We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Times they are a changing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Van Ness Avenue, Fresno, CA 93721   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #41 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Times they are a changing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

So is this hotel. New management is doing a great job of re-upping their environment-- from the rooms to their restaurant. Very cool and knowledgeable staff. Sure appreciate this place and the improvements.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdavis1987, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear StevenKent7,

Thank you so much for your comment about our improvements. We truly appreciate that you have recognized us and our collective efforts. Its so great to hear from our guests that the changes being made are noticed. We will continue to strive for excellence and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again!

Chase Davis
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown-Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    30
    25
    26
See reviews for
22
25
17
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Changed rooms 2 times. First room no air conditioning and half a blind in window. Room was dirty and carpets filthy. Second room air conditioning very poor. Carpet filthy. TV didn't work. Front desk said they'd send someone up. 30 minutes later still waiting. Rooms have no mini fridge or a suit case stand. Walls are stained with who knows what. Front desk help was very accommodating with trying to hand out extras but that doesn't make it worth staying at this dump.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdavis1987, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear BE20Jockey7,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown-Convention Center. We are glad to hear that the front desk staff tried to do everything in their power to accommodate you, however, we also understand that when it's coupled with the problems you encountered it still makes for a stay that is not as good as it can be. The actions necessary to resolve the issues stated have already been underway so we do thank you for bringing it to our attention so we can address it promptly.

We are going through an update to the Hotel, which means for the guest that we have a more efficient and comfortable stay. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to have you stay again in the future so we can right that wrong. If there is anything I can do for you at all please do not hesitate to contact me anytime. Thank you again!

Chase Davis
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown-Convention Center
T: 559-233-6650 E: cdavis@holidayinnfresno.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First of all, I did not care too much for Fresno and it was really hot there, really hot! The hotel was a bit run down and while it was clean it looked dirty. The hotel staff was friendly and it had free parking in a garage below the hotel. There was a casino attached to the hotel, but I did not go inside. The room was basic and was told that the hotel's a/c was over loaded with the unusual hot weather so it was going to remain on a constant 77F. I thought that was going to be a problem, but was comfortable throughout the night. The bed was comfortable, but the towels were dry and scratchy. Sadly, I would not stay at this hotel again if I had the opportunity to be in Fresno again. It just felt too weathered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdavis1987, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Mataturider,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your stay. We are aware of some things that need to be updated on our property which is why we are fully committed to going through the entire hotel and not only cleaning to the best possible standards but renewing certain items as well. It is our goal to be the finest hotel in the downtown area with the best service. We hope that you will consider trying us again if you return to the Fresno area so we can show you the improvements that have been made, or at least paying us a quick visit for a tour. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to being able to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Chase Davis
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown-Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel because I was holding an event there the next day. Arrived and was told the air conditioning was out. From previous review it had been out for a while. Room was dirty. Event the following day provided excuse after excuse for everything. Ran out of lunch buffet was told enough food was made. At least 10 people didn't eat, burned cookies, only excuse was that everyone was new. No apology by management or attempt to make it right. Will not return and will tell others not to go there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdavis1987, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Jaytvo 14,

First of all we are very sorry that your stay did not meet the expectations you were looking for, and thank you for your response about your recent event. We are trying to be open and honest about the AC issue so as to best communicate to you and accommodate guests as best as possible while staying with us. We were able to get fresh plated meals for those that were not able to indulge in the buffet, but again we are sorry that the initial provisions were not enough for the group. Your feedback about this event will help us better plan for future events of similar size. We have the opportunity to take this feedback and grow into a hotel that consistently delivers above and beyond for all guests so thank you again.

Chase Davis
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Downtown-Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If this hotel was in any other place than Fresno, I would give it a lower score. But there are SOME redeeming qualities.

The Bad: The AC was out when I checked in, however, this was not mentioned at check in. When I called to complain, they offered me another room. Which sounds nice, but was totally ridiculous because the entire hotel did not have AC! Why in the world would they allow me to move to a SMALLER room if there was no chance to be cooler? If I was not hot enough before, I was steaming mad after I took all the effort at 10pm at night to repack my things to another room. Every day they told me the AC would be fixed. 4 days later at check out, it was not fixed. To survive the heat, we had to keep the windows open. Every night at midnight, city workers would clean the park across the street with their truck radios blaring and we were "serendaded" with hip hop music. And then, on Sunday morning, at 0730, a DJ set up right below the hotel and started to "greet" the marathon racers because the half marathon ran on the street next the hotel. There was no warning or notice in the lobby or anything warning us of this marathon. It blocked the entrance to the hotel until 11am that morning-- and our guests scheduled to have breakfast with us had trouble gaining access to the hotel. A little notice would have been much appreciated! And finally, our in room phone was broken. We could never call down to the hotel desk during our stay-- I did wonder if perhaps that was by design given the number of problems we experienced. Maybe they unplugged me?

