We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Hotel and Rude Front Lobby Employees” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fresno Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Fresno Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fresno Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2233 Ventura Street, Fresno, CA 93721 (Formerly Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Fresno)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Yosemite Package
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Lancaster, California
1 review
“Dirty Hotel and Rude Front Lobby Employees”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Co-worker and I were guest speakers for a conference that our schools were holding in the hotel. Our schools rented almost all of the conference rooms and halls. When we check in on the afternoon of August 12, 2014, we were asked for our personal credit cards. My colleague and I explained that our schools have booked a block of rooms and conference halls in the hotel and we should have a credit card on file. The front counter person whose "Kai" flatly said "well, then you can's stay here then!" and his manager Ryan who was standing next to him let out am insulting snicker. Instead of checking and contacting the person who booked the rooms (which most professional hotel customer service employee should do), they just insulted us. I have to make the phone call myself and gave my phone to Ryan.
When we walked in our separate rooms, the room smelled like rotten food. I came back to Ryan and asked to be transferred to another room. When I got to my new room , I noticed that the air filter grill inside the closet was open and when I opened it up, i saw the filty air filter in it. I took a picture as an evidence of how badly maintained this hotel really is. In my exhaustion from all-day travel, i had no choice but sleep in the room.
I will forward this experience to DoubleTree Hilton that is suppose to take over this hotel next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Our goal is for guests to be completely satisfied during their stay. As a rule, we do everything we can to not only meet, but exceed guest expectations. Things happen at times, however, that are beyond hotel control. In this case, we needed to gain approval from the company to incur additional charges (over and above the Room and Tax that had been pre-approved). It is absolutely not acceptable for any employee to tell a guest that they 'can't stay here'... and though this was not stated directly, we certainly apologize if this is how you felt. It was definitely not our intention. We do follow up with each guest after check-in to verify they are happy with their accommodations and if there is anything further we can do to make them more comfortable.

We do truly appreciate guest feedback as it helps us, as management, to know where to focus our time, energy and resources to continue improving guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
4
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was clean and spacious. I would have liked the front desk to have told us that we needed to pay for the breakfast which they mistakenly told us was included. It was not. That was an expensive and mediocre breakfast by far! Had I known I would not have gone for it. The rooms were clean, service good enough.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors. the rooms were undergoing renovations so it was a bit noisy but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate your feedback and will ensure our front desk team communicates inclusions properly. Thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location for the event we were in town for. Although the hotel is older, the rooms are still well maintained and clean. Housekeepers are the rock stars of that hotel! There was construction going on and the noise only bothered us one out of the three mornings we were there. We were told at check in about the construction, so the noise was expected. The staff was accommodating and pleasant. The onside restaurant was very good and priced well for a hotel. Bar staff were friendly. I only wish the gift shop was open while were there. Overall, we had a great time and enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms aren't to bad. RESTAURANT Really sux, especially breakfast buffet with swarms of fruit flys. Took 20 minutes to get served with only 1 other table in there that was occupied. Girls to busy at cash register talking and on cell phones. They seen me there but ignored me. Tryed a second night and at bar was good and service but meal out of restaurant was horrible. Ordered steak and sent back twice. Once over cooked and one under cooked and both could not cut with a knife. They seemed not to care to much. Nasty.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Please accept our apologies that, though you enjoyed your guestroom, that the restaurant fell short of your expectations. We will share your feedback with our Food and Beverage Director and ensure our team has addressed the issues. We do appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I came here on business and only stayed one evening - I arrived late and left early. So please take that into consideration. The hotel itself is located "downtown" but I didn't see anything within walking distance, and I certainly wouldn't walk around Fresno alone at night! I checked in and was given a suite, which was large, but outdated and impersonal. The restaurant in the hotel is really something else. I have rarely encountered worse food - it took forever and was barely edible. The bar itself was covered in italian dressing and the bartender really couldn't have figured out anything on his own unless directly instructed or asked. I drove by several other hotels on the way to the airport, which while nothing fancy or special, I think would provide a cleaner, quieter, more modern option.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Please accept our apologies that you did not enjoy your brief stay with us. Please note that we are in the process of undergoing a complete renovation to ensure our hotel is fresh, updated, comfortable and inviting. We are located in downtown Fresno, with easy access to the freeways as well as downtown activities. We do pride ourselves on our service excellence and will share your feedback with our Food and Beverage Director to ensure service and quality issues are addressed promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Purchased through Expedia but was not told that we would have to listen to concrete saws and chippers for 9:00 Am until 6:00 PM. The pool area needs a lot of attention. The concrete is chipped around the spa and pool and looks really bad. This is an ongoing project that should last another couple of months. The staff was wonderful and tried to accommodate us, but the hotel was sold out and they couldn't move our rooms.

Room Tip: Wait until they finish the construction work
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your patience as we move through our upgrades and renovations. We do try to keep as much as possible away from our guests and during the hours of lowest disturbance. Thank you for acknowledging our incredible service team here at the Fresno Hotel and Conference Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is downtown, very near to the minor league baseball stadium. The lobby has signs about the pending switch to Doubletree (early 2015). In the meantime, the room was very nice, and we had an excellent breakfast buffet. Not sure how Doubletree will improve this hotel- it is already solid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for our 'solid' rating.. we are in the process of some major upgrades to become a DoubleTree. We will look forward to 'WOW'ing you on your next visit to Fresno!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fresno Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresno Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2233 Ventura Street, Fresno, CA 93721 (Formerly Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Fresno)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fresno Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Fresno hotel located adjacent to the Fresno Convention & Entertainment Center with easy access to Highways 41 and 99. The Fresno Hotel and Conference Center is minutes from Fresno Yosemite International Airport, shopping areas, California State University Fresno and the Save Mart Center. Guest Services include: Free parking, airport shuttle and wifi as well as our unique atrium restaurant and lounge, a Pizza Hut outlet and the all new Java Stop - proudly serving Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fresno Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Conference Center Fresno
Radisson Hotel Fresno
Radisson Fresno
Fresno Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresno Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.