We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Whirl, No Bull” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Istanbul Grill

Istanbul Grill
18010 Newhope St, Ste D, Fountain Valley, CA 92708
714-430-1434
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
orange county, california
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth a Whirl, No Bull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Tasty chow at reasonable prices, friendly & attentive service, and clean, comfortable digs make this Turkish a good choice for casual dining. Three course lunch specials for $8. Kebabs, stews & salads, along with appetizers such as hummus and babaganoush tantalize the taste buds. Simple, pleasant, well prepared and mildly spiced, with similarities to Arabic & Greek chow.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Service, delicious food and reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have eaten lunch here and it was good. We stopped by for dinner and the service and food were excellent. The chicken and rice were delicious as well as the pita bread and dip. We will be back

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious, amazingly inexpensive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I agree with the positive comments below. Service today was very good. Immaculate cleanliness in restaurant and patio areas. I will be back for lunch en route to and from Los Angeles!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Three for three”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I have been here three times (twice for lunch, once for dinner) and these guys have been great every time. The staff is very courtious, the food great, prices resonable atmosphere pretty good too. To give an example of what I mean, we were there yesterday, had lunch then a Turkish coffee with almond pudding and Baklava (which were from heaven). The waiter (Orhan) very carefully wiped our table down between courses, then not only brought the coffee but arranged the cups just so, ensuring the presentation was perfect. Three different waiters brought our food, re-filled our water glasses and checked on our every need. This place is for real!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“excellent dining experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I visited here with my family. I am Muslim so I prefer halal food restaurants which this is. This place had a great setting and very good food. it is run by 3 brothers who know what they are doing. Very cordial, very respectful and very family friendly. If you want Turkish barbeque and Kababs at their best, with big entree's totally go there. Great value and impeccably clean. I was so happy after I choose this place. I travel as a consultant and I have tried my share of Mediterranean restaurant east to west coast. this is certainly one of the top contenders. Towards the end of the meal I wanted to take some food back for my parents. they went "off" the menu and specially tailored what ever I wanted. So that was a really nice touch. Don't forget to drink their turkish tea.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Grill also viewed

Fountain Valley, Orange County
Fountain Valley, Orange County
 
Fountain Valley, Orange County
Fountain Valley, Orange County
 

Been to Istanbul Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istanbul Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.