We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under renovation, OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Van Ness Avenue, Fresno, CA 93721 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get More Offer
Ranked #41 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Under renovation, OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hotel was Holiday Inn, now it is the Fresno Inn, will be the Raddison. Rooms are good with the exception of all Pictures removed from the wall. The A/C appears INOP on second floor so fitness room is hot on these 100 + days. Pool looks nice. Zest restaurant is nice. Good portions, nice decor and very reasonably priced. Hotel not in the best part of town. Appears to be a lot of homeless outside of hotel.
Hotel staff is very nice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    34
    43
    44
    40
See reviews for
34
31
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I was quite impressed with the culinary expertise of Chef Joshua in the hotel's "Zest Restaurant". He made it a point to come out and chat with guests. Food was over the top. Well above where it normally is at a hotel. This chef is going places. He actually creates dishes that are creative and "outside of the box". Some sound pretty adventurous, but try them. You'll be pleasantly surprised. Waitress was fast, efficient and friendly. Knowledgeable about the menu. Small area, quiet and peaceful. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This property is now called Fresno Inn. It was the Holiday Inn Downtown Convention. It is a mid rise property with a large lobby. There is a small shop in the lobby, bar and restaurant. The hall ways are a little dark, but the rooms are large with large windows the size of sliders (I think they once opened). The bathroom is large with plenty of counter space and they still have those nice big shower heads and plenty of pressure. The internet was free and fast. Furnishings in the room were in good condition and tasteful.

The location is downtown. There is so little to do. There is one Mexican restaurant around the corner. I didn't see any convenience stores. Granted probably you have a car, and there is underground parking, so it isn't that difficult to find someplace. But, you're gonna need a car. The on property restaurant

Room Tip: I liked overlooking the park instead of the roof of buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed here one night and found this to be a clean, modern hotel. The room was large and comfortable with a king bed. The furnishings were new looking and in good condition. Front desk staff was courteous and efficient. Parking and wifi are free. Breakfast is not included so we drove to a Denny's not far away. The is a typical downtown hotel in a neighborhood that is pretty deserted at night. The courthouse is across the street. You probably wouldn't go walking the area at night but it seemed safe and clean. The only drawback is no bathroom vent. I've never seen a hotel bathroom that didn't at least have a pretend bathroom vent. The air there is dry, so shower steam dissipates quickly. But who wants shower steam and bathroom odors to escape into the room? I always bring a small can of deodorizer on trips and it was useful here. Of course this is not a problem easily fixed--the architect must have been missing a few marbles. With a bathroom vent my rating would have been "excellent."

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My bad experience with this hotel started before I even left the parking garage. The elevator took forever to come, and when it finally showed up, the door shut on me as I was walking through it! Check in was quick, then back to the attack elevator for round 2, which shut on my foot as I was trying to walk on, before opening again. It then proceeded to take me back to the parking garage, then back to the lobby (where nobody had pressed the call button) and then finally to the 7th floor. The toilet in my room would run forever unless you jiggled the handle awhile after flushing. I stayed for one night, and was awakened at 8:05am by housekeeping! This one still mystifies me, why clean the room 3 hours before checkout? Some more engagements with Kujo Elevator ensued... And then the hassle of using parking validation slips from the front desk to get out of the subterranean parking garage with its burst overhead smelly water line (probably due to inadequate maintenance). Never again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear JoeCross41,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. We are also sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the elevator and the service you received from our staff. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELHI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

It surprises me, how someone can be made to look at the Cooling tower and other equipment outside the window of a starred hotel room. The room use to shake every now and then; maybe there was some train line or Airport in the vicinity. All of a sudden a very foul smell started emanating from the toilet and it was hard to bear. We felt like vomiting. I had to literally go out and use the toilet in the lobby. Housekeeping was somehow able to bring down the unbearable stinking smell by excessive dose of room freshener.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear MANOJSARITA,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with your in-room toilet and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured, your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate parties to take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had dinner here before going to the theater. Dining in downtown Fresno is very limited after dark, and the hotel is close to the theater.
The restaurant was empty when we arrived - 6:15 - on a Friday evening.
Pros:
Food was good and fairly priced.
The bread bowl was very good with fresh bread.
Main courses were well cooked and tasty.
Cons:
SERVICE: we stood waiting to be seated for 5 minutes. Then a security guard from the mall outside came in and said he'd get someone to help us.
The lack of a hostess cost the restaurant 4 dinners while we were there, 2 couples waited for someone to seat them, then gave up and left..
Our server was pleasant and friendly, but turned her back on us to read the specials off the wall chart.
Parking: Underground garage that serves the hotel and a casino. parking is difficult, and the elevator takes forever to arrive, leaving you the other choice, a very dirty and rather dark stairway.
I wouldn't stay in downtown Fresno anyway, you aren't safe walking on the street afte dark, and was not impressed enough by the service to go back for the food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear lkm55 ,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center

Address: 1055 Van Ness Avenue, Fresno, CA 93721 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel Fresno conference Center offers a modern, chic, and stunning retreat in the heart of Fresno's downtown district. The 197-room hotel is just steps away from Chukchansi Park, Home of the Fresno Grizzlies, and blocks from Selland Arena and the Fresno Convention and Entertainment Center. Newly renovated in 2008, the hotel offers modern amenities such as FREE high-speed Internet access. We also have a 24-hour fitness center and an outdoor heated pool. Located on the lobby level is the Zest California Bar & Grill, with offerings that will please your palate and quench your thirst. If a meeting is your reason to visit, look no further than our second floor. From the Sierra Grand Ballroom which seats up to 550 for dinner, to the Shaver Lake Room that holds 10, all of your meeting needs will be expertly looked after by our attentive staff. Venture a little further out into the local area and find many marvelous places to shop. We look forward to your visit and trust you'll enjoy your stay. Remember: Relax, It's Radisson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Hotel Fresno
Fresno Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.