson Hotel Fresno
Radisson Fresno
Fresno Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.