We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Mowry Ave, Fremont, CA 94538   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Fremont
Alamosa, United States
1 review
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel staff was friendly. Check-in and check-out was easy and hassle free. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We all slept well on the beds and loved the pillows provided (which is rare). The kids loved the pool, the only complaint there is that they were out of towels due to a large group. Breakfast was good, and had a wide selection to choose from. My family left full and satisfied. The room rate seemed a little high, but at least the rooms were clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurenneD, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear lwpilot,

We appreciate your time in providing us with this review. We use reviews such as yours to help make a better hotel for all of our guests. If there is anything we can do to make your stay better in the future, please let us know.

Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    66
    37
    12
    9
See reviews for
71
30
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, CA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. It was one of the few hotels that offered the GSA approved rate for state governments. Location is good. Property isn't fancy but functional. The room I had was very big. Bed comfortable. The thermostat is programmable so was set high and room was warm when I got there. You had to figure how to reset it. A couple times a program kicked on and the room got warm again. But, I can appreciate the energy efficiency. Breakfast was fine. The omelets were the best. Loved the free Wi-Fi. It made working in the evening easier. It felt like a safe area. I would stay again. But, if you are looking for fancy and not functional, you may be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Best Western offered the best place to stay while visiting family in the Fremont, CA area. The rooms offered a desk, reading area and television while staying in the room. It was nice and my cousin thought it was nice. The jacuzzi was nice and hot, it felt good and relaxing too. The guests staying there were both family and business oriented and friendly people. It's important to be around good peeps!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCourtInn54, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I really appreciated that you took the time to post your experience with your recent stay. It great to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay, and have continued to return to the Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn.
Thank you, for pointing out many attributed of the hotel .It is our own goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service, and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of our own high standards.
Thank you once again for the time you have taken to provide invaluable feedback which helps us in our efforts to constantly improve our operation. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Regards,

Steven Martinez
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was so relieved when we checked in and everything you see online matched what was on the premises. The desk clerk and staff were very friendly, the accommodations were clean and fresh. So glad we stayed here. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

For the past thirty plus years, the Best Western chain has been part of our travels. This trip was no different. However, this hotel stay was miserable from the start. To start with, we specifically reserved a room on the ground level at the pool. When we checked in, our room had been given away and the room we were given was on the third floor. We were fine with that until we stepped off the elevator into a sauna. The third floor hallway had to have been at least 100 degrees. Then we went to room to discover our keys would not unlock the door. So we trekked back down the elevator, across the hotel, and back to the lobby with all of our luggage in tow. The clerk was surprised the keys didn't work. We informed him about the temperature of the hall and simply requested a room on the ground floor. The hotel had a ground floor room in the third building available. Great!! Or so we thought. The clerk was nice enough to go with us to ensure that the keys worked for this room. However, when we got to the room, the clerk couldn't get the door to open with the newly programmed keys either. He let us in with his master card key and allowed us into the room to get settled as he went back to the desk to reprogram the keys. Upon opening the door, the heat of the room hit us like a ton of bricks. The clerk set the central air conditioning thermostat for us prior to leaving to get the cards fixed. As we got situated in the sweltering room, the clerk came back with card keys that worked. Unfortunately, after we got ready to use the beautiful pool facilities, we called the front desk to inquire about pool towels. During the conversation, the phone went dead. We walked back the desk to let them know the phone wasn't working and to pick up our pool towels. They informed us they would send someone right away to fix the phone. Two hours later, we came back to the room to discover the room was still astronomically hot. We left for dinner assuming the air conditioner just needed more time to cool the room off. We were sadly mistaken. We arrived back at our room another two hours later to discover the the room was hotter than it was before. To add insult to injury, a permeating skunk smell now emanated and lingered in the hallway. Since the phone was still not working, I walked back to the lobby to inform the clerk of the problems with our room. The very nice clerk told us that he would send maintenance right away to solve our problem with the temperature of the room. I headed back to the room to wait. Forty five minutes later of sweltering in the room waiting, I called the lobby from my cell phone and talked to another clerk who said she would send maintenance down right away. The maintenance man came to our room and was instantly roasting in the heat as well. He checked out the thermostat and then informed us something must be broken with the central air system and brought us a fan. At this point, even though we were unpacked and my daughter asleep, I was willing to move to another room. However, the only other room was the room on the third floor (which the clerk said was having cooling trouble as well). So we elected to stay in our room due to the severe late hour, nearly midnight at this point, and turned the box fan on high to bring in the somewhat cooler air from outside. However, we could not leave the window open all night due to lack of security with no available locking mechanism on the window and the room being located on the ground floor. The room finally cooled off to a mere 90 degrees by 2 in the morning, so we closed the window, left the fan on and finally got about two hours of sleep before the heat became unbearable again. Needless to say, we were informed by staff that they had been having problems with the air conditioning and the phones for over a week and there was nothing they could do about that. If that was the case, why didn't they inform us prior to assigning our room. This entire evening was a nightmare. On a side note, the pool was great. Maybe we should have just asked to spend the night in the pool...

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCourtInn54, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

We strive to lead our industry in superior customer care which is our number one goal at the Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn. I must admit that I was quite concerned when I read comments concerning your stay on June 30, 2013 at our hotel. Your experience is certainly one we take painstaking efforts to avoid

Please contact the front desk any time you have a concerns with facilities operation or any other concerns you may have, we well do our best to correct them. It is guest like you that made us aware when we have failed and for that I thank you.

It is my feeling that if we fail to meet your expectations; we owe you a sincere apology. It is my hope that you will return to our hotel and allow us to demonstrate the true level of service that we strive to provide.

Sincerely,

Steven Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel in paper looks OK: Close to highways (880), near a mall, and restaurants. However, there are many problems in the hotel:

(a) Air conditioning does not work properly and sometimes does not work at all. 2 out of 4 days did not work at all. Air-conditioning is central and not per room. That means that the full hotel was without air-conditioning. Since this is a routine event front desk or/and management do not care at all. No apologies. Nobody is available to fix the problems. Nobody cares.

(b) Internet only works intermittently. Also, front desk believes it is not the hotel responsibility if the internet does not work properly. Front desk is unhelpful or inept

(c) The front desk personal at night is extremely rude towards customers. It seems that the only requirement for hiring is to pay minimum wages. When I said rude, I meant absolutely rude.


(d) There are two buildings in this hotel. The building where the front desk smells OK. However, the 2nd one smells terrible. Absolutely avoid the 2nd building and if possible avoid the hotel completely.

(e) This is an old hotel that requires major repairs.

Recommendation: Do not come to this hotel. You can go to a similar hotels in the area for almost the same money. There are many hotels within 3 or 4 miles that are in excellent shape. This hotel is not a 3-star hotel as advertised.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel. If you decide to come, expect problems with the air conditioning. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn

Address: 5400 Mowry Ave, Fremont, CA 94538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fremont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fremont
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fremont
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fremont, California is in the heart of many bay area attractions. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, take time out of your busy schedule to just relax. Fremont's BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn sits amidst three acres of beautifully landscaped gardens for your enjoyment.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn offers a beautiful, comfortable stay at an affordable price. Our hotel has 125 Spacious guest rooms, including Non-Smoking rooms. Each of our hotel rooms is furnished with a Refrigerator and Microwave, Oversized workstations with Ergonomic leather chairs, Complimentary in-room coffee, and Complimentary High Speed Internet Access, Cable TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN for your convinience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Court Hotel Fremont
Best Western Fremont
Fremont Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.