We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let its location next to the freeway scare you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9930 Slater Avenue, Fountain Valley, CA 92708   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Fountain Valley
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't let its location next to the freeway scare you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Rooms are large and insulated against all noise - and the two-bedroom suites are beautiful. My extended family stayed here for summer vacation, and we could not stop raving about the place. If you are traveling with family or are staying for a while, this is a perfect location. The hotel offers free breakfast and an evening happy hour. There are also numerous restaurants and grocery stores close by to stock the fridge. Parking is free and very close to your room.
The pool is small, but with the beach close by, there is no lack of water. One of the largest parks in Orange County is also only a couple of blocks away. This is no place for a romantic getaway, but if you are staying for longer periods of have kids and need a kitchen, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    41
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
57
13
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was a very quiet hotel, I didn't even notice there were high school sports teams staying here until our last night. We stayed 7 nights total, and enjoyed the delicious breakfast every morning. The pool was clean and my kids loved it, especially the lights that changed color. It was easy to find, and close to the airport, beach, freeway, Anaheim and lots of restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My older daughter and I recently stayed here to attend a conference in Huntington Beach. We were here for 7 nights. We extended one additional night here instead of getting a room closer to the Orange County airport. It turns out it's only 7 miles from the airport anyway. I am one of those people who agonize about hotel rooms and locations and particularly cleanliness and safety. This place was just fine and I would stay there again. The room was clean and the kitchenette was an added bonus for those days when we didn't want to eat out. The breakfast was a good start to the day. There was always yogurt, fruit, bagels, waffles if you cared to make them, cereal, hot scrambled eggs and sausage and potatoes. I used the exercise room and my daughter used the pool; both were fine. The staff was always very friendly. There was a manager's reception Mon through Wed with some kind of substantial snack like nachos or turkey sandwiches or burgers. There were several restaurants right around the corner. We walked to the Duo restaurant one night. Parking and wireless Internet connection was free. My daughter was able to attend her graduate classes remotely for two nights, 3 hours each, without the connection dropping out. We would definitely stay there again. Based on our good experience with a Residence Inn, I will be looking for them in other cities when I travel.

Room Tip: Our room apparently wasn't overlooking the highway or the basketball court or pool so I had no i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Well when i first pulled off the Interstate and realized this property was between the 405 and Slater which is a busy street....I thought damn this is going to be a noisy place. On the weekends the place is not packed and I requested a quiet room and got one in the middle of the property between the two thoroughfares. It was relatively quiet and the the 2 bedroom suite I got was nice. Only downsides is they have HiDef TV's with no HiDef signals so the reception is not good which is not the best for football viewing. Breakfast was so-so.

Pro's: Front desk kid was super nice and helped me with the internet as they have a computer that doesn't automatically go to Internet explorer. Rooms are thermostat controlled and fans are pretty quiet.

Con's: You could get a room facing the 405 so if you are a light sleeper could be an issue.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the property are shielded from traffic noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My parents, daughter and I stayed in a two room suite in building 9. Couldn't hear the freeway from the room. Room was clean. My daughter was sick and visited the front desk in the middle of the night for some soda and the front desk clerk was friendly and super helpful. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Property does not have elevators, so be sure to request a ground floor room for those unable to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Musky smell the second I pushed open the door to the dark room. Stayed in building #9 facing the #405, but didn't hear the freeway. Had to unplug the loud refrigerator, and the shower streamed water all night. Housekeeping could be improved, found traces of other visitors in the bathroom and living area. I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at this Residence Inn recently for 3 nights. It is a very comfortable and spacious facility for the price. The staff was great. Upon our arrival we had been flying all day. My wife wasn't feeling well and we were tired. We were assigned a room on the 2 nd floor ( no elevators) and had several bags to haul. The general manage had changed to casual clothes and was headed home for the day. He saw my wife's expression and immediately dropped his stuff to carry our bags up. Everyone we had contact with was extremely helpful and friendly. The complimentary hot breakfast was very good. Housekeeping did an excellently job. Our room was in good condition and parking was available and convenient tithe entrance. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevator so ask for 1st floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley

Address: 9930 Slater Avenue, Fountain Valley, CA 92708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Fountain Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Fountain Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley Hotel Fountain Valley
Residence Inn Fountain Valley
Fountain Valley Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.