We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foul Smelling Toilet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Van Ness Avenue, Fresno, CA 93721 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
DELHI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Foul Smelling Toilet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

It surprises me, how someone can be made to look at the Cooling tower and other equipment outside the window of a starred hotel room. The room use to shake every now and then; maybe there was some train line or Airport in the vicinity. All of a sudden a very foul smell started emanating from the toilet and it was hard to bear. We felt like vomiting. I had to literally go out and use the toilet in the lobby. Housekeeping was somehow able to bring down the unbearable stinking smell by excessive dose of room freshener.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear MANOJSARITA,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with your in-room toilet and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured, your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate parties to take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    36
    35
    30
See reviews for
23
29
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porterville
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had dinner here before going to the theater. Dining in downtown Fresno is very limited after dark, and the hotel is close to the theater.
The restaurant was empty when we arrived - 6:15 - on a Friday evening.
Pros:
Food was good and fairly priced.
The bread bowl was very good with fresh bread.
Main courses were well cooked and tasty.
Cons:
SERVICE: we stood waiting to be seated for 5 minutes. Then a security guard from the mall outside came in and said he'd get someone to help us.
The lack of a hostess cost the restaurant 4 dinners while we were there, 2 couples waited for someone to seat them, then gave up and left..
Our server was pleasant and friendly, but turned her back on us to read the specials off the wall chart.
Parking: Underground garage that serves the hotel and a casino. parking is difficult, and the elevator takes forever to arrive, leaving you the other choice, a very dirty and rather dark stairway.
I wouldn't stay in downtown Fresno anyway, you aren't safe walking on the street afte dark, and was not impressed enough by the service to go back for the food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear lkm55 ,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleby magna,leics
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were tired and running late, the check in was smooth and they kept the restaurant open especially for us to get a bite to eat. The room was comfortable and the parking underneath was convenient. Room service breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The staff is super friendly. Check in was great with Melissa. Room is good, average Holiday Inn room. Internet works great. My issue is that the outside (and open) parking garage has direct access to each floor in the hotel without having to go through the lobby. Added to that the area is terrible. My worry is that undesirable people will gain access to any of the rooms. Yes there is armed security, and they are very visible and active but the arrangement with the elevators and the poor neighborhood was concerning enough for me to write this review. I am a Platinum member at Holiday Inn, so I feel I am fairly comparing this hotel to many others across the country.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Jeff M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. It is unfortunate the design of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. We truly appreciate the kind words about the staff and internet as well as the high score for Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

When renting a hotel room..you are paying the hotel to provide you with a clean safe comfortable room. Perhaps for a special occasion.? Well, first of all the location... In most cities you can go from a clean safe area, to a delapidated, unsafe area by just crossing the street. This Holiday Inn has the luxury of being surrounded on all three sides by such sketchy streets. There is a major Bus Stop directly in front of the hotel....that, and perhaps the bail bonds offices nearby seem to attract all the vagrants, and panhandlers, and drug abusers that you may have to confront if you dare step onto the sidewalk surrounding this property. There is security in the lobby ( now you know why). This hotel is also attached to a seedy Casino. And did you know that anyone can park in the structure and go straight up to the guest floors! The A/C and Heating units in the room are INOPERATIVE and have been since at least November. It is now
February! I asked how many rooms have the newly installed units and the reply was TWO ROOMS! Meanwhile my room had a portable Air conditioning unit that had a 6inch flexible dryer duct type of exhaust that had to be vented outside by leaving my sliding door OPEN approximately 9 inches. Yes I was on the 6th floor but facing Van Ness with all the Bus traffic, sirens and homeless scuffles. There was no spacer or anything installed to seal the door from the noise and none present in all 5 other rooms of my guests who stayed with me. I can not imagine a circumstance where anyone would choose to stay here. Rent a car if your business is downtown and stay in one of the nicer hotels and drive 15 mins. The fitness center is the size of a very small room next to the lobby and only has a few cardio type machines. Holiday Inn as a brand should be fined for a place of this caliber ..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sid L,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our stay was very nice,clean and quiet. The only thing that we had issues with was the air condition unit .. it was under construction. We were also referred by a hotel employee to try the restaurant and bar.. food was great and affordable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Isabel E,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the HVAC system prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

First let me say that the Staff is Awesome! So willing to assist you with anything but with that being said very small parking spots in garage they have VERY limited amount of rooms that have air although they will give you a fan to use. They have rooms that face the street with busses & street walkers/homeless that are always getting into loud arguments and fights the food in the bar downstairs is poor at best but the drinks at bar were made GREAT not a great place st rest or stay till they get these consistent complaints resolved and worked out but at least its 100% better than the Holiday Inn Resort in Panama City Beach Florida never EVER stay there!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdavis1987, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for the kind comments about our staff. We are always looking for new and different ways to accommodate and assist our guests and we appreciate the recognition. The hotel is in the process of upgrading our Restaurant, Zest California Grill & Bar, with the grand opening set in February. We know it will knock socks off with the changes and menu upgrades, with fresh and local produce and great healthy options. As far as the air we also have new upgrades being installed currently. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to show off our exciting changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center

Address: 1055 Van Ness Avenue, Fresno, CA 93721 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel Fresno conference Center offers a modern, chic, and stunning retreat in the heart of Fresno's downtown district. The 197-room hotel is just steps away from Chukchansi Park, Home of the Fresno Grizzlies, and blocks from Selland Arena and the Fresno Convention and Entertainment Center. Newly renovated in 2008, the hotel offers modern amenities such as FREE high-speed Internet access. We also have a 24-hour fitness center and an outdoor heated pool. Located on the lobby level is the Zest California Bar & Grill, with offerings that will please your palate and quench your thirst. If a meeting is your reason to visit, look no further than our second floor. From the Sierra Grand Ballroom which seats up to 550 for dinner, to the Shaver Lake Room that holds 10, all of your meeting needs will be expertly looked after by our attentive staff. Venture a little further out into the local area and find many marvelous places to shop. We look forward to your visit and trust you'll enjoy your stay. Remember: Relax, It's Radisson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Hotel Fresno
Fresno Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.