The Good: The staff was very friendly and tried to make the best of what was a bad situation. To try to compensate for the inconvenience, they gave us free breakfast coupons every morning. And the breakfast buffet that is normally $10.95 was really really good. Extremely fresh fruit, luscious berries, fresh coffee, several juices to choose from, etc. The wait staff was so friendly and attentive, they *almost* made up for the horrible night sleep.

The parking was plentiful during my stay in their underground parking lot. It was well lit and I saw the presence of a security guard from time to time. I felt secure parking there despite the downtown location.

To be fair, the room was the high quality that I have come to expect from my other Holiday Inn stays. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the sheets were pristine white. If the AC worked and I could have shut the windows, I would have really enjoyed my stay. Call and make sure that they do not have an AC problem or a marathon schedule before you book...lol

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdavis1987, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Tallgirl7,

Thank you very much for your detailed experience of your stay with us. The good things you expressed are great to hear, even though you did have other things that were not up to par with your expectations. With events such as the marathon it is a learning experience for us to know how to better communicate to guests all of the details that will affect their stay and we appreciate you letting us know. We hope to be of service again in the future should your travels bring you back to fresno where we can have the chance to go above your expectations.

Chase Davis
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Downtown-Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We checked into this hotel - 98 degrees outside - rooms dirty - no air conditioned - we were advised that the air conditioning had not worked for the better part of 7 days - staff less then helpfull - I would not return to this property

Room Tip: do not come to this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdavis1987, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Oegconsult,

We are sincerely very sorry that you had this experience while staying with us at the Holiday Inn Downtown Convention Center. If is of the utmost importance to us that our guests have a comfortable, friendly stay while they are with us. We are working very diligently to resolve this situation to make sure that no guests in the future have to have the same issue. I can assure you that we are taking into account all the feedback we are receiving to better handle the situation and improve upon the services we are offering, especially when problems arise. Thank you very much for your feedback.

Chase Davis
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Downtown-Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ok, it's Fresno so you have to lower your expectations. The room and hotel itself was great. I was quite surprised when I saw the lobby and room, it was a wonderful surprise. My room was clean and spacious with a flat screen tv. However, when you park your car in their parking garage, you are sharing the lot with a casino next door. I was literally scared in the neighborhood...almost like "I am Legend" where you have to run home when it got dark. The area is filled with homeless people lined up and down and behind the hotel. I deducted a star for having so many homeless people around the hotel and another star for having no restaurant inside. Yes, they claim they have a restaurant but if you ever try to eat there, it is awful and very limited. I mean, they will basically tell you that they have 2 dishes that day, you pick which one you want. Since the area is pretty dangerous, restaurants near by are limited.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the courthouse as you will hear the bus stop right outside your window. Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear CakesALot,

Thank you for your candid feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We hope our location will not deter you from staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1055 Van Ness Avenue, Fresno, CA 93721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn® Fresno Dtwn-Convention Center offers a modern, chic, and stunning retreat in the heart of Fresno’s downtown district. The 197-room hotel is just steps away from Chukchansi Park, Home of the Fresno Grizzlies, and blocks from Selland Arena and the Fresno Convention and Entertainment Center. Newly renovated in 2008, the hotel offers modern amenities such as FREE high-speed Internet access. We also have a 24-hour fitness center and an outdoor heated pool. Located on the lobby level is the Café 1055 and the Downtown Sports Bar, with offerings that will please your palate and quench your thirst. If a meeting is your reason to visit, look no further than our second floor. From the Sierra Grand Ballroom which seats up to 550 for dinner, to the Shaver Lake Room that holds 10, all of your meeting needs will be expertly looked after by our attentive staff. Venture a little further out into the local area and find many marvelous places to shop. We look forward to your visit and trust you’ll enjoy your stay. Remember: Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Hotel Fresno
Fresno Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fresno Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.