We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like every other Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9950 Slater Road, Fountain Valley, CA 92708   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fountain Valley
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just like every other Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

It's just like every other Marriott (ya been in one, ya been in 'em all). However, the standout to this hotel was the wonderful lobby. Very hip and cool, almost wannabe-W Hotel. We liked it very much. The lobby was a nice place to hang out when waiting for our party. They also have computers/printers set up so that you can print your boarding pass and check email.

The breakfast was good and they serve Starbucks in the lobby. Also, if you forgot any toiletries, they sell them in the...you guessed it! The lobby! Yes, the lobby is the place to be at the Courtyard Marriott.

Location - this is just off the 405 freeway and right on the corner of the street so you might blow right by it. It's next to the Residence Inn.

Ample and free parking (awesome). I'm not sure if they had free WiFi or not as we didn't use.

I only stayed here one night and it was good. There were some serious parties going on but we didn't mind at all. Rooms are a bit on the tiny side (compared to most Marriott rooms), as is the bathroom, but it was okay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
26
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

The rooms were ok, but when you book through Marriot's website and you open all the pop-up windows and read all the details about this and that, hidden in the last paragraph of the last pop-up is the $100 pet fee. They never tell you this. You'll find it on you credit card bill 2 days later. $100 for a 7 pound Chihuahua to spend the night. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fountain Valley hotels

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This was the worst Marriott I have ever stayed at. We could hear the ice machine banging out cubes while we were trying to sleep. People were yelling in the hallway at 5:30 in the morning. Our room, # 130, was too warm. When we turned on the air it sounded like we were operating heavy machinery-in our room- and though everyone else seemed to be okay with making a lot of noise in the middle of the night, we could not in good conscience run the air while it made such a racket. Finally, you do not serve breakfast which we understood, but you did boast that you have internet in the rooms. Not so, we could not get a connection to save our lives. All in all I'd give this stay a D. There were several hotels around Morton's where we went for our company dinner, and I so wished I had booked one of them! By the way, one of the rooms on the second floor that overlooks the pool has a screen falling out of the window.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, and trust me there are so many other places to choose, besides this one... Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My family and I chose this location as it was the property of choice for a local chocolate festival we were attending. We were fortunate to get rooms that did not face the freeway so our room noise was minimal. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. We really like the decor of this property - so NOT the usual Courtyard. This place is hip, trendy, and offers perks that business and pleasure travelers alike find convenient, like ample room to work, good wi-fi, ability to print boarding passes, great lighting - the usual stuff. The only "weird" thing was that in the room, the armoire blocked the A/C vents. Odd, but somehow the room was cool enough to sleep. The room was typical Courtyard - small, but in this property, the decor had been updated. Bed was comfy. Bed linens were nice and clean. Towels were aging - time for new ones. Bathroom very clean but extremely limited counter space around the sink. My pet peeve in hotels is dirty carpet and this property was no exception. Halls were quite dirty, room moderately so, but that's just me - I always notice the carpets. All in all, we found this to be a great value, close to everything, and we'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the 405 freeway side of the building for a more quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

It was a business trip. The room was very clean and close to freeway access. Very basic and worth the money. Plenty of free parkings.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We arrived at the Courtyard in Fountain Valley and easily found parking in their huge parking lot. We were pleasantly surprised as we walked in to find a super modern, clean lobby. They had snacks for sale right next to the front desk and even a small cafe. Check in was easy, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We got our keys and headed to our room. The room was clean, cute, and modern, just like the lobby. The layout of the room made it feel plenty spacious which is always really important to me. The bed was comfortable, there is free wi-fi and a nice flat screen tv. The hotel is only a 10-15 minute drive from Downtown Huntington which was exactly what we needed and the price was half that of anything actually in Huntington. Overall we were extremely pleased and will certainly be back if we take another trip down to Huntington!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights. Room was nice, bed comfortable. Everything was clean overall. I did not eat at the bar, but it looked like good food.

Walls were too thin, could hear everything in the next room. Also I ended up right accross from the elevator, so I could hear people stomping around and talking throughout the night.

Located right off of freeway, which was convenient. About 15 minutes from the water.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from elevator, stairs, or entry door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley

Address: 9950 Slater Road, Fountain Valley, CA 92708
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Fountain Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fountain Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley Hotel Fountain Valley
Courtyard Fountain Valley
Fountain Valley Marriott
Fountain Valley Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.