We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Fremont/Silicon Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Fremont/Silicon Valley to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Fremont/Silicon Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 West Warren Avenue, Fremont, CA 94538 (Formerly "AmeriSuites")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Fremont
Burlington, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for two days in May. Was going to stay at the Hyatt in Santa Clara until i read a couple recent negative reviews about rude staff, parking issues and having to pay for WiFi. The Hyatt in Fremont was a great! Very convienent location to I-880 and only 10 minutes to Santa Clara area. No freeway noise, large clean room w/ a separate sitting area, small kitchenette and VERY comfortable bed. They offer a great continental breakfast and also have a small bar next to the lobby. Free WiFi, lots of parking and a great price. Glad I stayed there and would recommend. Only downside is it's not within walking distance to anything like restaraunts, but if you like peace and quiet, this is a great place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    64
    23
    13
    6
See reviews for
46
22
19
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Hyatt Place is the Hyatt Brand's less expensive chain (like a Hilton Garden Inn)
The rooms are mostly the same in every Hyatt Place. Very spacious with a separate area with couch/wetbar/desk - separated by a short half wall from the bed. Would work great for families but for business traveler is just okay. The Fremont location is very similar to all the rest

Free buffet breakfast - large variety of foods but the rock hard, prefab egg mcmuffin and cold brick hard pancakes are not good. This is same in every Hyatt Place. Stick with cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, bagels. The free coffee is some of the worst I have ever had and the hot food is convenience store-like and not kept in any warming trays - really bad stuff but again standard at all Hyatt Places - not just this one. Also, consider paying extra to get real Starbucks coffee from the snack bar - criminal but the free is crazy awful.

A limited but decent menu of food to order - no room service but a deli case of food/drink and a few hot items to order make it convenient when in a hurry. Mini-fridge (and optional microwave for a small fee) in room are good add.

Lighting in rooms is horrific - one of the worst I have seen in hotels - can't see much on work desk or in bathroom mirror or on couch even with curtains wide open to let sun in. Also just made the nice, modern room seem dreary and unpleasant when it really is not. Again all Hyatt Place's are like this - it is enough to make me consider different hotels because it is seriously depressing and non-functional.

Wireless seemed okay - not fast but not excessively slow like the one I experienced in an Austin one recently. Free throughout the hotel in this location. Printing was free with printme which is a good idea in theory but slow and painful to deal with.

Fremont location - nice friendly staff, very clean, super busy frenetic pace but worked well. The cleaning crew are friendlier and nicer than the front desk folks. But the front desk is so busy that I suspect that they can't be overly friendly cuz they are so swamped, however they are helpful and efficient and do their job well if a bit chilly. Great location along I-880 - easy access to freeway in both directions, excellent parking. Parking lot was well-lit - a plus at night.

Weekdays were busy with business travelers, but the weekend was jammed with people and large amount of kids (sports teams, wedding parties etc) and I mean jammed but hotel handled it well. Given that these Hyatt Places are not 600 rooms or something like some hotels in tourist areas - it is still much, much better than a big crowded hotel chain even when crowded.

The fact that you have to look at the bathroom sink as part of the room so you can't quietly or privately get ready or use shower/toilet. Also the mirror stares back at you in a big chunk of the room but probably no doors/walls saves space.

All in all - I was fine with it but weirdly I think I like even cheaper Hampton Inn or other Springfield Suites places better if I want to do moderate price (non-full service) but it is predictable like a McDonalds and give Hyatt points so it draws me in.

Room Tip: All are very, very similar with only real difference one or 2 beds (2 beds rooms are slightly longer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I recently stayed for four nights in four different hotels (I wasn't sure of my plans each day) in Fremont. I liked Hyatt Place the best. The front desk staff was good natured, even when we checked in at 1am. The rooms were clean and very spacious. The only thing I didn't like was that the sink part of the bathroom was open to the beds, meaning I had to disturb my cousin to wash my hands after using the bathroom in the middle of the night.

The breakfast has a ton of variety and is well-set up.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Hyatt Place Fremont was a very nice place when they converrted it to a Hyatt about six years ago, but that was six years ago. Since then, the rooms and beds have apparently been subjected to some heavy use. My bed was so uncomfortable that i could not sleep. Years of usage had formed a sunken and unconforable hollow. I informed the desk staff of my concern and all they said was "sorry." I asked to fill out a customer survey card, as the electric hair dryer was also not working properly and constitute a hazard, but they had none and said i would recieve a survey in the mail. Never got it. Now I am a Hyatt Diamond member, their top tier in their frequent guest program, and this is the level of service I got. Very disappointing.

On the plus side, they have upped their complimentary breakfast a bit by also offering a warm muffin and egg sandwich. I think they had to, since they were being outclassed by the other chains, including their own Hyatt House.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
1,136 helpful votes 1,136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel is small, but it makes up for it with care, service, and everything it has to sleep over.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I'm a big fan of the Hyatt Place room layout when traveling on business. As you enter the room, you are in the "living" area with a couch/chaise, desk/office area, and kitchennette area. Deeper into the room is a divider behind which is the bedroom and bath area. This layout makes it possible to have an informal meeting in the living area without the necessity of using the bed for a chair. Another plus for the business traveler is the abundance of electrical outlets and plug-ins to the TV. When I am traveling on short business trips, the Hyatt Place works great. The staff here was helpful and courteous. This time they forgot to order a cab for us which was a bit frustrating. Next time, I will call the front desk to confirm our cab order. The free breakfast is adequate and the lobby area lends itself to eating and working on your laptop or iPad. Good location with proximity to both San Jose airport and Silicon Valley businesses.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is fine in many ways, but I think there are some issues that need to be addressed. When I came back to my hotel room at 9pm, it had not been cleaned. I went the front desk and they were apologetic but couldn't do anything (so they said) at that hour. The next morning I went to breakfast and there was nowhere to sit, there were no glasses, they had run out of most everything. And of course as soon as they replaced the food that had run out, it was taken immediately by all the people waiting. Cups ran out, yogurt ran out. One thing after another. People had to continue asking for everything. The employees did their best and had a good attitude with all the people asking for cereal, cups, coffee, breakfast sandwiches, etc. Overall, it seems like management is not doing something right, otherwise these issues wouldn't come up. Finally, if you get a room on the FIRST FLOOR, be prepared for LOTS of noise. People come into the hotel from all entrances at all hours, and they pass by the first floor rooms, laughing, talking, making all kinds of noise. I was woken up more than once by noise in the hall during my three night stay. Hotel needs to post signs reminding people coming in that they are walking past other guest rooms. I am sure upper floors are quieter. Overall, I am disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are VERY NOISY. Request a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Fremont/Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Fremont/Silicon Valley

Address: 3101 West Warren Avenue, Fremont, CA 94538 (Formerly "AmeriSuites")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fremont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Fremont/Silicon Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Fremont/Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Fremont/Silicon Valley Hotel Fremont
Hyatt Fremont Silicon Valley
Fremont Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Fremont/Silicon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.