We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet and comfortable, good service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley to your Saves list
Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17550 Brookhurst St, Fountain Valley, CA 92708   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Nights - 20% Off!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fountain Valley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oceanside, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very quiet and comfortable, good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I felt very secure and cozy in my room. The room was extraordinarily quiet, which I appreciated because a wedding was going on. The bedding was nice, and the area where coffee, fridge, and microwave were was handy. I will definitely come back. Only one annoyance: they charge for local calls (same area code) if not in Fountain Valley. I called my son, less then 2 miles away, and they charged $7 for 10 minutes..

Room Tip: All the rooms would be nice. Lower numbers are closer to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear shammyd,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. It is extremely satisfying to hear that you felt secure and comfortable at our hotel and we truly appreciate your kind compliments in regards to our in room amenities . Please accept our most sincere apologies for any miscommunication you experienced in regards to the phone calls you made. We thank you again for your review and hope that we're able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

John Mathews
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
13
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed in a king bedded room for five nights from 6/25 thru 6/30. The bathroom had a large shower area but no tub. I believe some of the rooms also include a bathtub but I would check before booking. Since the hotel opened in Decenber 2013 it still had that new smell and is very clean. There seems to be plenty of onsite free parking and has easy access to the San Diego Freeway (I-405). We asked for a quiet room so we would not hear any of the freeway traffic noise from our room. Our room (426) was very quiet during our entire stay. As an added bonus the hotel is directly next to the Fountain Valley Police Station.

There is a breakfast room which serves the standard fare that most hotels serve when the breakfast is included in the room price. In the evening, the location of the breakfast room becomes a separately owned restaurant (Fusion Bites) that is open most evenings. One evening I looked for a menu or some information for Fusion Bites and couldn't find anything in the room, so I called the front desk to find out what type of food was served at the restaurant in the hotel. The clerk at the front desk didn't know anything about the restaurant and said it was not owned or part of the hotel. I thought that was very strange since the restaurant is located next to the lobby and not in another building. We decided to go down and check out the restaurant even though it was not owned by Ayres and their employees didn't know anything about it. We thought the food was very good and actually went there one other evening. Actually, on Saturday, 6/28, Mr. & Mrs Ayres along with their dog were sitting out on the patio of the restaurant/hotel enjoying the wonderful weather. So, I assume they must know about "Fusion Bites" and maybe the hotel employees should promote the restaurant so the guests of the hotel will have another choice in where they want to enjoy their dinner.

If you plan on an extended stay and want to use the onsite laundry facilities be warned there is only one washer & dryer for the entire hotel and it's on the 3rd. floor. We had a great stay at this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone. My recommendations really didn't detract from my overall stay at the hotel. I just think it could use some fine tuning for a 4 star hotel and would get many more excellent ratings.

Room Tip: Room 426 which was on the top floor, was very quiet but only had a shower and no bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great hotel, free breakfast was very good. Big clean rooms, perfect size pool area, and great patio area at the restaurant. Will definitely recommend this to any teams traveling to that area. Close to all fields in the HB and surrounding areas. Great 405 fwy access, plenty of places to eat, and there's a police station next to it so you don't have to worry about any problems with your car being parked there all night or any riff raft around.

Room Tip: Very spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Bluedawg42,

Thank you so much for your generous review about our hotel. We appreciate your kind remarks about our rooms and our services and look forward to welcoming you back for your next soccer tournament. Thank you again for your generous recommendation!

Sincerely,

John Mathews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed here for two nights on business and had no complaints. Positives: Beautiful rooms, clean, big bathtub, HBO available, wireless worked well. Coffee maker in the room was broken but it didn't matter because they offer coffee and a wonderful free breakfast downstairs. The fitness room was great, as was the pool and jacuzzi. The restaurant in the hotel was good, a little pricey..but it is Orange County. It was also clear that they cared about the environment. Would DEFINITELY stay again.

Green Features: This was the first time I recognized a hotel's green practices besides just a card telling me to use a towel more than once. Kudos. It's clear they care.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have traveled often and have stayed at many different locations, and this property is a class A experience. From a value perspective, our stay at this property was the very best to date. The furnishing are rich and the atmosphere was calm and relaxing. We met the entire staff, from the General Manager to our room attendant, and every employee we interacted with made us feel like we were an important guest. The property was clean, the tubs and showers were spacious, and the pool area included an outdoor sitting area that was comfortable. The property offers a restaurant facility operated independently and offers a unique menu with unusual but very tasty treats. For the little one the chef, yes there is actually a chef on scene, created a grilled cheese sandwich that made the adults envious. To sum it up, I offer a "Well Done" to the corporate office.

Room Tip: The elevators are synchronized and offer a quick response when called, compared to other properties...
See more room tips
Green Features: Great use of placards reminding guests that there are many opportunities to conserve.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Daniel S.,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share about your recent experience at our hotel. There are not enough words to express how grateful we are about your generous compliments about our elegant furnishings, friendly staff, and your overall enjoyment of our hotel. We pride ourselves in delivering only the best service to our hotel guests and I am delighted to hear that our service exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for your kind words and we would love to invite you to stay with us again!

Sincerely,

John Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a great time! The staff was terrific! We came for a visit from Northern California and was given the name of the hotel by family who lived 5 min away! We went to a college graduation, and the beach! Freeway is close by and easy to access. The pool area was perfect for the kids! The rooms are modern and the king with a pull out sofa bed was a perfect combination for us. My sisters family joined us for the weekend and we all had a great experience. Thanks to the spring special we saved money on the room too! My grandson and I used the workout room.The breakfast was very good! With the late check-out we were able to enjoy the beach for a couple of hours before traveled on! Thanks again!!

Green Features: I love to have an option to re-use towels and save water! The rooms were made up beautifully by the time we got back from the pool.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is really nice... Clean, comfortable and quiet ..
The restaurant is more bar foods . We had small children so it was hard..
There are lot's of restaurants close...
The service was great and everyone is so friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Tinycharly,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experience at our hotel. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind compliments about our clean and comfortable rooms as well as the friendly service from our staff. We thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,

John Mathews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley

Address: 17550 Brookhurst St, Fountain Valley, CA 92708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Fountain Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fountain Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.