We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated property, service lacking, grounds dirty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley to your Saves list
Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9930 Slater Avenue, Fountain Valley, CA 92708   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fountain Valley
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dated property, service lacking, grounds dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Disappointed in this property. Other Residence Inns have been wonderful. Suite was ok but housekeeping slow. Left room early each day, returned by mid-afternoon to an unclean room. At check in, I asked hotel to split the bill between me and a friend. They did not do this. I checked out alone and was charged way more than my share of the bill creating an awkward situation. The grounds could be kept cleaner. Trash and dog feces were not picked up.
This is an older property. No elevator, accessed room from the outside. We were on the top floor but it was still noisy.
Only consolation was a lovely manager named Tiffany who did her best to make things right post stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear williesmom237,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel, I'm sorry that you found our grounds were not well-kept and service was slow.

We value your feedback and will use it to better our services and product. I have shared your comments with my team, and I can assure you that we do not take this lightly. I hope you will give us another chance during your next visit!

Thank you again for your feedback, and I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Regards,

Art Aquino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    44
    17
    3
    7
See reviews for
63
14
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Residence Inn in FV is the perfect place...just like the other reviewers it is a home away from home. Rooms are spacious and updated. Pools, outdoor lounging and breakfast area all beautiful and welcoming. Free parking. Free breakfast - basic continental stuff, but acceptable. Location is situated close to everything - grocery stores, restaurants, freeway & parks. It is the perfect stay if you are visiting Huntington Beach/OC area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you honeyloveoc for the generous feedback! I am happy that the staff, facilities, and amenities were able to take care of you and your family.
We look forward to your next stay with us!!!

Regards,
Art Aquino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife was attending a workshop in Huntington beach and as Elite Members, we had 3 Marriott certificates to burn so our stay was free, not even taxes were charged. Location is good for access to long beach and Huntington beach if you have a car, parking is free. Good places to eat and beaches within a few miles. Public parking at the beaches in town was $1.50/hour further out was free.
Our studio Room was very spacious and clean, had a full kitchen, desk for working, large comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. Nothing fancy, but would be good for work or a budget friendly place to stay and do Disney, Newport beach, long beach and the Queen Mary and just hanging out at Huntington beach which is a really cool area (beach and downtown). Free breakfast was good and filling, again not gourmet but something for everyone Would be nice if room had a small balcony. There were grills at the pool and a basketball court. Also for a fee onsite self serve laundry. They have some evening events with free food and snacks but not on the nights we were there. It is next to the highway but the noise was not noticeable at all.

Room Tip: For quiet, ask to be in one of the buildings further back and on the second floor, not sure if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear KmartRaleigh_NC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate the favorable review and allowing other visitors to read about what they can experience at the Residence Inn by Marriott.

We look forward to being of service to you again on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Art Aquino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Everything we read about this hotel was right on. Though it was our wedding anniversary weekend and we had to bring along the kids at the last minute and the hotel could not accommodate our request to upgrade to two bedroom suite, everything went smooth. Location is convenient to beaches, which we enjoyed, and grounds were clean and not crowded. The only glitch we encountered was at check-in where we were given a room whose door did not lock properly. We soonafter mentioned it to a person at the front desk, who seemed to know which room we were talking about, which made us wonder why the door hadn't been fixed and we were still given a room with an unsafe door. That said, we requested and were politely granted another room by the friendly, albeit young, front desk staff though the new room was located right above the lobby. We checked out a day early. Bottom line: For the price, room size, location, free hot breakfast and accommodations, it's a great place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
408 helpful votes 408 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were forced out of our digs in Huntington Beach by a flood (broken water line) from an adjacent Condo and so stayed here for two weeks while clean was underway. Breakfast foods were basic and adequate but we enjoyed the people watching more than anything. From careful eaters to basic slobs stuffing their faces. Quite interesting and often amusing. Made me glad that my Mom taught me basic etiquette! TV had basic channels and we could watch KCAL-TV which has been blocked by TimeWarner Cable for the past month due to issues with programming fees. Bed quality was average, A/C kept us cool and kitchen was useful. Maid service was excellent. We didn't try dinner as we ate our dinner meals at nearby restaurants. Parking was plentiful and we could usually find a spot directly in front of the office. Our room was above the office area and usually all was quiet. Front desk staff were very polite, conversant and VERY HELPFUL!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have stayed at several Residence Inns. This was the smallest room size I've seen in a suite hotel. The sofa bed had nothing supporting the mattress when the bed was opened. The mattress itself was stained and filthy. The room had no bedding for the sofa bed. Two calls to the desk, late at night, finally resulted in bedding but no pillow. A third call for a pillow was answered but no pillow was ever delivered.

The bathroom had bugs. The room had inadequate storage--no place to put suitcases etc.

One night was enough for us and we checked out in the morning. The hotel is very near a major freeway, has minimal parking and is not that close to Huntington Beach. This is a place where I won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear desertdad67,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel, I'm sorry that you found our hotel location and guest room sofa bed condition disappointing.

We value your feedback and will use it to better our services and product. Every year, we invest lots of money to improve our hotel, and it is comments like yours that help us to identify where we need to spend.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent one night at this Residence Inn, traveling with two toddlers. The staff was wonderful; friendly and prompt. We stayed in a one bedroom unit, which has a sleeper sofa in the living room. This was perfect for us. Everything was great except for one thing.......the beds, both the king size and the sofa sleeper, are in need of replacement. We found the mattresses to be uncomfortable and the pillows small and flat. If new bedding finds its way to this hotel, we will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side of the hotel, right at the 405 freeway. The room must be insulated ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear restls,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We appreciate your comments and we will certainly use them to improve as our goal is to provide an extraordinary stay for our guests. We hope to see you again!


Regards,

Art Aquino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley

Address: 9930 Slater Avenue, Fountain Valley, CA 92708
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Fountain Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fountain Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley Hotel Fountain Valley
Residence Inn Fountain Valley
Fountain Valley Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.