We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our pleasant stay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Van Ness Avenue, Fresno, CA 93721 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Fresno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our pleasant stay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our stay was very nice,clean and quiet. The only thing that we had issues with was the air condition unit .. it was under construction. We were also referred by a hotel employee to try the restaurant and bar.. food was great and affordable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Isabel E,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the HVAC system prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    37
    35
    31
See reviews for
23
29
20
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

First let me say that the Staff is Awesome! So willing to assist you with anything but with that being said very small parking spots in garage they have VERY limited amount of rooms that have air although they will give you a fan to use. They have rooms that face the street with busses & street walkers/homeless that are always getting into loud arguments and fights the food in the bar downstairs is poor at best but the drinks at bar were made GREAT not a great place st rest or stay till they get these consistent complaints resolved and worked out but at least its 100% better than the Holiday Inn Resort in Panama City Beach Florida never EVER stay there!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdavis1987, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for the kind comments about our staff. We are always looking for new and different ways to accommodate and assist our guests and we appreciate the recognition. The hotel is in the process of upgrading our Restaurant, Zest California Grill & Bar, with the grand opening set in February. We know it will knock socks off with the changes and menu upgrades, with fresh and local produce and great healthy options. As far as the air we also have new upgrades being installed currently. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to show off our exciting changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

A/C is non-exsistant. They did bring a fan fairly quickly. Got approached by homeless every time I walked out of the lobby door. Weird red stain on carpet by the bed. If it wasn't for a family wedding, I would never stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdavis1987, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for you feedback in regards to your stay. We are trying different solutions in the hotel to accommodate the different needs of all guests when it comes to their comfort and the temperature of the rooms, and I am glad to hear the staff responded quickly to your concern. There are some locals that we try to keep from interfering with guests in and around the hotel which is why we have the security staff on 24 hours a day. We will be sure to address the stain and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had our Ambassador Christmas Party for the Fresno Chamber of Commerce in the beautiful setting of the Sky Room atop the Holiday Inn - Downtown. In addition to the beautiful view, we had great food and service. Parking is quick and easy. The staff was professional, giving us really good service and adding to our happy Christmas feeling. Would highly recommend this hotel for an event or a stay - anytime you want to feel taken care of. Janie H.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdavis1987, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you had such a great experience at the Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know. There really is no place in town like the Skyroom and we are happy you were able to enjoy the setting. It was a pleasure to have the group with us and we look forward many more events in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Let's see... the air conditioning didn't work in multiple rooms for my group, including my own. They also assigned my room to not one, but TWO other people while I was staying in it. Believe me, it's not fun to hear someone attempting to get into your room at 11 PM at night, let me tell you. Good thing I had the door handle locked!

Area surrounding the hotel is foul. No good food options, including the hotel itself. If you must stay in Fresno, I would suggest staying outside the city and perhaps driving in. Might be a hassle, but it would probably be worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdavis1987, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experience you had while staying with us. Words aren't enough to say how sorry we are that this happened, and although it not a normal occurrence, we want to be able to make it up to you. Please contact us directly at the hotel at cdavis@holidayinnfresno.com so that we may make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This area in Fresno is not the greatest, but if you have to be in this exact spot, this is literally the only reliable hotel within 15 minutes (walk) of the Convention Center.

THE GOOD:
Beverly, at the front desk, is incredible. She is sweet, welcoming and incredibly obliging. When the printer in the business center wasn't working, she helped me print many pages on her printer during her own break. She greeted me every time she saw me in the lobby!

A bar is attached, the rooms are clean, fast maintenance and housekeeping, free coffee in the lobby, great laundry machines are available (coin), the gym is spacious, and there is fast internet. The overall hotel decor looks great.

THE NOT-SO-GOOD:
The other front desk staff members were not very professional. At one point, I needed something and the woman at the front desk I had to come back because the others were in a meeting. I heard loud laughter from behind me, and it turns out the "staff meeting" was in the adjacent bar connected to the lobby. There was no apparent meeting. I walked in and asked for help, and the manager apologized and said he would help me. The kicker is that I noticed, during the remaining days of my stay, that many of the front desk staff hung out in the bar area everyday. The Holiday Inn can do better, and Beverly deserves an extra pat on the back for demonstrating her professionalism despite the lack thereof by her coworkers.

The other reviews on here are right - the rooms are HOT. The A/C does not go lower than about 71*. Although the room had a door that opened onto a balcony, we couldn't leave the door open at night/evening because of the noise. There were a lot of drunk (and homeless) people from the casino next-door, and they would dig through the trash or yell right below our window. There were gun shots one night and police sirens almost every night. I'm glad the doors had locks on them, but the hotel can do more for security. The elevators (which are painfully slow and often stop on the wrong floor) should have key locks. Homeless people would come into the lobby for free coffee, and the front desk had to keep tabs on who was actually staying in the hotel. There were security guards, and the hotel doors did lock after a certain hour, but random people were still somehow able to come into the lobby.

Sheets were scratchy (typical Holiday Inn quality though) and the hotel rooms were old. The pipes under our sink broke and maintenance had to repair them. They still leaked after being repaired, but I think that is more a testament to the age of the hotel than the work of the maintenance crew (they were speedy and helpful).

WATCH OUT:
The area is not great. Be careful and don't walk alone.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first floor if you are traveling alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdavis1987, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns and for the great praise about Beverly. She is a great asset to the hotel and it means a lot that you have recognized that. I am sorry to hear about your negative experiences at our property. I hope you can believe me when I say that your experience is not the norm in our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had with the room condition and noise as well. We will take all feedback and apply it to grow as a team. Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention and professionalism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was first put off by a few of the reviews, as I was stopping here for a night during a recent fly drive vacation. However, it was a really nice surprise when I arrived as the rooms were really clean and comfortable, modern and spacious. Superb comfy beds, one of the best nights sleep I've had! Friendly staff on reception and also a great internet room with free computer/printer facilities. Managed to grab half hour by the pool, which is an absolute suntrap and was really relaxing after a long drive. Free coffee in reception also. Had a meal in the hotel restaurant which although there wasn't much choice, what we did have was very nice. Large free car park downstairs. You do see quite a few homeless people hanging around the park opposite, but they are in California because of the climate and generally keep themselves to themselves - any that I have encountered have been very discreet and courteous, with better manners than most other people you encounter along the way!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center

Address: 1055 Van Ness Avenue, Fresno, CA 93721 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel Fresno conference Center offers a modern, chic, and stunning retreat in the heart of Fresno's downtown district. The 197-room hotel is just steps away from Chukchansi Park, Home of the Fresno Grizzlies, and blocks from Selland Arena and the Fresno Convention and Entertainment Center. Newly renovated in 2008, the hotel offers modern amenities such as FREE high-speed Internet access. We also have a 24-hour fitness center and an outdoor heated pool. Located on the lobby level is the Zest California Bar & Grill, with offerings that will please your palate and quench your thirst. If a meeting is your reason to visit, look no further than our second floor. From the Sierra Grand Ballroom which seats up to 550 for dinner, to the Shaver Lake Room that holds 10, all of your meeting needs will be expertly looked after by our attentive staff. Venture a little further out into the local area and find many marvelous places to shop. We look forward to your visit and trust you'll enjoy your stay. Remember: Relax, It's Radisson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Hotel Fresno
Fresno Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.