We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a good night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Mowry Ave, Fremont, CA 94538   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Fremont
Antioch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It was a good night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My friend and I needed a place to spend the night before our first 1/2 Marathon. The hotel was a great location just right off the freeway. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. There are many eateries to choose from in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    52
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
45
21
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
turlock, ca
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed at the Best Western Garden Court Inn several times. It is always a very reliable hotel, where the rooms and the grounds are clean and well kept. The breakfast is good, with a good variety to select from. It is very conviently located near Washington Hospital (where unfortunately I needed surgery). My wife felt safe and we had no problems. There are several restaurants within walking distance. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCourtInn54, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I really appreciated that you took the time to post your experience with your recent stay. It great to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay, and have continued to return to the Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn.

Thank you, for pointing out many attributed of the hotel and the surrounding area such as the grounds are clean and well kept. The breakfast is good, with a good variety to select from and there are several restaurants within walking distance of our hotel.

It is our own goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service, and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of our own high standards.

Thank you once again for the time you have taken to provide invaluable feedback which helps us in our efforts to constantly improve our operation. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Steven Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent nights at the Fremont Best Western. The facility and our room was very clean , comfortable bedding, nice breakfast (hot & cold foods) included.
Our only complaint was that the room next door had a small, yappy dog and it barked early morning (each morning). Had we known this was a dog-driendly hotel, I would have asked for a room away from any dogs.

Front desk are very friendly and arranged a taxi for us. Over-all, a good stay. We were int own for our son;s surgery nearly. (not a vacation). This is a clean, reasonable business stay hotel.

Room Tip: Be specific in your reservation that you do not want to be near dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCourtInn54, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I really appreciated that you took the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding your experienced with your recent stay.

It great to hear when a guest has enjoyed there stay and to hear when we have given our guest the customer service they expect.

I will inform our staff of the service they have given so we are able to continue giving great customer service. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer continues service experience for all our guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Steven Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was lured in by the photos and the reasonable price. If my husband and I were staying any longer than the 11pm-6am stay, we would have never stayed. All of the hallways had an overpowering musty smell (mixed with faint hint of smoke in some). Luckily, our room didn't have the same smell; however, the carpet felt scrunchy, the sheets slimy, and there was gunk on the bathroom counter (except for the fact that the toiletries were stocked and the towels nicely folded, I would have thought the room hadn't been cleaned). I usually think of Best Western as a "safe" bet. I was extremely disappointed with this hotel. P.S.: a more professional look to the front desk staff might help with having a better first impression.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCourtInn54, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding you’re experienced with your recent stay. I would like to apologies for failing to meet your expectations in several areas.

It is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service, which is vital to our continued success. We are aware that areas of our hotel require some attention and I appreciate you informing us of these needs. We are planning in the upcoming year on refreshing areas of the hotel that requiring the necessary attention. The area you stayed in is our smoking area it does from time to time have the smell of smoke and we try our best to remedy the situation however smoke is very hard to eliminate. As for our sheet we have all new linens with 300 thread count which is require by Best Western. I am sorry you did not feel comfortable in them. All of us here at the Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn are committed to providing a much better and more pleasant experience than you had experienced.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a survey. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly.

Best regards,

Steven Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puyallup
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Best Western has a good reputation but this hotel let me down. The staff was very nice and the hotel was clean but I just could not get over the musty smell in the hallways and in the room. It is too bad because this is the only thing wrong with this place. I recommend that they replace all the carpets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCourtInn54, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding you’re experienced with your recent stay. I would like to apologies for failing to meet your expectations in several areas.

It is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service, which is vital to our continued success. We are aware that areas of our hotel are in need of a little attention and I appreciate you informing us of these needs. We are planning in the upcoming year on refreshing areas of the hotel that requiring our attention. All of us here at the Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn are committed to providing a much better and more pleasant experience than you had experienced.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a survey. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly.

Best regards
Steven Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was a nice hotel at a decent price in an area not known for both in the same sentence. The property appeared to be undergoing some improvements but things were neat, tidy and efficient. Parking is free and abundant. Rooms are older but well maintained and very clean with some modern touches and spacious. Bathrooms are small and the sink area is separate outside the bathroom in the 70s-80s style. TVs were flat screen but the stations were spartan as there weren't many to choose from. I didn't interact with the staff much but they seemed efficient and courteous.

There are plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby and the hotel is very conveniently located off the 880. BART is very far away, at least 1.5 miles, so do not count on using it if you aren't prepared to catch a bus first or get there at an off-peak time to use the park and ride.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better as there might be neighbor noise, and some rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I chose the Garden Court Inn because I was on a one day business trip to San Jose, and my other options were either significantly higher priced, or seemed disgusting or seedy. Pluses: price, great location off the highway. Minuses: needs updating, a little musty in places, very 70s looking, breakfast was "meh". Might stay again but I'd know what I'm getting. The other reviews were a little too rosy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCourtInn54, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I really appreciated that you took the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding your experienced with your recent stay. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to write a survey. I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations in several areas.

It is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service, and it is vital to our continued success. We are aware that areas of our hotel are in need of a little attention and I appreciate you informing us of these needs. We are planning on refreshing areas of the hotel that requiring our attention. Let me simply say that all of us here at the Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn are committed to providing a much better and more pleasant experience than you had experienced.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a survey. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly.

Best regards,

Steven Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn

Address: 5400 Mowry Ave, Fremont, CA 94538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fremont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fremont, California is in the heart of many bay area attractions. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, take time out of your busy schedule to just relax. Fremont's BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn sits amidst three acres of beautifully landscaped gardens for your enjoyment.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn offers a beautiful, comfortable stay at an affordable price. Our hotel has 125 Spacious guest rooms, including Non-Smoking rooms. Each of our hotel rooms is furnished with a Refrigerator and Microwave, Oversized workstations with Ergonomic leather chairs, Complimentary in-room coffee, and Complimentary High Speed Internet Access, Cable TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN for your convinience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Court Hotel Fremont
Best Western Fremont
Fremont Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.