We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Mowry Ave, Fremont, CA 94538   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Fremont
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Made reservations with the grandparents as our usual place nearby was booked. The price for a room was about $30 cheaper, so I had some concerns about how their stay would pan out. To my relief, they raved about it. Breakfast was plentiful and filling. Rooms were well equipped and spacious. They can't wait to return with the grandkids so they can enjoy the huge pool. Applebee's and Olive Garden were in the parking lot so they were able to walk to lunch or dinner. Beds were comfortable and they noticed no freeway or road noise. In short, they've found a new place to stay now that they've experienced all that the Garden Court has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCourtInn54, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I really appreciated that you took the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding your experienced with your recent stay

It great to hear when a guest has enjoyed there stay and will continue to return to the Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn. It is great news to know when we have given our guest the customer service they expect.

I will inform our staff of the service they have given so we continue giving great customer service. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer continues service experience for all our guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you once again for the time you have taken to provide invaluable feedback which helps us in our efforts to constantly improve our operation. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Steven Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    58
    32
    10
    9
See reviews for
56
26
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I was on business and spent 1 night at this hotel. Very easy to get to, right off the freeway and half a mile from a large mall. Several excellent restaurants are within walking distance. This is an upgraded Best Western and has all the conveniences you would want. Free parking, HBO and free wireless. The staff was warm and friendly. The breakfast does have some upgrades from the "standard" continental breakfast, but the staff makes this a very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After reading the previous mixed reviews on this hotel, I was somewhat apprehensive of choosing it. But I must say that I was completely satisfied with my two-night stay. The room was spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. The AC, TV and wi-fi worked well. There was also a PC with printer in the lobby. The breakfast was basic, but on a par with similarly priced budget hotels. The location next to I-880 and the shops/restaurants was very convenient. The staff at the reception desk were friendly and gave me a "takeaway breakfast" of granola bar and juice due to my early departure on the last morning. There are certainly fancier hotels with more facilities around the area, but I felt that this place represented a good value for money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCourtInn54, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
I really appreciated that you took the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding your experienced with your recent stay.

It's great to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay and that we able to show you that your bet on our Best Western paid off. I am glade we were able to show you the customer service that you expect.

Thank you once again for the time you have taken to provide invaluable feedback which helps us in our efforts to constantly improve our operation. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Regards,

Steven Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I recently spent one night at this hotel just for an overnight sleep. I had booked one room ahead of time but ended up needing two. When we requested a second room the front desk was very nice and actually gave us a AAA discount even though we didn't have it. That was greatly appreciated. I did not expect much from a best western but had no choice. The hotel also had a pool which i did not use. Everything was actually better than anticipated. The rooms were very clean, and the room actually included free continental breakfast. The beds were just ok but can't complain. There are other hotels in the area such as hiltons and marriotts but if you are only spending one or two nights and looking for value this is not a bad place to do so.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCourtInn54, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
I really appreciated that you took the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding your experienced with your recent stay. While I was pleased to learn that you did enjoy the majority of your stay, I was concerned when I learned the Beds where less then your expectations.

It is our own goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service, and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of our own high standards.

Thank you once again for the time you have taken to provide invaluable feedback which helps us in our efforts to constantly improve our operation. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Steven Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed in a deluxe room. Very clean, quite and comfortable.

Like most Best Western's this one comes with most of anything you would need at the hotel.

I would stay here again while in Fremont.

Two restaurants right behind hotel.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs in the back. Nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here after 4 nights in a similarly-ranked Hyatt House and there was no comparison. The BW was not bad, and thankfully the hallways were not indicative of the rooms, but it did not feel like a 3 star hotel to us. While the hallways stunk of cigarette smoke and seemed shabby and outdated, the room itself was not bad. The rooms are spacious, have two comfortable armchairs and a work table, as well as big windows that can open if you want fresh air. Unfortunately, the bathroom (while clean) felt outdated. The beds weren't all that comfortable, and didn't have nice thick comforters on them, as we've been spoiled with. There were just a lot of small things that didn't quite live up to our standards.

All in all, it is pretty nice as far as budget-rate hotels go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
I certainly appreciate you taking the time to fill out a survey. I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations in several areas.

It is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service, and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of our own high standards. We are aware that areas of our hotel are in need of a little attention and I appreciate your light words of “shabby and outdated” and we are planning on renovations to address this issue. Let me simply say that all of here at the Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn are committed to providing a much better and more pleasant experience than you had the misfortune of experiencing.

Again, thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly.


Sincerely,

Steven Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Found a cheap internet-only special for the Garden Court for a 1 queen bed non-smoking room. When my wife and I arrived we were upgraded to a 2 bed non-smoking queen.

Our room was on the third floor overlooking the pool area. It was large and spacious, furniture and beds were pretty new and nice. Bathroom tile and tub were a little dated (10ish years maybe?) but everything was extremely clean.

Continental breakfast was incredible! This place was fully stocked every morning we were there! I'm talking cereal, eggs, fruit, coffee, juices, muffins, scones, you get the picture. Easily the most impressive complimentary breakfast I've seen in a while.

Was within walking distance of multiple groceries and a large mall on the other side of the freeway.

The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. When we arrived one of our bags had been lost on the flight over (was returned the next day) and the front desk was more than happy to hook us up with free toiletries. They also held onto our suitcases until we returned the next day.

There was no workout area or gym (so only 4/5 stars there), but the outdoor pool was quite impressive. It was large, clean, with an extensive outside area for lounging and sunbathing, and didn't have the over-chlorinated sensation you find in most hotel pools.

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and would highly recommend this Best Western.

Room Tip: Definitely choose 3rd floor to avoid noise from neighbors above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCourtInn54, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear TikiDan,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Steven Martinez
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn

Address: 5400 Mowry Ave, Fremont, CA 94538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fremont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fremont, California is in the heart of many bay area attractions. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, take time out of your busy schedule to just relax. Fremont's BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn sits amidst three acres of beautifully landscaped gardens for your enjoyment.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn offers a beautiful, comfortable stay at an affordable price. Our hotel has 125 Spacious guest rooms, including Non-Smoking rooms. Each of our hotel rooms is furnished with a Refrigerator and Microwave, Oversized workstations with Ergonomic leather chairs, Complimentary in-room coffee, and Complimentary High Speed Internet Access, Cable TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN for your convinience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Court Hotel Fremont
Best Western Fremont
Fremont Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.